117. Logan Park (1974)

Logan Park

Logan Park, located in Percé, Québec, may be small in size, but it has major historic significance. The park is home to two commemorative plaques dedicated to Sir William Edmond Logan, founder and first director of the Geological Survey of Canada. It is a fitting tribute indeed. In 1843 and 1844, the Gaspé Peninsula was the site of the first detailed geological work executed by Logan as he searched for coal and other mineral resources to fuel industrial development in the Province of Canada.

The first bronze plaque was unveiled in 1913 during the 12th International Geological Congress, which was being held for the first time in Canada. It is located on the west side of a limestone outcrop.

A second plaque, located on the east side of the outcrop, was placed in Logan Park by Parks Canada in 1974 as part of its program to honour great Canadians. It was unveiled during the 10th Commonwealth Mining and Metallurgical Congress. The inscription states that Logan is “the first Canadian man of science to gain international recognition; he is commemorated by two mountains bearing his name, one in Gaspé and one in the Yukon.”

Category: Buildings and Places

Decade: 1970s

Reference

http://www.pc.gc.ca/apps/dfhd/page_nhs_eng.aspx?id=1430

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

117. Parc Logan (1974)

Parc Logan

Le parc Logan, situé à Percé, au Québec, est peut-être de petite taille, mais il revêt une grande importance historique. Le parc abrite deux plaques commémoratives consacrées à Sir William Edmond Logan, le fondateur et premier directeur de la Commission géologique du Canada. Il s’agit là d’un hommage très mérité. En 1843 et 1844, la péninsule de la Gaspésie a été le site des premiers travaux géologiques détaillés réalisés par Logan, qui était à la recherche de charbon et d’autres ressources minérales pour alimenter le développement industriel de la Province du Canada.

La première plaque de bronze a été dévoilée en 1913 durant le 12e Congrès international de géologie, qui se tenait pour la première fois au Canada. Elle est située sur le côté ouest d’un affleurement de calcaire.

Une deuxième plaque, située sur le côté est de l’affleurement, a été installée au parc Logan par Parcs Canada, en 1974, dans le cadre de son programme visant à honorer les grands Canadiens. Elle a été dévoilée durant le 10e Congrès minier et métallurgique du Commonwealth. L’inscription stipule que Logan est [traduction] « le premier homme de science canadien à obtenir une reconnaissance internationale; il est commémoré par deux monts qui portent son nom – l’un en Gaspésie et l’autre au Yukon ».

Categorie : Immeubles et endroits

Décennie : Années 1970

Référence

http://www.pc.gc.ca/apps/dfhd/page_nhs_fra.aspx?id=1430

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :