118. "Reading the Rocks" (1975)

Reading the Rocks

Morris Zaslow, University of Western Ontario, was a pioneer in the study of the Canadian North’s history, and he had long known of and admired the work of Canadian explorers such as George Dawson, Albert Low, Robert Bell, Joseph Tyrrell, and Charles Camsell. All were employees of the Geological Survey of Canada, so it was little wonder that he willingly accepted a commission from the Survey to research and record its history.

To help him in his monumental task, the Survey set up a History Committee made up of key Survey staff and chaired by Art Lang, Chief, Mineral Deposits Division, then by Bob Blackadar, Chief Scientific Editor. The committee helped Zaslow connect with former and current staff for interviews, and come to grips with the scientific and technical information he had to cover.

Zaslow started work on the project in the mid-1960s, and Reading the Rocks: The Story of the Geological Survey of Canada 1842-1972 was published in 1975. It is essential reading for those interested in the contributions made by the Survey to the exploration and development of Canada, and in the stories of the many fascinating personalities who made it happen.

Category: Publications

Decade: 1970s

References

Zaslow, M., 1971. The Opening of the Canadian North 1870-1914; McClelland and Stewart, Toronto, 339 p.

Zaslow, M., 1975. Reading the Rocks – The Story of the Geological Survey of Canada 1842-1972; The MacMillan Company of Canada Ltd, Toronto, 599 p.

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

118. "Reading the Rocks" (1975)

Reading the Rocks

Morris Zaslow, de l’Université de Western Ontario, a été l’un des premiers à étudier l’histoire du Nord canadien. Il avait une bonne connaissance des explorateurs canadiens comme George Dawson, Albert Low, Robert Bell, Joseph Tyrrell et Charles Camsell et il admirait leur travail. Comme tous ces explorateurs étaient des employés de la Commission géologique du Canada, il n’est pas surprenant que Zaslow ait accepté volontiers un mandat de la Commission pour faire des recherches sur son histoire et la consigner par écrit.

Pour l’aider dans cette tâche monumentale, la Commission a mis sur pied un Comité sur l’histoire composé de membres clés du personnel de la Commission et présidé par Art Lang, chef de la Division des gîtes minéraux, puis par Bob Blackadar, rédacteur scientifique en chef. Le comité a aidé Zaslow à mener des entrevues auprès d’anciens membres et de membres actuels du personnel et à venir à bout de l’information scientifique et technique qu’il devait traiter.

Zaslow a commencé à travailler sur le projet au milieu des années 1960, et l’ouvrage Reading the Rocks: The Story of the Geological Survey of Canada 1842-1972 a été publié en 1975. Il s’agit d’un ouvrage essentiel pour ceux intéressés par les contributions de la Commission à l’exploration et au développement du Canada ainsi qu’aux histoires des nombreuses personnalités fascinantes qui en ont été les artisans.

Categorie : Publications

Décennie : Années 1970

Références

Zaslow, M., 1971. The Opening of the Canadian North 1870-1914; McClelland and Stewart, Toronto, 339 p.

Zaslow, M., 1975. Reading the Rocks – The Story of the Geological Survey of Canada 1842-1972; The MacMillan Company of Canada Ltd, Toronto, 599 p.

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :