116. Cordilleran Terranes (1972)

Cordilleran Terranes

Geological Survey of Canada scientists began using plate tectonics to unravel the complex geology of the Cordillera in the early 1970s. They recognized that the older sedimentary rocks of the eastern Cordillera were originally deposited along the non-active margin of the Precambrian core of North America. By contrast, the rocks of the western Cordillera were produced at active, convergent, plate margins elsewhere on the globe.

It became clear that these rocks were formed in settings like the present western Pacific basin where ocean trenches and volcanic island arcs are associated with relatively young mountain systems. However, as the Pacific Plate moved slowly eastwards, North America collided obliquely with these island arc systems and the results of the collisions slid northwards along long fault systems.

The present distribution of these rocks within the Cordillera presented a geological jigsaw puzzle of narrow slivers of rocks called “terranes.” Each terrane had a common geological record, and its original location relative to North America could be established by its paleomagnetism and/or fossil content.

The whole process started in the Jurassic as the future North American Plate drifted westward. Something like driftwood arriving on the shore, the terranes were swept up and incorporated in its western margin, eventually building today’s geologically complex Cordillera.

Category: Science Advances

Decade: 1970s

References

Monger, J.W.H., Souther, J.G., and Gabrielse, H., 1972. Evolution of the Canadian Cordillera; a plate tectonic model; American Journal of Science, v. 272, p. 577–602. doi:10.2475/ajs.272.7.577

Coney, P.J., Jones, D.L., and Monger, J.W.H., 1980. Cordilleran suspect terranes; Nature, v. 288, p. 329–333. doi:10.1038/288329a0

Monger, J.W.H. and Ross, C.A., 1971. Distribution of fusulinaceans in the Canadian Cordillera; Canadian Journal of Earth Sciences, v. 8, p. 259–278. doi:10.1139/e71-026

Monger, J.W.H., Price, R.A., and Tempelman-Kluit, D.J., 1982. Tectonic accretion and the origin of two major metamorphic and plutonic welts in the Canadian Cordillera; Geology, v. 10, p. 70–75. doi:10.1130/0091-7613(1982)10<70:TAATOO>2.0.CO;2

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

116. Terranes de la Cordillère (1972)

Terranes de Cordillère

Au début des années 1970, les chercheurs de la Commission géologique du Canada ont commencé à utiliser la tectonique des plaques pour expliquer la géologie complexe de la Cordillère. Ils ont reconnu que les plus anciennes roches sédimentaires de la Cordillère orientale s’étaient initialement déposées le long de la marge inactive du noyau précambrien de l’Amérique du Nord. En revanche, les roches de la Cordillère occidentale ont été formées, ailleurs sur le globe, aux marges actives de plaques convergentes.

Il était devenu évident que ces roches s’étaient formées dans des milieux comme l’actuel bassin occidental du Pacifique, où les fosses océaniques et les arcs volcaniques sont associés à des systèmes montagneux relativement jeunes. Toutefois, au fur et à mesure que la plaque du Pacifique se déplaçait lentement vers l’est, l’Amérique du Nord heurtait obliquement ces arcs insulaires, les produits des collisions glissant vers le nord le long de longs systèmes de failles.

La répartition actuelle de ces roches au sein de la Cordillère formait un puzzle géologique de minces copeaux de roches appelés « terranes ». Chaque terrane avait un profil géologique commun, et son emplacement original par rapport à l’Amérique du Nord pouvait être établi d’après son contenu paléomagnétique et/ou fossilifère.

Tout le processus s’est amorcé durant le Jurassique, lorsque la future plaque nord-américaine a dérivé vers l’ouest. Comme du bois flotté s’échouant sur le rivage, les terranes ont été tassés et incorporés à la marge occidentale de la plaque pour former la Cordillère géologiquement complexe d’aujourd’hui.

Categorie : Progrès scientifiques

Décennie : Années 1970

Références

Monger, J.W.H., Souther, J.G. et Gabrielse, H., 1972. Evolution of the Canadian Cordillera; a plate tectonic model; American Journal of Science, v. 272, p. 577–602. doi:10.2475/ajs.272.7.577

Coney, P.J., Jones, D.L. et Monger, J.W.H., 1980. Cordilleran suspect terranes; Nature, v. 288, p. 329–333. doi:10.1038/288329a0

Monger, J.W.H. et Ross, C.A., 1971. Distribution of fusulinaceans in the Canadian Cordillera; Canadian Journal of Earth Sciences, v. 8, p. 259–278. doi:10.1139/e71-026

Monger, J.W.H., Price, R.A. et Tempelman-Kluit, D.J., 1982. Tectonic accretion and the origin of two major metamorphic and plutonic welts in the Canadian Cordillera; Geology, v. 10, p. 70–75. doi:10.1130/0091-7613(1982)10<70:TAATOO>2.0.CO;2

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :