119. Huntec Deep-Tow System (1976)

Huntec Deep-Tow System

The deep-tow seismic reflection profiling system (called the Huntec Deep-Tow) was developed in the 1970s as a government-industry partnership between the Bedford Institute of Oceanography and Huntec’70 Limited. It filled the need for a method of precisely imaging the sediment layers up to 100 metres beneath the seafloor at a vertical resolution often better than 50 centimetres. Continuous development and innovation over the years has led to a high-resolution seabed imaging system that is still unmatched internationally.

In Canada’s marine territory, the upper 50–100 metres is the interval that accumulated sediment since the continental ice sheets last covered Canada and much of its continental shelves. These sediments provide the foundation for offshore petroleum platforms, pipelines, wind farms, and fiber-optic and electricity cables. They are also the sediments that may fail during earthquakes, producing submarine landslides and tsunamis.

The three-dimensional pictures of these sediments, which the Huntec Deep-Tow captures, provide a predictive explanation for how they are distributed at the seafloor. Also, these sediments provide an archive of how climate and oceanic environmental conditions have changed in the past, and this information is essential for predicting how conditions will change in the future.

Category: Equipment and Instrumentation

Decade: 1970s

References

Hutchins, R.W., McKeown, D.L., and King, L.H., 1976. A Deep Tow High Resolution Seismic System for Continental Shelf Mapping; Geoscience Canada, v. 3, no. 2, p. 95–100. https://journals.lib.unb.ca/index.php/GC/article/view/1140/1489

Mosher, D.C. and Simpkin, P.G., 1999. Environmental Marine Geoscience 1. Status and Trends of Marine High-Resolution Seismic Reflection Profiling: Data Acquisition; Geoscience Canada, v. 26, no. 4, p. 174–188. https://journals.lib.unb.ca/index.php/GC/article/view/4024/4538

McKeown, D.L., Simpkin, P.G., Fader, G.B.J., Parrott, D.R., and Mosher, D.C., 2014. The Huntec Deep-Tow Seismic system: a revolution in high resolution profiling; in Voyage of Discovery: Fifty years of Marine Research at Canada’s Bedford Institute of Oceanography, (ed.) D.N. Nettleship, D.C. Gordon, C.F.M. Lewis, and M.P. Latremouille; Bedford Institute of Oceanography-Oceans Association, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, p. 337–341.

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

119. Système Huntec Deep-Tow (1976)

Système Huntec Deep-Tow

Le système de profils de sismique-réflexion en profondeur (appelé le Huntec Deep-Tow) a été développé dans les années 1970 dans le cadre d’un partenariat gouvernement-industrie entre l’Institut océanographique de Bedford et Huntec’70 Limited. Il répondait au besoin d’une méthode d’imagerie précise des couches sédimentaires situées jusqu’à 100 mètres sous le plancher océanique à une résolution verticale souvent meilleure que 50 centimètres. L’innovation et les développements continus au fil des ans ont mené à la création d’un système d’imagerie haute résolution du plancher océanique qui est toujours inégalé au plan international.

Dans le territoire marin du Canada, les 50 à 100 mètres supérieurs représentent l’intervalle où des sédiments se sont accumulés depuis que les masses de glace continentales ont recouvert pour la dernière fois le Canada et une bonne partie de ses plateaux continentaux. Ces sédiments servent de bases aux plate-formes pétrolières extracôtières, aux pipelines, aux parcs éoliens, aux câbles à fibre optique et aux câbles électriques. Ce sont aussi ces sédiments qui peuvent céder durant les séismes, produisant des glissements de terrain sous-marins et des tsunamis.

Les images en trois dimensions de ces sédiments, que le Hunter Deep-Tow permet de saisir, offrent une explication prédictive sur la façon dont les sédiments sont répartis sur le plancher océanique. De plus, ils fournissent des archives sur l’évolution des conditions climatiques et des environnements marins au fil du temps. Ces renseignements sont essentiels pour prévoir comment ces conditions vont évoluer dans le futur.

Categorie : Équipement et appareils

Décennie : Années 1970

Références

Hutchins, R.W., McKeown, D.L., et King, L.H., 1976. A Deep Tow High Resolution Seismic System for Continental Shelf Mapping; Geoscience Canada, v. 3, no. 2, p. 95–100. https://journals.lib.unb.ca/index.php/GC/article/view/1140/1489

Mosher, D.C. et Simpkin, P.G., 1999. Environmental Marine Geoscience 1. Status and Trends of Marine High-Resolution Seismic Reflection Profiling: Data Acquisition; Geoscience Canada, v. 26, no. 4, p. 174–188. https://journals.lib.unb.ca/index.php/GC/article/view/4024/4538

McKeown, D.L., Simpkin, P.G., Fader, G.B.J., Parrott, D.R., et Mosher, D.C., 2014. The Huntec Deep-Tow Seismic system: a revolution in high resolution profiling; in Voyage of Discovery: Fifty years of Marine Research at Canada’s Bedford Institute of Oceanography, (ed.) D.N. Nettleship, D.C. Gordon, C.F.M. Lewis, and M.P. Latremouille; Bedford Institute of Oceanography-Oceans Association, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, p. 337–341.

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :