99. Groundwater Publications (1967)

Groundwater Publications 1
Groundwater Publications 2

During the 20th century, Canadian scientists made fundamental contributions to the development of groundwater sciences by documenting and assessing our groundwater resources.

In 1967, the Geological Survey of Canada published a milestone report that provided a synthesis of available scientific knowledge of Canada’s groundwater resources. Twenty years later, in view of economic development issues and increasing demands from water users, the scientific community identified major knowledge gaps in our understanding of groundwater that needed to be addressed.

The Survey focussed its research priorities on basic questions such as how much groundwater we have, how and where it is stored, and how it moves through the ground. It initiated the assessment of 30 key Canadian aquifers and produced hydrogeological atlases that allowed a better understanding of groundwater by answering these questions. 

In 2014, the Survey published another milestone report on Canada’s groundwater resources. Titled Canada’s Groundwater Resources, this book provides a global picture about this important natural resource that is needed for our environmental, social, and economic survival.

Category: Publications

Decade: 1960s

References

Brown, I.C. (ed.), 1967. Groundwater in Canada. Geological Survey of Canada, Economic Geology Report 24, 128 p., 13 sheets. doi:10.4095/102458

Rivera, A. (ed.), 2014. Canada’s Groundwater Resources; Fitzhenry & Whiteside Limited, Markham, Ontario, 804 p.

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

99. Publications sur les eaux souterraines (1967)

Publications sur les eaux souterraines 1
Publications sur les eaux souterraines 2

Durant le 20e siècle, les chercheurs canadiens ont fait une contribution fondamentale au développement des sciences liées aux eaux souterraines en documentant et en évaluant nos ressources en eau souterraine.

En 1967, la Commission géologique du Canada a publié un rapport marquant qui présentait une synthèse des connaissances scientifiques disponibles sur les ressources en eau souterraine du Canada. Vingt ans plus tard, compte tenu des enjeux liés au développement économique et de la demande croissante des utilisateurs d’eau, la communauté scientifique a identifié des lacunes importantes dans notre compréhension de l’eau souterraine qui se devaient d’être abordées.

La Commission a concentré ses priorités de recherche sur des questions fondamentales telles que la quantité d’eau souterraine dont nous disposons, où et comment elle est stockée, et la façon dont elle circule dans le sol. Elle a amorcé l’évaluation de 30 importants aquifères canadiens et a produit des atlas hydrogéologiques qui ont permis, en répondant à ces questions, de mieux comprendre les eaux souterraines.

En 2014, la Commission a publié un autre rapport marquant sur les ressources en eau souterraine du Canada. Intitulé Canada’s Groundwater Resources, cet ouvrage offre une vue globale sur cette importante ressource naturelle qui est nécessaire à notre survie environnementale, sociale et économique.

Categorie : Publications

Décennie : Années 1960

Références

Brown, I.C. (ed.), 1967. Groundwater in Canada. Geological Survey of Canada, Economic Geology Report 24, 128 p., 13 sheets. doi:10.4095/102458

Rivera, A. (ed.), 2014. Canada’s Groundwater Resources; Fitzhenry & Whiteside Limited, Markham, Ontario, 804 p.

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :