134. Fossil Forests (1985)

Fossil Forests

Certain sites in the Canadian Arctic provide important clues to warmer climates in the past. Today, the High Arctic has short, cool summers and long, cold winters, with average annual temperature as low as -20°C. Sedimentary formations, ranging in age from 45 to 3 million years old, with their fossilized remains of lush, broad-leaved deciduous or evergreen coniferous forests conjure a different picture of the Arctic.

Foremost among the sites is the Napartulik fossil forest on Axel Heiberg Island. In 1985, Geological Survey of Canada geologist Brian Ricketts found and reported the stunningly well-preserved remains of an ancient forest. Subsequent studies revealed that it had flourished about 45 million years ago under warm and humid conditions, with short annual growing seasons and the alternating periods of continuous light and darkness associated with today’s Arctic.

Younger sedimentary strata in the High Arctic, including the Ballast Brook and Beaufort formations, contain remains of coniferous forests ranging from 15 to 5 million years old. As the position of the land relative to the North Pole has not changed significantly over the past 45 million years, the fossil forests are clear evidence that the Arctic’s climate has changed dramatically over time.

Category: Rocks, Fossils, Minerals and Meteorites

Decade: 1980s

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

134. Forêts fossiles (1985)

Forêts fossiles

Certains endroits de l'Arctique canadien fournissent des indices importants sur les climats plus chauds qui régnaient autrefois. Aujourd'hui, l'Extrême‑Arctique a des étés courts et frais et de longs hivers froids, la température annuelle moyenne se situant aussi bas que ‑20 °C. Des formations sédimentaires, ayant un âge allant de 45 à 3 millions d'années, contiennent des restes fossilisés de forêts luxuriantes de feuillus à larges feuilles ou de conifères à feuilles persistantes et évoquent une image différente de celle de l'Arctique.

La forêt fossile de Napartulik sur l'île Axel Heiberg est le plus important de ces sites. En 1985, Brian Ricketts, géologue de la Commission géologique du Canada, a trouvé et signalé les restes incroyablement préservés d'une ancienne forêt. Des études subséquentes ont révélé que la forêt s'était développée il y a environ 45 millions d'années dans des conditions de climat chaud et humide, avec de courtes saisons de croissance annuelle alternant avec et des périodes continues de lumière et d’obscurité comme celles qui existent dans l'Arctique d'aujourd'hui.

Les strates sédimentaires plus jeunes dans l'Extrême‑Arctique, incluant les formations de Ballast Brook et de Beaufort, contiennent des vestiges de forêts de conifères ayant de 15 et 5 millions d'années. Comme la position de la région par rapport au pôle Nord n'a pas beaucoup changé au cours des 45 derniers millions d'années, les forêts fossiles sont des preuves claires que le climat de l'Arctique a changé de manière remarquable au cours du temps.

Categorie : Roches, fossiles, minéraux et météorites

Décennie : Années 1980

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :