131. Beaufort Sea Project (1984)

Beaufort Sea Project

After the Second World War, hydrocarbon exploration discovered petroleum occurrences in some of Canada’s offshore frontier basins along its coasts, resulting in several producing oilfields in the Atlantic offshore.

The need to understand the geology of offshore basins potentially containing petroleum became pressing, and in the 1960s, the Geological Survey of Canada began basin research in cooperation with industry. This included stratigraphic frameworks determined by drilling and seismic studies, local environment assessments on sea-ice hazards, potential blowouts, protection of wildlife, and more.

Beginning in 1974, Survey scientists led the Beaufort Sea Project, which laid the groundwork for how to investigate offshore basins anywhere. The project included more than 60 research topics, many with industry partners. As the project developed, the decision was taken to make the findings available in atlases, with pictorial presentation of vast amounts of data.

The project produced two volumes titled Atlas of marine science: one on Sediments (1984) and the other on Geology and Geophysics (1987), and the Geological Atlas of the Beaufort-Mackenzie Area (1996). Of lasting value, these atlases are acclaimed for the discovery of widely applicable research methods, their environmental and hazards insights, and for providing a foundation for further thematic studies.

Category: Publications

Decade: 1980s

References

Pelletier, B.R. (ed.), 1984. Marine Science Atlas of the Beaufort Sea – Sediments / Atlas des sciences marines de la mer de Beaufort : sédiments; Geological Survey of Canada, Miscellaneous Report 38, 28 p. doi:10.4095/119999

Pelletier, B.R. (ed.), 1987. Marine Science Atlas of the Beaufort Sea - Geology and Geophysics / Atlas des sciences marines de la mer de Beaufort : géologie et géophysique; Geological Survey of Canada, Miscellaneous Report 40, 39 p. doi:10.4095/126940

Dixon, J., 1996. Geological Atlas of the Beaufort-Mackenzie Area / Atlas géologique de la région de Beaufort-Mackenzie; Geological Survey of Canada, Miscellaneous Report 59, 173 p. doi:10.4095/207658

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

131. Projet de la mer de Beaufort (1984)

Projet de la mer de Beaufort

Après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, l’exploration des hydrocarbures a mis à jour des indices de pétrole dans certains des bassins des zones frontières au large des côtes du Canada. Il en a résulté plusieurs champs pétroliers productifs au large de la côte de l’Atlantique.

Dans les années 1960, le besoin de comprendre la géologie des bassins extracôtiers pouvant contenir du pétrole devenant pressant, la Commission géologique du Canada a amorcé, en collaboration avec l’industrie, des recherches sur ces bassins. Ces études comprenaient, entre autres, la définition des cadres stratigraphiques basées sur les activités de forage et les études sismiques, des évaluations environnementales locales sur les risques liés aux glaces de mer, les éruptions potentielles et la protection de la faune.

À partir de 1974, des chercheurs de la Commission ont dirigé le projet de la mer de Beaufort, qui a jeté les bases sur la manière de faire de la recherche sur les bassins extracôtiers. Le projet englobait plus de 60 sujets de recherche, dont bon nombre étaient abordés avec des partenaires de l’industrie. Au cours du projet, il a été décidé de publier les résultats obtenus dans des atlas avec une présentation picturale de vastes quantités de données

L’Atlas des sciences marines de la mer de Beaufort : sédiments (1984), l’Atlas des sciences marines de la mer de Beaufort : géologie et géophysique (1987) ainsi que l’Atlas géologique de la région de Beaufort-Mackenzie (1996) ont été produits. Ayant une valeur durable, ces atlas sont réputés pour la découverte de méthodes de recherche largement applicables, pour leurs renseignements utiles sur l’environnement et les risques et pour avoir jeté les bases des nouvelles études thématiques.

Categorie : Publications

Décennie : Années 1980

Références

Pelletier, B.R. (éd.), 1984. Atlas des sciences marines de la mer de Beaufort : sédiments / Marine Science Atlas of the Beaufort Sea – Sediments; Commission géologique du Canada, Rapport divers 38, 28 p. doi:10.4095/119999

Pelletier, B.R. (éd.), 1987. Atlas des sciences marines de la mer de Beaufort : géologie et géophysique / Marine Science Atlas of the Beaufort Sea - Geology and Geophysics; Commission géologique du Canada, Rapport divers 40, 39 p. doi:10.4095/126940

Dixon, J., 1996. Atlas géologique de la région de Beaufort-Mackenzie / Geological Atlas of the Beaufort-Mackenzie Area; Commission géologique du Canada, Rapport divers 59, 173 p. doi:10.4095/207658

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :