95. Weloganite (1966)

Weloganite

It is surprising to think that beneath the city of Montreal, where the Geological Survey of Canada was first established in 1842 and headquartered until 1881, there would be any mineralogical treasures not yet known. But there were. In 1966, at the Francon limestone quarry, about 8 kilometres from Mount Royal, a rare unknown mineral was unearthed inside cavities found in the 2 m thick St-Michel sill that intrudes the limestone.

Survey mineralogist Ann Sabina discovered the new mineral during her very first visit to the quarry – and it proved to be the first known strontium zirconium carbonate. Sabina named it weloganite in honour of Sir William Edmond Logan, the Survey’s founder. It has distinctive large crystals ranging from pale white to lemon yellow in colour.

The new mineral also turned out to be abundant. Weloganite has been found at the Lafarge quarry in eastern Montreal and at the Poudrette quarry in Mont St-Hilaire. Interestingly, the Francon quarry is the type locality for ten new mineral specimens, making it the second most prolific type locality in Canada. Weloganite is featured in major museums and private collections worldwide.

Category: Rocks, Fossils, Minerals and Meteorites

Decade: 1960s

References

Sabina, A.P., Jambor, J.L., and Plant, A.G., 1968. Weloganite, a new strontium zirconium carbonate from Montreal Island, Canada; Canadian Mineralogist, v. 9, no. 4, p. 468–477.

Tarassoff, P., Horváth, L., and Pfenninger-Horváth, E., 2006. The Francon Quarry, Montréal, Québec; The Mineralogical Record, v. 37, p. 5–60.

Most prolific type localities, Mindat.org. http://www.mindat.org/toptypelocs.php

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

95. Wéloganite (1966)

Wéloganite

Il est difficile d’imaginer que des trésors minéralogiques encore inconnus puissent se trouver sous la ville de Montréal, où la Commission géologique du Canada s’est d’abord établie en 1842 et y a eu son siège social jusqu’en 1881. C’était pourtant le cas. En 1966, à la carrière de calcaire Francon, à environ 8 km du mont Royal, un minéral rare inconnu a été déterré à l’intérieur de cavités se trouvant dans le filon-couche de St-Michel, d’une épaisseur de 2 m, qui recoupait le calcaire.

La minéralogiste Ann Sabina, de la Commission, a découvert le nouveau minéral durant sa première visite à la carrière – il s’agissait du premier carbonate à strontium et zirconium jamais recensé. Sabina l’a nommé wéloganite en l’honneur de Sir William Edmond Logan, le fondateur de la Commission. La wéloganite est caractérisée par de larges cristaux dont la couleur va de blanc pâle à jaune citron.

Le nouveau minéral s’est aussi avéré abondant. On l’a trouvé à la carrière Lafarge, dans l’est de Montréal, ainsi qu’à la carrière Poudrette, au mont St-Hilaire. Fait intéressant, la carrière Francon est la localité type pour dix nouveaux minéraux, ce qui en fait la deuxième localité type la plus prolifique au Canada. La wéloganite figure dans des musées et des collections privées d’envergure de partout dans le monde.

Categorie : Roches, fossiles, minéraux et météorites

Décennie : Années 1960

Références

Sabina, A.P., Jambor, J.L., et Plant, A.G., 1968. Weloganite, a new strontium zirconium carbonate from Montreal Island, Canada; Canadian Mineralogist, v. 9, no. 4, p. 468–477.

Tarassoff, P., Horváth, L., et Pfenninger-Horváth, E., 2006. The Francon Quarry, Montréal, Québec; The Mineralogical Record, v. 37, p. 5–60.

Most prolific type localities, Mindat.org. http://www.mindat.org/toptypelocs.php

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :