146. Commemorative Cairn (1992)

Commemorative Cairn 1
Commemorative Cairn 2

In 1992, a stone cairn was erected in front of the Geological Survey of Canada’s Calgary office to commemorate both the 25th anniversary of the Institute of Sedimentary and Petroleum Geology (now the Geological Survey of Canada-Calgary) and the Survey’s 150th anniversary.

Stonemason Lawrence Spencer constructed the cairn. It is mounted on a specially designed pedestal that contains a time capsule to be opened in 2017 – the 50th anniversary of the Calgary office and the Survey’s 175th

Staff contributed some of their favourite specimens for the front face of the cairn. Its three other sides contain samples representing the geology underlying southern Alberta and southeastern British Columbia, with some specimens from elsewhere within western and northern Canada. The rocks have been placed in approximate stratigraphic order, from Precambrian at the base to early Tertiary at the top.

The cairn’s plaque bears the inscription: “These rock, fossil and mineral samples from Western and Northern Canada were collected by staff of the Institute of Sedimentary and Petroleum Geology over the past 25 years (1967-1992)”

Category: Government

Decade: 1990s

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

146. Cairn commémoratif (1992)

Cairn commémoratif 1
Cairn commémoratif 2

En 1992, un cairn de pierre a été érigé devant le bureau de la Commission géologique du Canada à Calgary afin de commémorer le 25e anniversaire de l’Institut de géologie sédimentaire et pétrolière (maintenant Commission géologique du Canada-Calgary) ainsi que le 150e anniversaire de la Commission.

C’est le maçon Lawrence Spencer qui a construit le cairn. L’ouvrage est érigé sur un piédestal spécialement conçu renfermant une capsule témoin qui doit être ouverte en 2017 – pour le 50e anniversaire du bureau de Calgary et le 175e anniversaire de la Commission.

Des membres du personnel ont fourni certains de leurs spécimens favoris pour la face frontale du cairn. Les échantillons des trois autres côtés sont représentatifs de la géologie du sud de l’Alberta et du sud-est de la Colombie-Britannique, et certains spécimens proviennent d’ailleurs de l’ouest et du nord du Canada. Les roches ont été approximativement placées dans un ordre stratigraphique, allant du Précambrien, à la base, jusqu’au Tertiaire précoce, au sommet.

La plaque du cairn porte l’inscription suivante : « Ces roches, ces fossiles et ces échantillons minéraux de l’ouest et du nord du Canada ont été recueillis par le personnel de l’Institut de géologie sédimentaire et pétrolière au cours des 25 dernières années (1967-1992). »

Categorie : Gouvernement

Décennie : Années 1990

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :