154. St-Robert Meteorite (1994)

St-Robert Meteorite 1

No new meteorites had been identified in Canada for over a decade, but that changed dramatically on June 14, 1994. At about 8:00 p.m. EST, a fireball visible over Quebec, Ontario, and the adjacent US states, was followed by a sonic boom. This signalled the explosion of a meteor and subsequent fall of meteorite fragments northeast of Montreal.

Within minutes of the impact, Stephane Forcier found the first fragment on his family’s farm in St-Robert. He had noticed the cows standing in a circle looking at a small hole. Reaching into it, he lifted out what he thought was a 2.3 kilogram rock. The following day the curator of the Geological Survey of Canada’s National Meteorite Collection Richard Herd confirmed that it was a stony meteorite and acquired it for the collection. During the following months, about 25 kilograms of meteorite fragments were recovered, with the largest weighing 6.5 kilograms.

The St-Robert meteorite, only the 12th recorded fall in Canada since 1877, was of exceptional scientific interest because the fragments were recovered so quickly after impact. This allowed the Survey to immediately organize time-critical measurements of short-lived isotopes that can reveal information about the source and history of the meteorite.

St-Robert Meteorite 2

Category: Rocks, Fossils, Minerals and Meteorites

Decade: 1990s

References:

http://www.lpi.usra.edu/meteor/

Herd, R.K. and Herd, C.D.K., 2015. RASC Observer’s Handbook 2015; Royal Astronomical Society of Canada.

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

154. Météorite de Saint-Robert (1994)

Météorite de Saint-Robert 1

Aucune nouvelle météorite n’avait été identifiée au Canada depuis plus d’une décennie, mais cette situation allait radicalement changer le 14 juin 1994. À environ 20 h HNE, une boule de feu visible dans le ciel du Québec, de l’Ontario et des régions adjacentes des États-Unis a été suivie d’un bang sonique. Cela signalait l’explosion d’un météore et la chute subséquente de fragments de météorite au nord-est de Montréal.

Quelques minutes après l’impact, Stéphane Forcier a trouvé le premier fragment sur sa ferme familiale à Saint-Robert. Il avait remarqué que ses vaches étaient disposées en cercle et fixaient un petit trou dans le sol. Il a examiné le trou de plus près et en a retiré ce qu’il croyait être une roche de 2,3 kilogrammes. Le lendemain, le curateur de la Collection nationale de météorites de la Commission géologique du Canada, Richard Herd, a confirmé qu’il s’agissait d’une météorite pierreuse et l’a acquise pour la collection. Au cours des mois suivants, environ 25 kilogrammes de fragments de météorite ont été récupérés, le plus gros pesant 6,5 kilogrammes.

La météorite de Saint-Robert, seulement la 12e chute enregistrée au Canada depuis 1877, présentait un intérêt scientifique exceptionnel en raison du fait que les fragments ont été récupérés très rapidement après l’impact. Cela a permis à la Commission de procéder immédiatement à des mesures des isotopes de vie courte, qui peuvent révéler des renseignements sur la source et l’histoire de la météorite.

Météorite de Saint-Robert 2

Categorie : Roches, fossiles, minéraux et météorites

Décennie : Années 1990

Références

http://www.lpi.usra.edu/meteor/

Herd, R.K. and Herd, C.D.K., 2015. RASC Observer’s Handbook 2015; Royal Astronomical Society of Canada.

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :