124. Gold Geochemistry (1979)

Gold Geochemistry

Gold, the noblest of the metals, has been used by the human race for more than 5000 years, but little was known about its geochemistry until the middle of the 20th century. In 1979, the Geological Survey of Canada published Robert Boyle’s The Geochemistry of Gold and Its Deposits, which was to become one of the Survey’s bestsellers both in Canada and abroad. Indeed, this publication has guided gold prospectors and geoscientists since its release.

In the 1970s, the Survey began work on methods of geochemical exploration that used samples of glacial and lake sediments to search for concealed mineral deposits. Preliminary work on drift prospecting for gold began around 1980. The testing phase was followed by a concerted effort to transfer these methods for gold exploration to the provincial geological surveys and industry.

In the 1990s, the Survey’s expertise in surficial geochemistry and biogeochemistry had matured to the point that its scientists were publishing comprehensive reports and leading courses on gold exploration methods. As the level of gold exploration exploded in the Arctic, some of the most active areas were investigated using the methods pioneered by the Survey, including geochemistry, mineralogy, gamma-ray spectrometry, and geomathematics.

Category: Exploration

Decade: 1970s

References:

Boyle, R.W., 1979. The geochemistry of gold and its deposits (together with a chapter on geochemical prospecting for the element); Geological Survey of Canada, Bulletin 280, 584 p. doi:10.4095/105577

McClenaghan, M.B., Thorleifson, L.H., and DiLabio, R.N.W., 1997. Till geochemical and indicator mineral methods in mineral exploration; in Proceedings of Exploration 97, Fourth decennial International Conference on Mineral Exploration, A.G. Gubins (ed.), p. 233-248.

Shilts, W.W., 1984. Till geochemistry in Finland and Canada; Journal of Geochemical Exploration, v. 21, p. 95–117. doi:10.1016/0375-6742(84)90037-2

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

124. Géochimie de l'or (1979)

Géochimie de l'or

L'or, le plus noble des métaux, est utilisé par l’humanité depuis plus de 5 000 ans, mais jusqu'au milieu du 20e siècle on connaissait peu de chose sur sa géochimie. En 1979, la Commission géologique du Canada a publié The Geochemistry of Gold and Its Deposits (La géochimie de l’or et de ses gîtes), de Robert Boyle, ouvrage qui allait devenir l'un des plus gros vendeurs de la Commission, tant au Canada qu'à l'étranger. En fait, cette publication a guidé, dès sa parution, les prospecteurs d'or et les géoscientifiques.

Au cours des années 1970, la Commission a entrepris des travaux sur des méthodes d'exploration géochimique qui utilisaient des échantillons de sédiments glaciaires et lacustres pour rechercher des gîtes minéraux cachés. Les travaux préliminaires sur la prospection glacio‑sédimentaire pour la recherche d'or ont commencé aux alentours de 1980. La phase d'essai a été suivie d'un effort concerté pour transférer ces méthodes d'exploration aux commissions géologiques provinciales et à l’industrie.

Au cours des années 1990, l'expertise de la Commission en matière de géochimie et de biogéochimie des sédiments de surface s’était consolidée au point où ses scientifiques publiaient des rapports exhaustifs et donnaient des cours sur les méthodes d'exploration de l'or. Alors que le niveau d’exploration pour l'or explosait dans l’Arctique, certaines des régions les plus actives étaient étudiées au moyen de méthodes novatrices mises au point par la Commission, dont la géochimie, la minéralogie, la spectrométrie gamma et la géomathématique.

Categorie : Exploration

Décennie : Années 1970

Références

Boyle, R.W., 1979. The geochemistry of gold and its deposits (together with a chapter on geochemical prospecting for the element); Geological Survey of Canada, Bulletin 280, 584 p. doi:10.4095/105577

McClenaghan, M.B., Thorleifson, L.H., et DiLabio, R.N.W., 1997. Till geochemical and indicator mineral methods in mineral exploration; in Proceedings of Exploration 97, Fourth decennial International Conference on Mineral Exploration, A.G. Gubins (ed.), p. 233-248.

Shilts, W.W., 1984. Till geochemistry in Finland and Canada; Journal of Geochemical Exploration, v. 21, p. 95–117. doi:10.1016/0375-6742(84)90037-2

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :