98. Core and Cuttings Repository (1967)

Core and Cuttings Repository

Drilling, coring, and sampling of boreholes are all essential to petroleum exploration. As these core and cuttings samples never lose their value as exploration and research references, it is essential that they be acquired and stored.

In 1908, the Geological Survey of Canada established a Borings Division in Ottawa to store well cuttings and core samples from oil exploration wells drilled in Canada. In 1938, Alberta established a regulatory board with just one responsibility – to acquire and store well cuttings and cores.

In the 1950s, the Survey established a permanent presence in Calgary following the expanded interest in petroleum resources triggered by the 1947 discovery of oil at Leduc, Alberta. A major expansion of the Survey’s western and northern Canada activities led to the 1967 opening of the Institute of Sedimentary and Petroleum Geology (now GSC-Calgary) adjacent to the University of Calgary campus site.

The Survey’s core and cuttings repository in Calgary is a rock “library” patterned on the successful Alberta facility, and attracts many users. An estimated 48,000 core boxes and 23 million vials of cuttings are available for study from the four western provinces, Yukon, Northwest Territories, and the East Coast offshore.

Category: Rocks, Fossils, Minerals and Meteorites

Decade: 1960s

References

Fossil Energy Study Guide – Looking Down an Oil Well. https://energy.gov/sites/prod/files/2013/04/f0/MS_Oil_Studyguide_draft1.pdf

Studying and Sampling Well Materials from Frontier Wells – National Energy Board. https://www.neb-one.gc.ca/bts/ctrg/gnthr/cndlgsprtnct/frntrwllsmplng-eng.html

Yukon Geological Survey – Well Sample Permitting. http://www.geology.gov.yk.ca/well_sample_permitting.html

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

98. Entrepôt de carottes et de déblais de forage (1967)

Entrepôt de carottes et de déblais de forage

Le forage, le carottage et l’échantillonnage des trous de forage sont toutes des activités essentielles à l’exploration pétrolière. Comme ces carottes et ces déblais de forage ne perdent jamais leur valeur en tant que références pour l’exploration et la recherche, il est essentiel de les acquérir et de les stocker.

En 1908, la Commission géologique du Canada a établi une Division des forages à Ottawa afin de stocker les déblais et les carottes provenant des puits d’exploration de pétrole forés au Canada. En 1938, l’Alberta a mis sur pied un organisme de réglementation qui n’avait qu’une seule responsabilité – acquérir et stocker les carottes et les déblais de forage des puits.

Dans les années 1950, la Commission a établi une présence permanente à Calgary en raison de l’intérêt accru envers les ressources pétrolières suscité par la découverte de pétrole en 1947 à Leduc, en Alberta. Une expansion majeure des activités de la Commission dans l’ouest et le nord du Canada a entraîné en 1967 l’ouverture de l’Institut de géologie sédimentaire et pétrolière (maintenant la CGC-Calgary) à côté du campus de l’Université de Calgary.

L’entrepôt de carottes et de déblais de forage de la Commission à Calgary est une « bibliothèque » de roches (carothèque) calquée sur les installations réussies de l’Alberta, et il attire un grand nombre d’utilisateurs. Environ 48 000 boîtes à carottes et 23 millions de flacons de déblais de forage provenant des quatre provinces de l’ouest, du Yukon, des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et du large de la côte est peuvent être étudiés.

Categorie : Roches, fossiles, minéraux et météorites

Décennie : Années 1960

Références

Fossil Energy Study Guide – Looking Down an Oil Well. https://energy.gov/sites/prod/files/2013/04/f0/MS_Oil_Studyguide_draft1.pdf

Studying and Sampling Well Materials from Frontier Wells – National Energy Board. https://www.neb-one.gc.ca/bts/ctrg/gnthr/cndlgsprtnct/frntrwllsmplng-eng.html

Yukon Geological Survey – Well Sample Permitting. http://www.geology.gov.yk.ca/well_sample_permitting.html

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :