121. Arctic Ventifact (1970s)

Arctic Ventifact

Earth is eroded by many different forces, including ice, water, and wind. Wind erosion can occur when dry, loose soil on the surface is exposed to wind, as happened in North America during the hot, dry Dust Bowl, which added much human misery to the Depression during the 1930s.

Rocks eroded by wind are called ventifacts. They have smooth, well-polished sides, and sharp edges that have been “sand-blasted” by sands transported at high speed by the wind. Ventifacts are rare in most of Canada, because, typically, it is covered by vegetation, which prevents wind erosion. They can, however, be found along some beaches and shorelines in southern Canada. They are also found in the “cold deserts” of the High Arctic, where bare soil and rocks are exposed to strong winds.

Geological Survey of Canada geologist John Fyles found this large sandstone ventifact on Ellef Ringnes Island in the Arctic. It measures 30 x 20 x 20 cm, with four distinctive facets, or sides, on its well-polished surface. It is a testament to the erosive power of wind that can occur under extreme conditions of climate.

Category: Rocks, Fossils, Minerals and Meteorites

Decade: 1970s

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

121. Ventifact de l'Arctique (Années 1970)

Ventifact de l'Arctique

La Terre est érodée par de nombreuses forces différentes, dont la glace, l'eau et le vent. L'érosion éolienne peut survenir lorsque la terre sèche et meuble se trouvant en surface est exposée au vent, comme cela est arrivé en Amérique du Nord au cours du chaud et sec « Dust Bowl » (Bol de poussière) qui a ajouté beaucoup de misère humaine à la Dépression survenue au cours des années 1930.

Les roches érodées par le vent sont appelées des ventifacts. Ces derniers ont des côtés lisses et bien polis et des bords aigus, qui ont été « dépolis » par des sables transportés à haute vitesse par le vent. Les ventifacts sont rares dans la majeure partie du Canada car le pays est généralement couvert de végétation qui empêche l'érosion éolienne. Toutefois, on peut en trouver le long de certaines plages et rives du sud du Canada. On les trouve également dans les « déserts froids » de l'Extrême‑Arctique, où les roches et le sol nu sont exposés à de forts vents.

Le géologue John Fyles, de la Commission géologique du Canada, a trouvé ce gros ventifact de grès sur l'île Ellef Ringnes, dans l'Arctique. Il mesure 30 cm x 20 cm x 20 cm et montre sur sa surface bien polie quatre facettes ou côtés distincts. Il témoigne de la puissance d'érosion du vent qui peut se produire dans des conditions de climat extrêmes.

Categorie : Roches, fossiles, minéraux et météorites

Décennie : Années 1970

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :