114. National Seismograph Network (1971)

National Seismograph Network

The decision to establish a national seismograph network of standardized seismographs in Canada was partially an outgrowth of seismic monitoring done during the 1957-1958 International Geophysical Year (IGY). It was also strongly influenced by Canada’s desire to contribute to the International Monitoring System of the Comprehensive Nuclear Test-Ban Treaty.

Three component (north-south, east-west, and up-down) short-period and long-period instruments were established at what were called standard stations to record the broad range of periods of earthquake-generated seismic waves. Additional short-period vertical stations called regional stations were added in areas of more frequent earthquake activity.

The short-period seismometers were a new lightweight instrument called a Willmore Mark II, and the long-period instruments were a version of ones originally developed at Columbia University. These instruments were vastly superior to the previous instruments deployed in Canada.

The standard station deployed in the new national network was based on the instrumentation used at Resolute, NWT during the 1957-1958 IGY. The network was more or less completed as envisaged with the installation of regional stations in 1971. The Geological Survey of Canada is responsible for managing the network as part of its seismology program.

Category: Equipment and Instrumentation

Decade: 1970s

References

Willmore, P.L., 1960. The new seismograph station at Resolute Northwest Territories; Publications of the Dominion Observatory, v. 24, p. 99–111.

Horner, R.B., Milne, W.G., and McMechan, G.A., 1976. Canadian Earthquakes – 1971; Energy, Mines and Resources Canada, Seismological Series of the Earth Physics Branch, 74; 45 p.

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

114. Réseau national de sismographes (1971)

Réseau national de sismographes

La décision de mettre sur pied un réseau national de sismographes normalisés au Canada découlait en partie des activités de surveillance sismique réalisées durant l’Année géophysique internationale (1957-1958). Elle était aussi grandement motivée par la volonté du Canada de contribuer au Système de surveillance international du Traité d’interdiction complète des essais nucléaires.

Des instruments à trois composantes (nord-sud, est-ouest et verticale) de courte période et de longue période ont été installés dans ce qu’on appelait des « stations de premier ordre » afin d’enregistrer le large éventail de périodes des ondes sismiques engendrées par les séismes. D’autres stations verticales de courte période, appelées « stations régionales », ont été ajoutées dans des régions d’activité sismique plus fréquente.

Les sismographes de courte période étaient un nouvel appareil léger appelé « Willmore Mark II », et les instruments de longue période étaient une version de ceux qui ont originalement été développés à l’Université Columbia. Ces instruments étaient largement supérieurs aux appareils précédents déployés au Canada.

La station de premier ordre installée dans le nouveau réseau national était basée sur l’instrumentation utilisée à Resolute, T.N.-O., durant l’Année géophysique internationale (1957-1958). Le réseau a été en quelque sorte complété comme prévu avec l’installation des stations régionales en 1971. La Commission géologique du Canada est responsable de la gestion du réseau dans le cadre de son programme de sismologie.

Categorie : Équipement et appareils

Décennie : Années 1970

Références

Willmore, P.L., 1960. The new seismograph station at Resolute Northwest Territories; Publications of the Dominion Observatory, v. 24, p. 99–111.

Horner, R.B., Milne, W.G., et McMechan, G.A., 1976. Canadian Earthquakes – 1971; Energy, Mines and Resources Canada, Seismological Series of the Earth Physics Branch, 74; 45 p.

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :