108. Airborne Gamma-ray Spectrometry (1970)

Airborne Gamma-Ray Spectrometry

Starting in the 1930s, Canadian geologists and prospectors used Geiger counters to find deposits of uranium. These were replaced in the mid-1960s when airborne radioactivity surveys became practical following the development of large, sodium iodide scintillation detectors and compact electronic instrumentation. Scientists at the Geological Survey of Canada realized that these detectors and advanced electronic technology could not only detect the radiation emitted by naturally occurring uranium, thorium, and potassium, but could also measure natural gamma-ray spectra in real time.

In the late 1960s, Quentin Bristow developed and tested a gamma-ray spectrometer system. By 1970, the airborne gamma-ray spectrometer was ready for routine surveys. The system, installed in the Survey’s Skyvan aircraft, was used to assist in geological mapping, mineral exploration, and environmental monitoring.

Continuing improvement of sodium iodide detectors and digital electronics led Bristow and his Survey team to design and construct an improved, full spectrum recording airborne gamma-ray spectrometer. It was first used in 1978 to support Operation Morning Light, which searched for debris of a nuclear-powered Soviet satellite in the Northwest Territories. For the following 20 years, it mapped geological distributions of radioactivity, setting world standards for airborne gamma ray spectrometry surveying.

Category: Equipment and Instrumentation

Decade: 1970s

References

http://www.qbristow.ca/Scientific/Gamma_spec_Images/Gamma_Spec_Index.html

Killeen, P.G., Mwenifumbo, C.J., and Ford, K.L., 2015. Tools and Techniques: Radiometric Methods; in Treatise on Geophysics, 2nd Edition, Volume 11, (ed.) G. Schubert; Elsevier, Oxford, p. 447–524. doi:10.1016/B978-0-444-53802-4.00209-8

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

108. Spectrométrie gamma aéroportée (1970)

Spectrométrie gamma aéroportée

À partir des années 1930, les géologues et les prospecteurs canadiens ont commencé à utiliser des compteurs Geiger pour trouver des gîtes d’uranium. Cette méthode a été remplacée au milieu des années 1960, lorsque les levés radiométriques aéroportés sont devenus pratiques à la suite du développement de grands détecteurs de scintillation à l’iodure de sodium et d’instruments électroniques compacts. Les chercheurs de la Commission géologique du Canada ont constaté que ces détecteurs et ces dispositifs électroniques avancés pouvaient non seulement détecter le rayonnement émis par l’uranium, le thorium et le potassium d’origine naturelle, mais pouvaient aussi mesurer en temps réel les spectres de rayonnement gamma naturels.

À la fin des années 1960, Quentin Bristow a développé et mis à l’essai un système de spectrométrie gamma. En 1970, le spectromètre gamma aéroporté était prêt pour des levés de routine. Le système, installé dans l’aéronef Skyvan de la Commission, a été utilisé pour aider à la cartographie géologique, à l’exploration minière et à la surveillance environnementale.

L’amélioration continue des détecteurs à l’iodure de sodium et des appareils électroniques numériques a amené Bristow et son équipe de la Commission à concevoir et à construire un spectromètre gamma aéroporté amélioré permettant d’enregistrer le spectre complet. L’appareil a été utilisé pour la première fois en 1978 en support à l’Opération Morning Light, qui visait la recherche des débris d’un satellite soviétique nucléaire dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Au cours des 20 années suivantes, l’appareil a cartographié les distributions géologiques de la radioactivité, établissant les normes mondiales pour les levés de spectrométrie gamma aéroportée.

Categorie : Équipement et appareils

Décennie : Années 1970

Références

http://www.qbristow.ca/Scientific/Gamma_spec_Images/Gamma_Spec_Index.html

Killeen, P.G., Mwenifumbo, C.J., et Ford, K.L., 2015. Tools and Techniques: Radiometric Methods; in Treatise on Geophysics, 2nd Edition, Volume 11, (ed.) G. Schubert; Elsevier, Oxford, p. 447–524. doi:10.1016/B978-0-444-53802-4.00209-8

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :