135. Massive Submarine Sulphide Deposits (1985)

Massive Submarine Sulphide Deposits 1

In the early 1980s, the Geological Survey of Canada began a program to assess the resource potential of the modern seafloor. This work was in support of Canadian claims of sovereignty over its offshore areas, with a particular focus on ongoing international boundary disputes with the United States. It led, in 1985, to the discovery by Survey scientists of an active hydrothermal system and massive base metal sulphide deposits in the Middle Valley area of the Juan de Fuca Ridge, about 300 kilometres off the shore of British Columbia.

This present-day hydrothermal system is similar to those that formed ancient base metal deposits in important mining districts such as Noranda in Quebec and Flin Flon in Manitoba. As a result, they provide a unique and rare opportunity to observe ore-forming processes in real time.

Massive Submarine Sulphide Deposits 2

Middle Valley became the focus of a Canadian-led research program involving deep-sea submersibles and other advanced technologies, and it culminated in a large-scale program with the International Ocean Drilling Program in 1991.

Category: Science Advances

References

Decade: 1980s

Davis, E.E., Goodfellow, W.D., Bornhold, B.D., Adshead, J., Blaise, B., Villinger, H., and Lecheminant, G.M., 1987. Massive Sulfides in a Sedimented Rift Valley, northern Juan De Fuca Ridge; Earth and Planetary Science Letters, v. 82, p. 49–61. doi:10.1016/0012-821X(87)90106-3

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

135. Gîtes de sulfures massifs sous-marins (1985)

Gites de sulfures massifs sous-marins 1

Au début des années 1980, la Commission géologique du Canada a amorcé un programme ayant pour but d’évaluer le potentiel en ressources du plancher océanique moderne. Ces travaux appuyaient les revendications de souveraineté du Canada sur ses zones extracôtières et mettaient tout particulièrement l’accent sur les litiges sur le tracé des frontières internationales alors en cours avec les États-Unis. Dans le cadre du programme, les chercheurs de la Commission ont découvert en 1985 un système hydrothermal actif ainsi que des gîtes de sulfures massifs à métaux communs dans la région de la vallée Middle de la dorsale Juan de Fuca, à environ 300 kilomètres au large des côtes de la Colombie-Britannique.

Ce système hydrothermal moderne est semblable à ceux qui ont formé d’anciens gîtes de métaux communs dans d’importants districts miniers comme Noranda, au Québec, et Flin Flon, au Manitoba. Ce système offrait ainsi l’occasion unique et rare d’observer les processus minéralisateurs en temps réel.

Gites de sulfures massifs sous-marins 2

La vallée Middle est devenue le centre d’un programme de recherche dirigé par le Canada ayant fait appel à des submersibles en eaux profondes et à d’autres technologies de pointe. Le programme a abouti en 1991 à un projet à grande échelle du Programme international de forages des fonds marins.

Categorie : Progrès scientifiques

Décennie : Années 1980

Référence

Davis, E.E., Goodfellow, W.D., Bornhold, B.D., Adshead, J., Blaise, B., Villinger, H. et Lecheminant, G.M., 1987. Massive Sulfides in a Sedimented Rift Valley, northern Juan De Fuca Ridge; Earth and Planetary Science Letters, v. 82, p. 49–61. doi:10.1016/0012-821X(87)90106-3

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :