96. Wall Art (1967)

Wall Art

The Geological Survey of Canada’s Calgary office traces its origins back to the 1920s. In the 1950s, it grew in step with the expansion of the petroleum industry. By 1967, the then-called Institute of Sedimentary and Petroleum Geology moved into its specially built headquarters adjoining the University of Calgary campus.

The building’s design focused on the use of local materials. For example, the exterior concrete panels have exposed local cobble-sized glacial aggregate, the lobby flagstone floors are Triassic-age limestone known as Rundle Stone from west of Calgary, and the white dolostone in the lobby balustrade is from near Creston, British Columbia.

The massive wall sculpture, CANADA 1967, is a cast concrete interpretation of the geology of Canada. It was created by local sculptor Katie Ohe, who is recognized for her pioneering influence on art in Alberta, and who with her artist husband Harry Kiyooka, founded the Kiyooka Ohe Arts Centre in Springbank, just outside of Calgary

The 69 square metre sculpture is a symbolic representation of the geological map of Canada. Ribbon-like elements evoke the main structural components of Canada’s geology. Circular elements, which represent drill cores, bear the imprint of fossils from these areas.

Category: Buildings and Places

Decade: 1960s

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

96. Sculpture murale (1967)

Sculpture murale

Les origines du bureau de Calgary de la Commission géologique du Canada remontent aux années 1920. Dans les années 1950, il s’est agrandi avec le développement de l’industrie pétrolière. En 1967, l’Institut de géologie sédimentaire et pétrolière, comme on l’appelait autrefois, a déménagé dans son siège social spécialement construit à proximité du campus de l’Université de Calgary.

La conception du bâtiment était axée sur l’utilisation de matériaux locaux. Par exemple, les panneaux de béton extérieurs contiennent des agrégats glaciaires locaux qui ont la taille de galets, les planchers du hall d’entrée sont faits de calcaire du Trias, un matériau appelé « pierre de Rundle » provenant de l’ouest de Calgary, et la dolomie blanche dans la balustrade du hall d’entrée provient des alentours de Creston, en Colombie-Britannique.

L’immense sculpture murale, CANADA 1967, est une interprétation en béton coulé de la géologie du Canada. Elle a été créée par la sculptrice locale Katie Ohe, qui est reconnue pour son influence novatrice sur les arts en Alberta et qui a fondé, avec son mari artiste Harry Kiyooka, le Kiyooka Ohe Arts Centre à Springbank, tout près de Calgary.

La sculpture murale de 69 mètres carrés est une représentation symbolique de la carte géologique du Canada. Des éléments rubanés évoquent les principales composantes structurales de la géologie du Canada. Des éléments circulaires, qui représentent des carottes de forage, portent l’empreinte de fossiles provenant de ces régions.

Categorie : Immeubles et endroits

Décennie : Années 1960

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :