152. Tsunami Deposits (1994)

Tsunami Deposits

The world’s largest earthquakes occur around the Pacific Ocean’s Ring of Fire where expanding ocean plates are forced below the surrounding and more substantial continents. The exception is the oceanic Juan de Fuca plate, which is moving up to 5 cm per year under North America’s west coast, but has not experienced any great earthquakes in historic time.

In the late 1980s, geologists recognized that there had been great earthquakes along the US coast before records had been kept. Understanding the regional seismic risk and the recurrence rate for such damaging earthquakes became a priority. 

In 1994, Geological Survey of Canada geologists John Clague and Peter Bobrowsky published key evidence of a great earthquake that had occurred within the past 400 years. They had found a thick sand sheet buried under half a meter of marsh accumulation, and it could only have been deposited by a great tsunami. The other piece of the puzzle was found across the ocean. Meticulous Japanese harbour records revealed that an “orphan tsunami” (a tsunami with no associated earthquake) had hit Japan on January 26, 1700. This could only have been caused by North America’s most recent megathrust earthquake, and gave it a precise date.

Category: Science Advances

Decade: 1990s

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

152. Dépôts de tsunami (1994)

Dépôts de tsunami

Les plus importants séismes dans le monde surviennent autour de la ceinture de feu du Pacifique, où les plaques océaniques en expansion s’enfoncent sous les imposants continents avoisinants. La seule exception est la plaque océanique Juan de Fuca, qui s’enfonce jusqu’à 5 cm par année sous la côte ouest de l’Amérique du Nord, mais qui n’a historiquement pas connu de séisme important.

À la fin des années 1980, les géologues ont reconnu que des séismes violents étaient survenus le long de la côte des États-Unis avant que de tels événements ne soient enregistrés. Dès lors, il est devenu prioritaire de déterminer le risque sismique régional et le taux de récurrence de ces séismes dévastateurs.

En 1994, les géologues John Clague et Peter Bobrowsky, de la Commission géologique du Canada, ont publié des preuves déterminantes qu’un grand séisme était survenu au cours des derniers 400 ans. Ils avaient découvert une épaisse couche de sable enfouie sous une accumulation d’un demi-mètre de marais, cette couche n’ayant pu être déposée que par un grand tsunami. L’autre pièce du casse-tête a été trouvée de l’autre côté de l’océan. De méticuleux registres portuaires japonais ont révélé qu’un « tsunami orphelin » (un tsunami qui n’est associé à aucun séisme) avait frappé le Japon le 26 janvier 1700. Ce tsunami n’avait pu être causé que par le plus récent méga-séisme de l’Amérique du Nord, ce qui a permis de lui attribuer une date précise.

Categorie : Progrès scientifiques

Décennie : Années 1990

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :