147. Mount Edziza (1992)

Mount Edziza 1
Mount Edziza 2

Mount Edziza Provincial Park in north-central British Columbia is a magnificent, unspoiled wilderness. It is also a geological wonder, containing a superb record of volcanic rocks that are, geologically speaking, young – ranging from only 2000 years to 7.5 million years old.

The park has an array of well-exposed basaltic shields, composite volcanoes, domes, and small calderas that have been glacially modified into an assemblage of sub-glacial and sub-aerial volcanic landforms. In other words, it was a geological puzzle in need of highly trained eyes to be pieced together. Geological Survey of Canada volcanologist Jack Souther provided those eyes, and the result was his acclaimed report The Late Cenozoic Mount Edziza Volcanic Complex, British Columbia.

Through years of dedicated fieldwork in this remote locale, Souther unravelled its complex geology. He defined the sequence of events that had occurred, including five phases of eruptions, by recognizing and mapping individual volcanic flows, their age, position in space, and relationships to each other, and by determining precisely how individual events/flows were related to particular features. Souther brought order to apparent chaos.

Category: Science Advances

Decade: 1990s

References

Souther, J.G., 1992. The Late Cenozoic Mount Edziza Volcanic Complex, British Columbia; Geological Survey of Canada, Memoir 420, 320 p. doi:10.4095/133497

Volcano Discovery. http://www.volcanodiscovery.com/edziza.html

Mount Edziza Provincial Park. http://www.env.gov.bc.ca/bcparks/explore/parkpgs/mt_edziza/

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

147. Mont Edziza (1992)

Mont Edziza 1
Mont Edziza 2

Le parc provincial du Mont-Edziza, dans le centre-nord de la Colombie-Britannique, est un magnifique territoire naturel intact. Il s’agit aussi d’une merveille géologique, renfermant une superbe panoplie de roches volcaniques qui sont jeunes, géologiquement parlant, leur âge allant de seulement 2 000 ans à 7,5 millions d’années.

Le parc compte un éventail de boucliers basaltiques bien exposés, de stratovolcans, de dômes et de petites caldeiras qui ont été modifiés sous l’effet des glaciers en un assemblage de reliefs volcaniques sous-glaciaires et subaériens. Autrement dit, il s’agissait d’un casse-tête géologique que seuls des yeux exercés pouvaient résoudre. Les yeux du volcanologue Jack Souther, de la Commission géologique du Canada, ont relevé le défi, avec pour résultats son excellent rapport intitulé The Late Cenozoic Mount Edziza Volcanic Complex, British Columbia.

Durant des années de travail acharné sur le terrain dans cette région éloignée, Souther en a décrypté la géologie complexe. Il a défini la séquence des événements qui sont survenus, dont cinq phases d’éruptions, en reconnaissant et en cartographiant chaque coulée volcanique, son âge, sa position dans l’espace et ses liens avec les autres coulées, et en déterminant précisément comment chaque événement et chaque coulée avaient des caractéristiques particulières. Souther a mis de l’ordre dans cet apparent chaos.

Categorie : Progrès scientifiques

Décennie : Années 1990

Références

Souther, J.G., 1992. The Late Cenozoic Mount Edziza Volcanic Complex, British Columbia; Geological Survey of Canada, Memoir 420, 320 p. doi:10.4095/133497

Volcano Discovery. http://www.volcanodiscovery.com/edziza.html

Mount Edziza Provincial Park. http://www.env.gov.bc.ca/bcparks/explore/parkpgs/mt_edziza/

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :