109. National Seismic Hazard Maps (1970)

National Seismic Hazard Maps

The Geological Survey of Canada has the responsibility for assessing earthquake hazard for the National Building Code of Canada, which is updated every five years. The first truly national seismic hazard map was incorporated into the 1970 edition of National Building Code. Before that, since 1953, there had been a sketch map of seismic hazard regions in the National Building Code for only parts of the country. This new map, however, calculated hazard based on the likelihood of earthquakes in all of Canada. This triggered a worldwide trend of what is called “probabilistic” seismic hazard mapping, with the result that today it is practised in most countries.

Research evaluating earthquake hazard in Canada remains one of the Survey’s core activities. Today’s seismic hazard maps include the latest earthquake data, the latest research, and the latest analysis techniques in this young and continuously evolving science.

The most recent national seismic hazard maps were released in the 2015 edition of the National Building Code. They can also be found on the Survey’s Earthquakes Canada website, where users can calculate hazard levels for any location in Canada.

Category: Maps

Decade: 1970s

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

109. Cartes nationales de l’aléa sismique (1970)

Cartes nationales de l’aléa sismique

La Commission géologique du Canada a la responsabilité d’évaluer les risques de séisme pour le Code national du bâtiment du Canada, qui est mis à jour tous les cinq ans. La première carte véritablement nationale de l’aléa sismique a été intégrée dans l’édition de 1970 du Code national du bâtiment. Auparavant, depuis 1953, le Code national du bâtiment contenait une esquisse cartographique de l’aléa sismique pour seulement certaines régions du pays. La nouvelle carte calculait, pour sa part, l’aléa en fonction de la probabilité que surviennent des séismes dans tout le Canada. Cela a déclenché une tendance mondiale pour ce qu’on appelle la cartographie « probabiliste » de l’aléa sismique, et cette méthode est aujourd’hui utilisée dans la plupart des pays.

Les recherches visant à évaluer les risques de séisme au Canada demeurent l’une des activités principales de la Commission. Les cartes de l’aléa sismique d’aujourd’hui comprennent les données sismiques les plus récentes, les dernières recherches ainsi que les techniques d’analyse de pointe dans ce domaine relativement jeune et en constante évolution.

Les plus récentes cartes nationales de l’aléa sismique ont été publiées dans l’édition de 2015 du Code national du bâtiment. On peut aussi les consulter sur le site Web Séismes Canada de la Commission, où les utilisateurs peuvent calculer le niveau de l’aléa sismique pour tout emplacement au Canada.

Categorie : Cartes

Décennie : Années 1970

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :