136. Turbidity Currents (1986)

Turbidity Currents 1
Turbidity Currents 2

Turbidity currents, sometimes triggered by underwater landslides, are destructive avalanche-like flows that carve deep channels in the seafloor – think of a snow avalanche powerful enough to run up the base of a slope in a mountain valley. These events are hazardous to seafloor infrastructure, and the landslides, in some cases, have generated tsunamis. Canada’s west coast has many turbidite channel systems, but they are difficult to study and poorly understood.

In 1986, the Geological Survey of Canada deployed instruments in British Columbia’s Bute Inlet to measure past turbidity current events. Some were found to be thicker than 30 metres and travelled 26 kilometres underwater on slopes less than 1°.

In 2012, the Survey, in collaboration with Ocean Networks Canada, installed a cabled observatory on the Fraser Delta to observe turbidity currents, as they occur, to better understand these events. The observatory has successfully detected events every spring since it was installed – but not without a few close calls. In 2012 a powerful turbidity current rolled the 1000-kilogram observatory down the delta front. The platform continued taking measurements, and the data provide a valuable insight to the natural behaviour of turbidity currents.

Category: Science Advances

Decade: 1980s

References

Prior, D.B., Bornhold, B.D., Wiseman, W.J., and Lowe, D.R., 1987. Turbidity current activity in a British Columbia fjord; Science, v. 237, p. 1330–1333. doi:10.1126/science.237.4820.1330

Lintern, D.G., Hill, P.R., and Stacey, C.D., 2016. Powerful unconfined turbidity current captured by cabled observatory on the Fraser delta slope, British Columbia, Canada; Sedimentology, v. 63, p. 1041–1064. doi:10.1111/sed.12262

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

136. Courants de turbidité (1986)

Courants de turbidité 1
Courants de turbidité 2

Les courants de turbidité, parfois engendrés par des glissements de terrain sous-marins, sont des courants destructeurs, semblables à une avalanche, qui creusent des chenaux profonds dans le plancher océanique – comme une avalanche assez puissante pour dévaler une pente dans une vallée montagneuse. Ces événements mettent en péril les infrastructures du plancher océanique et ont, dans certains cas, engendré des tsunamis. La côte ouest du Canada compte de nombreux réseaux de chenaux de turbidites, mais ils sont difficiles à étudier et mal compris.

En 1986, la Commission géologique du Canada a déployé des appareils dans la baie Bute, en Colombie-Britannique, pour mesurer les courants de turbidité qui se sont produits par le passé. Certains ont laissé des dépôts ayant une épaisseur de plus de 30 mètres et ont parcouru 26 kilomètres sous l’eau sur des pentes de moins de 1 degré.

En 2012, la Commission, en collaboration avec Ocean Networks Canada, a aménagé un observatoire amarré sur le delta du Fraser pour observer les courants de turbidité, à mesure qu’ils se produisent, pour mieux comprendre ces événements. Depuis qu’il est en place l’observatoire a pu détecter des événements chaque printemps – certains de justesse. En 2012, un puissant courant de turbidité a fait rouler l’observatoire de 1 000 kilogrammes en aval du delta. La plateforme a continué de prendre des mesures, et les données obtenues offrent un précieux aperçu du comportement naturel des courants de turbidité.

Categorie : Progrès scientifiques

Décennie : Années 1980

Références

Prior, D.B., Bornhold, B.D., Wiseman, W.J. et Lowe, D.R., 1987. Turbidity current activity in a British Columbia fjord; Science, v. 237, p. 1330–1333. doi:10.1126/science.237.4820.1330

Lintern, D.G., Hill, P.R. et Stacey, C.D., 2016. Powerful unconfined turbidity current captured by cabled observatory on the Fraser delta slope, British Columbia, Canada; Sedimentology, v. 63, p. 1041–1064. doi:10.1111/sed.12262

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :