91. Alaska Earthquake Tsunami (1964)

Alaska Earthquake Tsunami

On March 28, 1964, a magnitude 9.2 earthquake in Alaska unleashed a destructive tsunami across the Pacific Ocean, and it caused damage along Vancouver Island’s west coast. In Port Alberni, 58 properties, including homes and businesses, were completely destroyed, with an additional 320 dwellings suffering minor to severe damage. Fortunately, no deaths occurred in Canada.

Canada had been participating in the US Seismic Sea Wave Warning System since 1961 by providing, on request, seismic readings to help locate and assess tsunami-causing earthquakes, as well as tide-gauge readings of tsunami heights. In 1965, Canada was a founding member of the UNESCO Intergovernmental Coordination Group for Tsunami Warning in the Pacific. This built upon the US warning system, and marked a new international recognition of tsunami hazard in the Pacific Ocean.

The Geological Survey of Canada continues to contribute seismic data to the tsunami warning centres. Today, real-time seismic data are streamed over the Internet making tsunami warnings faster and more accurate. The Survey also continues to conduct research into tsunamis. It published Canada’s first national-scale tsunami hazard maps in 2013.

Category: Government

Decade: 1960s

References

Kong, L.S.L., Dunbar, P.K., and Arcos, N. (ed.), 2015. Pacific Tsunami Warning System: A Half century of protecting the Pacific, 1965-2015; International Tsunami Information Center, Honolulu.

Leonard, L.J., Rogers, G.C., and Mazzotti, S., 2014. Tsunami hazard assessment of Canada; Natural Hazards, v. 70, p. 237–274. doi:10.1007/s11069-013-0809-5

White, W.H.R., 1966. The Alaska earthquake – its effect in Canada, Canadian; The Geographical Journal, v. 72, p. 210–219.

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

91. Séisme de l’Alaska et tsunami subséquent (1964)

Séisme de l’Alaska et tsunami subséquent

Le 28 mars 1964, un séisme de magnitude 9,2 en Alaska a déclenché un tsunami destructeur à travers l’océan Pacifique, qui a causé des dommages sur la côte ouest de l’île de Vancouver. À Port Alberni, 58 propriétés, dont des maisons et des entreprises, ont été entièrement détruites, et 320 autres habitations ont subi des dommages mineurs ou graves. Par bonheur aucune perte de vie n’a eu lieu au Canada.

Le Canada participait, depuis 1961, au US Seismic Sea Wave Warning System en fournissant, sur demande, des lectures sismiques pour aider à la localisation et à l’évaluation des séismes qui causent des tsunamis, ainsi que des lectures de marégraphes pour la hauteur des tsunamis. En 1965, le Canada a été un membre fondateur du Groupe intergouvernemental de coordination du Système d’alerte aux tsunamis dans le Pacifique, de l’UNESCO. Cette initiative reposait sur le système d’alerte des États-Unis et marquait une nouvelle reconnaissance internationale du risque de tsunamis dans l’océan Pacifique.

La Commission géologique du Canada continue de fournir des données sismiques aux centres d’alerte aux tsunamis. Aujourd’hui, les données sismiques en temps réel sont diffusées en continu sur Internet, ce qui rend les alertes aux tsunamis plus rapides et plus précises. La Commission continue aussi de mener des recherches sur les tsunamis. Elle a publié en 2013 les premières cartes nationales des risques de tsunami du Canada.

Categorie : Gouvernement

Décennie : Années 1960

Références

Kong, L.S.L., Dunbar, P.K., et Arcos, N. (ed.), 2015. Pacific Tsunami Warning System: A Half century of protecting the Pacific, 1965-2015; International Tsunami Information Center, Honolulu.

Leonard, L.J., Rogers, G.C., et Mazzotti, S., 2014. Tsunami hazard assessment of Canada; Natural Hazards, v. 70, p. 237–274. doi:10.1007/s11069-013-0809-5

White, W.H.R., 1966. The Alaska earthquake – its effect in Canada, Canadian; The Geographical Journal, v. 72, p. 210–219.

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :