110. First Use of Computers in Field Mapping (1970)

First Use of Computers in Field Mapping

In 1965, it was clear that the massive amounts of data being collected during a Geological Survey of Canada mapping project covering 11,000 square kilometres of the Coast Mountains, British Columbia, could not be handled by conventional means. Computer assistance was required.

That year, IBM "Port-a-punch" cards were used for the first time in the field to capture data. At the end of the season, the data were transferred to paper-tape prior to storage on the University of British Columbia’s mainframe computer. By 1970, after many iterations and false starts, all field and laboratory data were entered into a structured, flat-file system. Maps showing strikes and dips, rock composition, and grain size, for example, could be plotted quickly and speedily after the field season.

Survey geologist Jim Roddick led this work and wrote many of the programs used to reduce and plot the data. The main benefit of the system was that data collection was standardized over the roughly 20-year duration of the project. This was the first large-scale, systematic use of computer data systems for geological mapping in Canada, long before the development of the modern Geographic Information System (GIS).

Category: Fieldwork

Decade: 1970s

Roddick, J.A. and Hutchison, W.W., 1972. A computer-based system for geological field data on the Coast Mountains Project, British Columbia; 24th International Geological Congress, Session 16, p. 36-46.

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

110. Première utilisation des ordinateurs en cartographie de terrain (1970)

Première utilisation des ordinateurs en cartographie de terrain

En 1965, il était évident que les méthodes conventionnelles ne suffiraient pas à traiter l’immense quantité de données recueillies durant un projet de cartographie de la Commission géologique du Canada qui couvrait 11 000 kilomètres carrés de la chaîne Côtière, en Colombie-Britannique. Il était nécessaire de faire appel à l’informatique.

Cette année-là, les cartes perforées d’IBM ont été utilisées pour la première fois sur le terrain pour saisir des données. À la fin de la saison, les données ont été transférées sur des bandes de papier avant d’être stockées sur l’ordinateur central de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique. À partir de 1970, après de nombreuses itérations et de nombreux faux départs, toutes les données de terrain et de laboratoire ont été saisies dans un système de fichiers non hiérarchiques. Des cartes montrant, par exemple, la direction et le pendage, la composition des roches et la granulométrie pouvaient être tracées rapidement après la campagne de terrain.

Jim Roddick, géologue de la Commission, a dirigé ces travaux et a écrit bon nombre des programmes utilisés pour réduire et représenter graphiquement les données. Le principal avantage du système était que la collecte des données a été uniformisée durant les quelque 20 années qu’a duré le projet. Il s’agissait de la première utilisation systématique à grande échelle de systèmes de données informatiques au Canada, dans le cadre de levés géologiques, bien avant le développement du système d’information géographique (SIG) moderne.

Categorie : Travaux de terrain

Décennie : Années 1970

Roddick, J.A. et Hutchison, W.W., 1972. A computer-based system for geological field data on the Coast Mountains Project, British Columbia; 24th International Geological Congress, Session 16, p. 36-46.

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :