138. Montagnais Impact Structure (1987)

Montagnais Impact Structure 1
Montagnais Impact Structure 2

By the mid-1970s, oil and gas exploration by industry had revealed a thick succession of strata on the continental margin off Nova Scotia. The Geological Survey of Canada’s Atlantic office in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, was charged with investigating the broad history of these strata. 

During the investigation, a circular subsurface structure on the southwestern Scotian margin was discovered. Thinking that it could be a possible trap for oil or gas, Union Oil drilled an exploration well, Montagnais I-94, in 1974. The well proved dry, but it cut through over 500 metres of broken and once-melted rock. Considered at first to be of volcanic origin, further research suggested that the Montagnais structure originated from an extraterrestrial impact. 

This has since been confirmed, making Montagnais the first-recognized impact structure formed from a meteorite striking the seafloor. Fossil evidence shows that the impact occurred some 50 million years ago. More recently, a huge underwater landslide associated with the Montagnais structure has been recognized, and the deposit from it is one of the largest-known of its kind.

Category: Science Advances

Decade: 1980s

References

Jansa, L.F. and Pe-Piper, G., 1987. Identification of an underwater extraterrestrial impact crater; Nature, v. 327, p. 612–614. doi:10.1038/327612a0

Deptuck, M. and Campbell, D.C., 2012. Widespread erosion and mass failure from the ~51 Ma Montagnais marine bolide impact off southwestern Nova Scotia, Canada; Canadian Journal of Earth Sciences, v. 49, p. 1567–1594. doi:10.1139/e2012-075

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

138. Structure d’impact de Montagnais (1987)

Structure d’impact de Montagnais 1
Structure d’impact de Montagnais 2

Au milieu des années 1970, les activités d’exploration pétrolière et gazière de l’industrie ont révélé une épaisse succession de strates sur la marge continentale au large de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Le bureau de l’Atlantique de la Commission géologique du Canada à Dartmouth, en Nouvelle-Écosse, a été chargé d’étudier l’histoire de ces strates.

Au cours des recherches, une structure circulaire souterraine a été découverte sur la marge sud-ouest du bassin Scotian. Croyant qu’il pouvait s’agir d’un possible piège pour le pétrole ou le gaz, l’Union Oil a foré, en 1994, un puits d’exploration, Montagnais I-94. Le puits s’est avéré sec, mais il a traversé plus de 500 mètres de roche fragmentée qui avait été en fusion. On a d’abord prêté à la structure une origine volcanique, puis des recherches ont indiqué que la structure de Montagnais pouvait provenir de l’impact d’un corps extraterrestre.

Cette hypothèse a depuis été confirmée, ce qui a fait de Montagnais la première structure d’impact reconnue formée par un météorite percutant le plancher océanique. Des fossiles indiquent que l’impact est survenu il y a quelque 50 millions d’années. Plus récemment, un gigantesque glissement de terrain sous-marin associé à la structure de Montagnais a été découvert, et le dépôt qui en a résulté est le plus vaste connu de ce type.

Categorie : Progrès scientifiques

Décennie : Années 1980

Références

Jansa, L.F. et Pe-Piper, G., 1987. Identification of an underwater extraterrestrial impact crater; Nature, v. 327, p. 612–614. doi:10.1038/327612a0

Deptuck, M. et Campbell, D.C., 2012. Widespread erosion and mass failure from the ~51 Ma Montagnais marine bolide impact off southwestern Nova Scotia, Canada; Canadian Journal of Earth Sciences, v. 49, p. 1567–1594. doi:10.1139/e2012-075

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :