126. Acasta Gneiss (1983)

Acasta Gneiss

The Canadian Shield, the largest expanse of Precambrian rocks on Earth, is host to Earth’s oldest known rock – the Acasta Gneiss of the Slave Province of the Shield, located about 300 kilometres north of Yellowknife, Northwest Territories.

Gneiss is a type of rock that has been metamorphosed (affected by intense heat and pressure) at depth in Earth’s crust. Geological Survey of Canada geologist Janet King discovered the Acasta Gneiss during fieldwork in 1983.

The composition and texture of the Acasta Gneiss suggest that, before metamorphism, the gneiss was an igneous rock that formed about 4.03 billion years ago. We know it is that old because the Survey’s Geochronology Laboratory determined it by isotopic dating. This analytical laboratory process measures the ratios between parent and daughter atoms in mineral grains such as zircon that contain traces of radioactive uranium. Essentially, this is counting how many uranium atoms have transformed to lead, and permits calculation of an age. Isotopic dating gives absolute ages in years or millions of years. In contrast, the layered successions of rocks give only relative ages – older than, or younger than.

Category: Rocks, Fossils, Minerals and Meteorites

Decade: 1980s

References

Stern, R. and Bleeker, W., 1998. Age of the World’s Oldest Rocks Refined Using Canada’s SHRIMP: The Acasta Gneiss Complex, Northwest Territories, Canada; Geoscience Canada, v. 25, no. 1, p. 27–31. https://journals.lib.unb.ca/index.php/GC/article/view/3966/4480

Mojzsis, S.J., Cates, N.L., Caro, G., Trail, D., Abramov, O., Guitreau, M., Blichert-Toft, J., Hopkins, M.D., and Bleeker, W., 2014. Component geochronology in the polyphase ca. 3920 Ma Acasta Gneiss; Geochimica et Cosmochimica Acta, v. 133, p. 68–96. doi:10.1016/j.gca.2014.02.019

York, D. Geological Dating; The Canadian Encyclopedia. http://thecanadianencyclopedia.ca/en/article/geological-dating

The Acasta Gneiss, Earth’s oldest surface rock. http://www.sciencebuzz.org/blog/acasta-gneiss-earths-oldest-surface-rock

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

126. Gneiss d’Acasta (1983)

Gneiss d'Acasta

Le Bouclier canadien, la plus grande étendue de roches précambriennes sur la Terre, contient la plus vieille roche connue de la Terre – le Gneiss d’Acasta, dans la province des Esclaves du Bouclier, situé à environ 300 kilomètres au nord de Yellowknife, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

Le gneiss est un type de roche qui a été métamorphisée (sous l’effet d’une chaleur et d’une pression intenses) en profondeur dans la croûte terrestre. La géologue Janet King, de la Commission géologique du Canada, a découvert le Gneiss d’Acasta au cours de travaux sur le terrain en 1983.

La composition et la texture du Gneiss d’Acasta indiquent qu’avant le métamorphisme le gneiss était une roche ignée qui s’est formée il y a quelque 4,03 milliards d’années. C’est le Laboratoire de géochronologie de la Commission qui en a déterminé l’âge en ayant recours à la datation isotopique. Ce procédé d’analyse en laboratoire mesure les rapports entre les atomes d’origine et les atomes de filiation dans les grains de minéraux, comme le zircon, qui contiennent des traces d’uranium radioactif. Il s’agit essentiellement de calculer le nombre d’atomes d’uranium qui se sont transformés en plomb, ce qui permet de déterminer un âge. La datation isotopique fournit des âges absolus en années ou en millions d’années, tandis que la superposition de couches de roches ne permet que la détermination des âges relatifs – couche plus vieille ou plus jeune.

Categorie : Roches, fossiles, minéraux et météorites

Décennie : Années 1980

Références

Stern, R. et Bleeker, W., 1998. Age of the World’s Oldest Rocks Refined Using Canada’s SHRIMP: The Acasta Gneiss Complex, Northwest Territories, Canada; Geoscience Canada, v. 25, no. 1, p. 27–31. https://journals.lib.unb.ca/index.php/GC/article/view/3966/4480

Mojzsis, S.J., Cates, N.L., Caro, G., Trail, D., Abramov, O., Guitreau, M., Blichert-Toft, J., Hopkins, M.D. et Bleeker, W., 2014. Component geochronology in the polyphase ca. 3920 Ma Acasta Gneiss; Geochimica et Cosmochimica Acta, v. 133, p. 68–96. doi:10.1016/j.gca.2014.02.019

York, D. Datation géologique; L’Encyclopédie canadienne. http://thecanadianencyclopedia.ca/fr/article/datation-geologique/

The Acasta Gneiss, Earth’s oldest surface rock. http://www.sciencebuzz.org/blog/acasta-gneiss-earths-oldest-surface-rock

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :