150. "No Stone Unturned" (1992)

No Stone Unturned

The 150th anniversary of the Geological Survey of Canada in 1992 was a major celebration that spawned many events and projects across the country. One that made a big impact was a popular history authored by the Survey’s Communications Officer Christy Vodden.

No Stone Unturned, The First 150 Years of the Geological Survey of Canada chronicles the Survey’s many contributions to the exploration and development of the emerging Canadian nation, as well as its own evolution into one of the world’s leading scientific agencies.

Sixty thousand copies of the book were published. Most were distributed to the public – it was the main handout for a special anniversary display Earthly Riddles that toured the country throughout 1992. Copies were given to every member of the Survey’s staff, were sent to all Canadian libraries, and were widely distributed to the Survey’s working partners in industry, government, and academia in Canada and abroad.

Category: Publications

Decade: 1990s

Reference:

Vodden, C., 1992. No Stone Unturned: The First 150 Years of the Geological Survey of Canada; Minister of Supply and Services, Ottawa. http://www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/webarchives/20071212202439/http://gsc.nrcan.gc.ca/hist/150_e.php

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

150. « Pierre par pierre » (1992)

Pierre par pierre

Le 150e anniversaire de la Commission géologique du Canada en 1992 a été une grande célébration qui a donné lieu à de nombreux événements et projets partout au pays. La populaire histoire rédigée par Christy Vodden, directrice des communications de la Commission, est l’un des projets qui a eu un grand impact.

Pierre par pierre : Les 150 premières années de la Commission géologique du Canada relate les nombreuses contributions de la Commission dans l’exploration et le développement de la nation canadienne émergente ainsi que sa propre évolution qui l’a menée à devenir l’un des principaux organismes scientifiques au monde.

Soixante mille copies de l’ouvrage ont été publiées. La plupart ont été distribuées au public – il s’agissait du principal document remis au public dans le cadre d’une exposition spéciale d’anniversaire, Terre et mystères, qui a été présentée partout au pays en 1992. Des copies ont été remises à chaque membre du personnel de la Commission, envoyées à toutes les bibliothèques canadiennes et distribuées largement aux partenaires de la Commission actifs dans l’industrie, le gouvernement et le milieu universitaire au Canada et à l’étranger.

Categorie : Publications

Décennie : Années 1990

Référence

Vodden, C., 1992. Pierre à pierre: Les 150 premières années de la Commission géologique du Canada; Approvisionnements et Services, Ottawa. http://www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/webarchives/20071211025739/http://gsc.nrcan.gc.ca/hist/150_f.php

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :