155. Decade of North American Geology (1995)

Decade of North American Geology

A short paragraph appearing in the 1983-1984 Earth Sciences Sector Annual Report was the first public notice that the Geological Survey of Canada had embarked upon an ambitious joint-publishing initiative with the Geological Society of America, which was celebrating its 100th anniversary in 1988 with the release of 27 geological volumes under the banner of the Decade of North American Geology (DNAG), 1988-1998.

The Survey’s contribution to the project was to provide a synthesis of Canadian geology that would serve as a benchmark of research up to that point in time. The production of the nine DNAG volumes that were to make up the Geology of Canada series was a monumental undertaking that required much planning, reordering of work priorities, and diversion of staff.

This cooperative effort by over 1000 individuals from government, academia, and industry was proclaimed to be “a quantum leap in our collective knowledge about the North American continent.” Geology of Canadian Mineral Deposit Types, the final DNAG volume released in 1995, went on to become one of the GSC’s all-time best sellers. Sadly, owing in part to budget constraints, the series’ ninth and most eagerly awaited summary volume was never produced.

Category: Publications

Decade: 1990s

References

Price, R.A., 1984. Earth Sciences Sector. Annual Report: 1983-1984; Energy, Mines and Resources Canada, Ottawa.

Geological Survey of Canada, 1988. Annual report: 1987-1988; Geological Survey of Canada.

Miall, A.D. (ed.), 2008. The sedimentary basins of the United States and Canada; in Sedimentary Basins of the World 5, Elsevier, p. 1–610.

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

155. Decade of North American Geology (1995)

Decade of North American Geology

C’est dans un court paragraphe figurant dans le rapport annuel du Secteur des sciences de la Terre de 1983-1984 qu’a été annoncé publiquement pour la première fois que la Commission géologique du Canada participait à une ambitieuse initiative de coédition avec la Geological Society of America. Cette dernière allait célébrer son 100e anniversaire en publiant 27 volumes géologiques sous la bannière Decade of North American Geology (DNAG), 1988-1998.

La Commission a contribué au projet en préparant une synthèse de la géologie canadienne qui allait servir de repère des recherches menées jusqu’à ce moment-là. La production des neuf volumes de DNAG qui devaient composer la série de la géologie du Canada était une tâche colossale qui a nécessité beaucoup de planification, une réorganisation des priorités de travail et une réorientation du personnel.

Cette initiative concertée, à laquelle ont participé plus de 1 000 membres du gouvernement, du milieu universitaire et de l’industrie, a été décrite comme « un saut phénoménal dans notre savoir collectif au sujet du continent nord-américain ». Géologie des types de gîtes minéraux du Canada, le dernier volume de DNAG, a été publié en 1995 et allait devenir l’un des meilleurs vendeurs de la CGC. Malheureusement, en raison notamment de contraintes budgétaires, le neuvième volume de la série, qui devait être le volume de synthèse et qui était le plus attendu, n’a jamais été produit.

Categorie : Publications

Décennie : Années 1990

Références

Price, R.A., 1984. Earth Sciences Sector. Annual Report: 1983-1984; Energy, Mines and Resources Canada, Ottawa.

Geological Survey of Canada, 1988. Annual report: 1987-1988; Geological Survey of Canada.

Miall, A.D. (ed.), 2008. The sedimentary basins of the United States and Canada; in Sedimentary Basins of the World 5, Elsevier, p. 1–610.

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :