160. Geoscape Posters (1996)

Geoscape Posters

In 1996, the Geological Survey of Canada published Geoscape Vancouver: Living with our Geological Landscape. It was the brainchild of two geologists in the Survey’s Vancouver office, Bob Turner and John Clague, who were passionate about bringing geological information to the public and improving national geoliteracy. Geoscape Vancouver proved so successful that it spawned a series of posters covering 14 other metropolitan centres and regions across Canada. A national Geoscape poster rounded out the series.

The goal of the Geoscape project was to provide Canadians with better access to geological information relevant to where they lived through attractive, image-rich posters. Local teams of geoscientists and educators pulled the information together, ensuring that the science was accurate and that the information provided met educational needs.

The full-colour posters were free to download, and teachers could order print copies from Survey offices at no charge. Each of the Geoscape posters has an extensive suite of online educational materials. Teachers love the concept, and Geoscape products are still in use in classrooms across Canada. The Canadian Geoscience Education Network was so impressed with the Geoscape series that it has the entire series posted on its website: http://www.cgenarchive.org/geoscape.html

Category: Publications

Decade: 1990s

Reference

Turner, R.J.W., Clague, J.J., Vodden, C., Wynne, J., and Franklin, R., 2002. The Geoscape Canada Project: Raising Public Geoliteracy across Canada; Geological Association of Canada and Mineralogical Association of Canada Joint Annual Meeting, 27-29 May 2002, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Programme and Abstracts. http://gac.esd.mun.ca/gac_2002/search_abs/program.htm

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

160. Affiches Géopanorama (1996)

Affiches Géopanorama

En 1996, la Commission géologique du Canada a publié l’affiche Geoscape Vancouver: Living with Our Geological Landscape (Géopanorama de Vancouver : comprendre les processus géologiques). L’affiche a été créée par deux géologues du bureau de la Commission à Vancouver, Bob Turner et John Clague, qui avaient à cœur de mettre l’information géologique à la disposition du public et d’améliorer, à l’échelle nationale, les connaissances en géologie. Géopanorama de Vancouver a eu tant de succès qu’il a entraîné l’élaboration d’une série d’affiches portant sur 14 autres régions et centres métropolitains de partout au Canada. Une affiche Géopanorama du Canada a complété la série.

L’objectif du projet Géopanorama était d’offrir aux Canadiens un meilleur accès à l’information géologique se rapportant à leur région au moyen d’affiches attrayantes et riches en images. Des équipes locales de géoscientifiques et d’enseignants ont réuni l’information en s’assurant que les données scientifiques soient exactes et que l’information fournie réponde aux besoins éducatifs.

Les affiches couleur pouvaient être téléchargées gratuitement, et les enseignants pouvaient commander sans frais des copies imprimées auprès des bureaux de la Commission. Chacune des affiches Géopanorama s’accompagnait d’une vaste gamme de documents éducatifs en ligne. Les enseignants ont aimé le concept et les produits Géopanorama sont encore utilisés dans les classes à travers le Canada. Le Réseau canadien d’éducation géoscientifique a été si impressionné par la série Géopanorama qu’il l’a affichée au complet sur son site Web : http://www.cgenarchive.org/geoscape.html.

Categorie : Publications

Décennie : Années 1990

Référence

Turner, R.J.W., Clague, J.J., Vodden, C., Wynne, J., et Franklin, R., 2002. The Geoscape Canada Project: Raising Public Geoliteracy across Canada; Geological Association of Canada and Mineralogical Association of Canada Joint Annual Meeting, 27-29 May 2002, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Programme and Abstracts. http://gac.esd.mun.ca/gac_2002/search_abs/program.htm

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :