140. East Coast Basin Atlases (1989)

East Coast Basin Atlases 1
East Coast Basin Atlases 2

Throughout the 1970s and 1980s, the study of the sedimentary basins off the east coast of Canada was a priority for Geological Survey of Canada researchers working at the Bedford Institute of Oceanography in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia. Industry, academia, and other government departments expressed a need for a current overview of the collected data and interpretation of these basins, and the Survey responded by developing the East Coast Basin Atlas Series.

The atlases in this series integrated seismic reflection and refraction data with aeromagnetic surveys and conventional seismic and well data. Content, in the form of maps, cross-sections, charts, and illustrations, defined the regional structure, stratigraphy, and geochemistry of the sedimentary basins.

The Labrador Sea Basin Atlas was published in 1989, followed by the Scotian Shelf Basin Atlas in 1991. When digital media became a preference, the Survey made the map sheets for the Grand Banks of Newfoundland Basin Atlas available by download. Data associated with the interpreted content are also available from the online BASIN database. The atlases are a comprehensive resource for those working in the area or are planning further investigations. The series remains the only compilation of its type.

Category: Publications

Decade: 1980s

References

Bell, J.S., 1989. Labrador Sea / Mer du Labrador; Geological Survey of Canada, East Coast Basin Atlas Series 1989, 135 p. doi:10.4095/127152

Ross, D.I., Lewis, C.F.M., Howie, R.D., Cant, D. and Bates, J.L. (éd.), 1991. Scotian Shelf / Plate-forme néo-écossaise; Geological Survey of Canada, East Coast Basin Atlas Series 1991, 152 p. doi:10.4095/210520

BASIN database. http://Basin.gdr.nrcan.gc.ca

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

140. Atlas des bassins de la côte Est (1989)

Atlas des bassins de la côte Est 1
Atlas des bassins de la côte Est 2

Au cours des années 1970 et 1980, l’étude des bassins sédimentaires au large de la côte est du Canada était une priorité pour les chercheurs de la Commission géologique du Canada qui travaillaient à l’Institut océanographique de Bedford, à Dartmouth, en Nouvelle-Écosse. L’industrie, le milieu universitaire et d’autres ministères gouvernementaux ont exprimé le besoin d’avoir une vue d’ensemble actuelle des données recueillies et une interprétation de ces bassins. La Commission a répondu en préparant la Série des atlas des bassins de la côte est.

Les atlas de cette série intégraient les données de sismique-réflexion et de sismique-réfraction avec les données aéromagnétiques et les données sismiques et de forages conventionnelles. Ils définissaient la structure, la stratigraphie et la géochimie des bassins sédimentaires sous forme de cartes, de coupes transversales, de graphiques et d’illustrations.

L’atlas Mer du Labrador a été publié en 1989, suivi de l’atlas Plate-forme Néo-Écossaise en 1991. Lorsque les supports numériques sont devenus les supports préférés, la Commission a rendu les feuillets cartographiques du Grand Banks of Newfoundland Basin Atlas disponibles par téléchargement. Les données associées au contenu interprété sont aussi disponibles à partir de la base de données en ligne BASIN. Les atlas sont une ressource exhaustive pour ceux qui travaillent dans la région ou qui y prévoient d’autres études. La série demeure la seule compilation de ce type.

Categorie : Publications

Décennie : Années 1980

Références

Bell, J.S., 1989. Labrador Sea / Mer du Labrador; Geological Survey of Canada, East Coast Basin Atlas Series 1989, 135 p. doi:10.4095/127152

Ross, D.I., Lewis, C.F.M., Howie, R.D., Cant, D. et Bates, J.L. (éd.), 1991. Scotian Shelf / Plate-forme néo-écossaise; Geological Survey of Canada, East Coast Basin Atlas Series 1991, 152 p. doi:10.4095/210520

BASIN database. http://Basin.gdr.nrcan.gc.ca

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :