127. Lithoprobe (1984)

Lithoprobe

In 1984, the Geological Survey of Canada was a founding partner in Lithoprobe, one of the world’s most successful deep investigations of Earth’s structure. The work took place across Canada over the next 20 years, generating an almost continuous cross-section of Earth’s crust up to 40 kilometres deep.

At the heart of Lithoprobe were profiles of seismic refraction – created by huge ground-pounding trucks, nicknamed “dancing elephants,” which punched sound waves deep into Earth to bring back pictures of its hidden geology. These were combined with multidisciplinary investigations of gravity and magnetic fields, electrical sounding, geochemistry, industrial drilling, and detailed geological mapping. Lithoprobe brought together over 500 government, university, and industry scientists, and resulted in over 1500 publications, books, and educational products.

Among the results were a revolutionary new understanding of Canadian geology, resurgences in mineral and hydrocarbon exploration, new technological developments, and a cadre of new young geoscientists in Canadian universities who had participated in Lithoprobe.

Category: Science Advances

Decade: 1980s

References

Clowes, R.M., 2009. A new view of the continent beneath our feet: LITHOPROBE’s scientific, economic and social contributions; CSEG Recorder, v. 34, no. 3, p. 7-16.

Wilson, J., 2003. Dancing Elephants and Floating Continents: The Story of Canada Beneath Your Feet; Key Porter Books.

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

127. Lithoprobe (1984)

Lithoprobe

En 1984, la Commission géologique du Canada a été un des partenaires fondateurs du projet Lithoprobe, l’une des plus fructueuses explorations profondes de la structure terrestre dans le monde. Les travaux se sont déroulés sur l’ensemble du Canada au cours des 20 années suivantes, produisant une coupe transversale presque continue de la croûte terrestre jusqu’à une profondeur de 40 kilomètres.

Le projet Lithoprobe avait pour cœur des profils de sismique-réfraction – créés par d’énormes camions munis de vibrateurs sismiques, surnommés les éléphants dansants, qui transmettaient des ondes sonores dans les profondeurs de la Terre pour rapporter des images de sa géologie cachée. Ces profils étaient combinés à des études multidisciplinaires intégrant ou portant sur les champs gravitationnels et magnétiques, les sondages électriques, la géochimie, les forages industriels et la cartographie géologique détaillée. Lithoprobe a réuni plus de 500 chercheurs des gouvernements, du milieu universitaire et de l’industrie et a permis de produire plus de 1 500 publications, livres et produits éducatifs.

Le projet Lithroprobe a révolutionné la compréhension de la géologie canadienne, il a engendré des regains en exploration minérale et des hydrocarbures, il a produit de nouveaux développements technologiques et il a établi un noyau de jeunes géoscientifiques dans les universités canadiennes qui avaient participé au projet.

Categorie : Progrès scientifiques

Décennie : Années 1980

Références

Clowes, R.M., 2009. A new view of the continent beneath our feet: LITHOPROBE’s scientific, economic and social contributions; CSEG Recorder, v. 34, no. 3, p. 7-16.

Wilson, J., 2003. Dancing Elephants and Floating Continents: The Story of Canada Beneath Your Feet; Key Porter Books.

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :