107. Moon Rocks (1969)

Moon Rocks 1

In 1966, NASA invited scientific groups around the world to submit proposals to study lunar material that was to be collected by the first manned lunar mission. The Geological Survey of Canada submitted several proposals involving mineralogy, magnetic properties, electrical conductivity, geochronology, and chemical composition. Competition was fierce, but all of the Survey’s proposals were accepted.

There was then a long wait. The Apollo 11 mission in July 1969 was a success, but NASA had to complete a preliminary examination of the lunar samples before releasing them. The Survey’s allotment, which included rock fragments, soil, and polished thin sections, arrived in Ottawa on October 7.

The Survey put the “moon rocks” on display the two following weekends, and public interest was such that long line-ups snaked their way into the Survey’s headquarters at 601 Booth Street. Dignitaries, including Prince Philip, were given an advance viewing.

The analytical work then began in earnest. The Survey presented its report at the Apollo 11 Lunar Science Conference in Houston, January 5-8, 1970. It also contributed data to joint papers with other groups that described two new minerals, notably tranquillityite, which was named after the Sea of Tranquillity, Apollo 11’s landing site.

Moon Rocks 2

Category: Rocks, Fossils, Minerals and Meteorites

Decade: 1960s

References

Science, 1970, v. 167, p. 447–784.

Proceedings of the Apollo 11 Lunar Science Conference, 1970; Geochimica et Cosmochimica Acta, v. 34, suppl. 1.

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

107. Roches lunaires (1969)

Roches lunaires 1

En 1966, la NASA a invité des groupes de chercheurs de partout dans le monde à soumettre des propositions pour l’étude du matériel lunaire qui serait recueilli dans le cadre de la première mission lunaire habitée. La Commission géologique du Canada a soumis plusieurs propositions portant sur la minéralogie, les propriétés magnétiques, la conductivité électrique, la géochronologie et la composition chimique. Bien que la compétition fût féroce, toutes les propositions de la Commission ont été acceptées.

Il y eut ensuite une longue attente. La mission Apollo 11 réalisée en juillet 1969 a été un succès, mais la NASA ayant dû procéder à un examen préliminaire des échantillons lunaires avant de les distribuer. Les échantillons attribués à la Commission, qui comprenaient des fragments de roches, des échantillons de sol et des lames minces polies, sont arrivés à Ottawa le 7 octobre.

La Commission a exposé les « roches lunaires » les deux fins de semaine suivantes, et l’intérêt du public a été tel que de longues files d’attente serpentaient dans le siège social de la Commission au 601, rue Booth. Des dignitaires, dont le prince Philip, avaient pu voir au préalable les échantillons.

Les travaux d’analyse ont alors commencé sérieusement. La Commission a présenté son rapport à l’Apollo 11 Lunar Science Conference, qui s’est déroulée à Houston du 5 au 8 janvier 1970. Elle a également fourni des données pour des articles, écrits conjointement avec d’autres groupes, articles qui décrivaient deux nouveaux minéraux, notamment la tranquillityite, qui doit son nom à la mer de la Tranquillité, le site d’alunissage d’Apollo 11.

Roches lunaires 2

Categorie : Roches, fossiles, minéraux et météorites

Décennie : Années 1960

Références

Science, 1970, v. 167, p. 447–784.

Proceedings of the Apollo 11 Lunar Science Conference, 1970; Geochimica et Cosmochimica Acta, v. 34, suppl. 1.

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :