156. SHRIMP (1995)

SHRIMP

In 1995, a Sensitive High Resolution Ion MicroProbe (SHRIMP) was installed at the Geological Survey of Canada’s Ottawa headquarters to advance geochronological investigations of the Canadian landmass and its resources. A unique instrument in Canada, it is one of only 15 worldwide. The SHRIMP is designed for in situ isotopic and chemical analysis by the bombardment of samples with a beam of ions.

SHRIMP significantly advanced geochronological research in two ways. First, it was a non-destructive method capable of analysing a large number of samples in a relatively short amount of time, providing efficient acquisition of large datasets. Second, in situ, high spatial resolution analysis improved the accuracy of age interpretations by directly linking age data to other mineralogical and petrological characteristics of a sample.

SHRIMP has contributed to many diverse projects over the years, including dating the Acasta Gneiss (the oldest rock in the world), tracing the source of lead in walrus teeth, and dating the formation of various mineral deposits.

The laboratory is named in memory of J.C. Roddick, the Survey research scientist who spearheaded the acquisition of SHRIMP, and who tragically died in a skiing accident just prior to the opening of the facility.

Category: Equipment and Instrumentation

Decade: 1990s

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

156. SHRIMP (1995)

SHRIMP

En 1995, une microsonde ionique à haute résolution et à haut niveau de sensibilité (« Sensitive High Resolution Ion MicroProbe », SHRIMP) a été installée dans le siège social de la Commission géologique du Canada à Ottawa afin de faire progresser les études géochronologiques de la masse continentale canadienne et de ses ressources. L’appareil est unique au Canada, et on n’en compte que 15 dans le monde. La microsonde SHRIMP est conçue pour des analyses isotopiques et chimiques in situ par le bombardement d’échantillons avec un faisceau d’ions.

La microsonde SHRIMP a grandement fait progresser les recherches géochronologiques de deux façons. D’abord, il s’agissait d’une méthode non destructive permettant d’analyser un grand nombre d’échantillons dans un délai relativement court et d’acquérir de façon efficiente de grands ensembles de données. Ensuite, l’analyse à haute résolution spatiale in situ a amélioré l’exactitude des interprétations de l’âge en associant les données sur l’âge à d’autres caractéristiques minéralogiques et pétrologiques d’un échantillon.

La microsonde SHRIMP a contribué à de nombreux différents projets au fil des ans, notamment la datation du Gneiss d’Acasta (la plus vieille roche au monde), l’identification de la source du plomb dans des dents de morse et la datation de la formation de différents gîtes minéraux.

Le laboratoire est nommé à la mémoire de J. C. Roddick, le chercheur de la Commission qui a dirigé l’acquisition de la microsonde SHRIMP et qui est tragiquement décédé dans un accident de ski juste avant l’ouverture de l’installation.

Categorie : Équipement et appareils

Décennie : Années 1990

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :