142. NATMAP (1991)

NATMAP 1

The National Geoscience Mapping Program (NATMAP) was launched in 1991 to address growing gaps in systematic geological map coverage in Canada. This deficiency, in what many regarded as the fundamental role of a national geological survey, had resulted from declining budgets and increasing demands for specialized geoscience. At the same time, the capacity of provincial and territorial geological surveys had increased, raising concerns about overlap and duplication. 

NATMAP was a new way of doing business. It involved little new funding, relying instead on collaboration among federal, provincial and territorial surveys, academia, and industry. Projects were proposal-driven, peer-reviewed, and jointly funded, managed, and delivered by at least two jurisdictions. 

NATMAP Projects ranged from the surficial geology of the Oak Ridges Moraine - crucial to understanding groundwater supplies in the Greater Toronto area, to the geological framework of the mineral-rich Slave Province in the Northwest Territories, to the evolution of oil and gas in the Magdalen Basin in Atlantic Canada. 

NATMAP 2

NATMAP came to a successful conclusion in 2003, its 13 projects having produced an estimated 750 new geological maps and 2250 reports.

Category: Government

Decade: 1990s

References

Robertson, B., 2010. NATMAP – Canada’s National Geoscience Mapping Program: 1991–2003; Geoscience Canada, v. 37, no. 3, p. 117-126. https://journals.lib.unb.ca/index.php/GC/article/view/18398/19867

St-Onge, M.R. (ed.), 1990. NATMAP: Canada’s national geoscience mapping program: Report of a workshop held March 8-10, 1990 / PNCGC Programme National de cartographie géoscientifique du Canada : rapport d'un atelier ayant eu lieu du 8 au 10 mars 1990; Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 2256, 181 p. doi:10.4095/130910

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

142. CARTNAT (1991)

CARTNAT 1

Le Programme national de cartographie géoscientifique (CARTNAT) a été lancé en 1991 afin de combler les lacunes grandissantes dans la couverture systématique des cartes géologiques au Canada. Cette déficience, dans ce que bon nombre considéraient être le rôle fondamental d’une commission géologique nationale, était attribuable à des compressions budgétaires et à une augmentation des demandes en géosciences spécialisées. Parallèlement, la capacité des commissions géologiques provinciales et territoriales s’était accrue, ce qui soulevait des préoccupations en ce qui a trait aux chevauchements et aux dédoublements. 

CARTNAT constituait une nouvelle façon de faire. Il nécessitait peu de nouveaux fonds, faisant plutôt appel à la collaboration entre les commissions fédérale, provinciales et territoriales, le milieu universitaire et l’industrie. Les projets étaient basés sur des propositions et évalués par des pairs, et ils étaient financés, gérés et réalisés de façon concertée par au moins deux juridictions. 

Les projets CARTNAT allaient de la géologie de surface de la moraine d’Oak Ridges – essentielle pour comprendre les approvisionnements en eau souterraine de la région du Grand Toronto – au contexte géologique de la province des Esclaves (Territoires du Nord-Ouest), riche en minéraux, à l’évolution des ressources pétrolières et gazières dans le bassin de la Madeleine, dans le Canada atlantique. 

CARTNAT 2

CARTNAT s’est conclu sur une note positive en 2003, ses 13 projets ayant produit environ 750 nouvelles cartes géologiques et 2 250 rapports.

Categorie : Gouvernement

Décennie : Années 1990

Références

Robertson, B., 2010. NATMAP – Canada’s National Geoscience Mapping Program: 1991–2003; Geoscience Canada, v. 37, no. 3, p. 117-126. https://journals.lib.unb.ca/index.php/GC/article/view/18398/19867

St-Onge, M.R. (éd.), 1990. NATMAP: PNCGC Programme National de cartographie géoscientifique du Canada : rapport d'un atelier ayant eu lieu du 8 au 10 mars 1990 / Canada’s national geoscience mapping program: Report of a workshop held March 8-10, 1990; Commisssion géologique du Canada, Dossier public 2256, 181 p. doi:10.4095/130910

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :