104. Terrascope (1968)

Terrascope

In the late 1960s and early 1970s, the existence of seafloor spreading, Earth's magnetic field reversals, and continental drift became widely recognized. This quickly led to the scientific acceptance of the theory of plate tectonics.

Encouraged by scientist Ted Irving, Earth Physics Branch artist and draughtsman Juan Geuer invented the Terrascope to provide a hands-on method of reconstructing plate movements on a spherical earth. This ingenious device was a large globe rotating on a bed of Ping-Pong balls. A series of plexiglass shells slid over it and could be marked with key information such as coastlines, geological units, and past magnetic pole positions. A carefully positioned camera recorded each assemblage.

Using the Terrascope, Irving published a seminal paper in 1977 that reconstructed the history of the continents over the last 500 million years. In subsequent years, the rapid expansion of computer power has meant that such reconstructions can now be easily made on a desktop computer.

Category: Science Advances

Decade: 1960s

References

Geuer, J.W., 1973. The Terrascope; Canadian Journal of Earth Sciences, v. 10, p. 1164–1169. doi:10.1139/e73-100

Irving, E., 1977. Drift of the Major Continental Blocks Since the Devonian; Nature, v. 270, p. 304–309. doi:10.1038/270304a0

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

104. Terrascope (1968)

Terrascope

À la fin des années 1960 et au début des années 1970, l’expansion des fonds océaniques, les inversions du champ magnétique terrestre et la dérive des continents sont devenues largement reconnues, ce qui a rapidement amené à l’acceptation scientifique de la théorie de la tectonique des plaques.

Encouragé par le chercheur Ted Irving, l’artiste et dessinateur Juan Geuer, de la Direction de la physique du globe, a inventé le Terrascope, qui se voulait une méthode pratique de reconstitution des mouvements des plaques tectoniques sur une terre sphérique. Ce dispositif ingénieux était un grand globe en rotation sur un lit de balles de ping-pong sur lequel glissait un ensemble de coques en plexiglas. Sur ces dernières on pouvait inscrire des informations clés comme les littoraux, les unités géologiques et les positions antérieures des pôles magnétiques. Une caméra soigneusement positionnée enregistrait chaque assemblage.

À l’aide du Terrascope, Irving a publié en 1977 un ouvrage précurseur qui reconstituait l’histoire des continents au cours des 500 derniers millions d’années. Au cours des années suivantes, grâce à la croissance rapide de la puissance des ordinateurs, il est devenu possible d’effectuer facilement ces reconstitutions sur un ordinateur de bureau.

Categorie : Progrès scientifiques

Décennie : Années 1960

Références

Geuer, J.W., 1973. The Terrascope; Canadian Journal of Earth Sciences, v. 10, p. 1164–1169. doi:10.1139/e73-100

Irving, E., 1977. Drift of the Major Continental Blocks Since the Devonian; Nature, v. 270, p. 304–309. doi:10.1038/270304a0

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :