106. Glacial Map of Canada (1968)

Glacial Map of Canada

Glaciers covered all of Canada, except for the northwest part of Yukon Territory, during a major glacial episode that reached a climax about 21,000 years ago. At that time, glaciers covered all of the Great Lakes, with the ice’s southern limit reaching into the United States.

These massive moving bodies of ice were incredibly thick, reaching depths of more than two kilometres in places. In 1968, the Geological Survey of Canada published the Glacial Map of Canada, which shows the passage of glaciers and the associated glacial meltwaters. It also shows the major imprint glaciers made on the Canadian landscape.

Aerial photography of the entire country was completed in the mid-1950s, and it provided a valuable new tool to map landforms in remote areas of the country. Indeed, aerial photographs were critical to the production of this map. While it was constructed using existing knowledge of Canada’s glacial deposits and landforms, the Glacial Map of Canada is mainly the result of meticulous interpretation of aerial photographs for regions where little was known about their glacial history. The map remains the benchmark in our understanding of the glacial landscape of the country.

Category: Maps

Decade: 1960s

Reference

Prest, V.K., Grant, D.R., and Rampton, V.N., 1968. Glacial map of Canada; Geological Survey of Canada, Map 1253A. doi:10.4095/108979

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

106. Carte glaciaire du Canada (1968)

Carte glaciaire du Canada

Des glaciers ont recouvert la totalité du Canada, à l’exception de la partie nord-ouest du territoire du Yukon, durant un grand épisode glaciaire qui a atteint son apogée il y a environ 21 000 ans. À l’époque, les glaciers recouvraient l’ensemble des Grands Lacs et la limite méridionale de la glace atteignait les États-Unis.

Ces gigantesques masses de glace en mouvement étaient incroyablement épaisses, faisant par endroits plus de deux kilomètres d’épaisseur. En 1968, la Commission géologique du Canada a publié la Carte glaciaire du Canada, qui montre le passage des glaciers et les eaux de fonte qui s’y rattachent. La carte montre aussi l’énorme empreinte que les glaciers ont laissée sur le paysage canadien.

La photographie aérienne de l’ensemble du pays a été complétée au milieu des années 1950 et a fourni un outil précieux pour cartographier les formes de relief dans les régions éloignées du pays. En effet, les photographies aériennes ont été essentielles à la production de cette carte. Bien qu’elle ait été réalisée en utilisant les connaissances existantes des dépôts glaciaires et des formes de relief du Canada, la Carte glaciaire du Canada est surtout le résultat d’une interprétation méticuleuse des photographies aériennes pour les régions dont l’histoire glaciaire était peu connue. La carte demeure le point de référence de notre compréhension du paysage glaciaire du pays.

Categorie : Cartes

Décennie : Années 1960

Référence

Prest, V.K., Grant, D.R. et Rampton, V.N., 1968. Carte glaciaire du Canada; Commission géologique du Canada, Carte 1253A. doi:10.4095/221127

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :