161. Nunavut Office (1999)

Nunavut Office 1
Nunavut Office 2

Nunavut came into being on April 1, 1999, following the comprehensive land claims settlement of the Inuit of the Northwest Territories in 1993. Among other responsibilities, the federal government undertook to provide Nunavut with geoscience services. This was fulfilled with the set-up of the Canada-Nunavut Geoscience Office (C-NGO) in Iqaluit. Its mandate was to establish a geoscience capacity in Nunavut, and to collect and distribute geoscience information to support sustainable development.

C-NGO was designed to fill the geological survey role in Nunavut similar to the Yukon Geology Program and the Northwest Territories Geology Program. However, unlike its counterparts in those territories, which comprised co-located staff of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada and the territorial government, C-NGO was established as part of the Geological Survey of Canada. Although the Survey was accountable for day-to-day operations, a federal-territorial management board set the C-NGO science program.

Survey geologist, David Scott was named C-NGO’s first Chief Geologist. He moved to Iqaluit in April 1999, and worked quickly to ensure that facilities, staff, and equipment were in place so that full field operations could commence in the summer of 2000.

Category: Buildings and Places

Decade: 1990s

Reference

Scott, D.J., 2012. Canada-Nunavut Geoscience Office; Friends of GSC History, Series A - Historical Contributions GSCHIS-A017, 7 p. http://geoscan.ess.nrcan.gc.ca/text/geoscan/fulltext/GSCHIS_A017.pdf

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

161. Bureau du Nunavut (1999)

Bureau du Nunavut 1
Bureau du Nunavut 2

Le Nunavut a été créé le 1er avril 1999, à la suite du règlement global des revendications territoriales des Inuits des Territoires du Nord-Ouest en 1993. Dans le cadre de ses responsabilités, le gouvernement fédéral s’est engagé à fournir au Nunavut des services géoscientifiques. Cet engagement a été respecté au moyen de la mise sur pied du Bureau géoscientifique Canada-Nunavut (BGCN) à Iqaluit, dont le mandat était d’établir une expertise en géoscience au Nunavut et de recueillir et de diffuser l’information géoscientifique pour appuyer le développement durable.

Le BGCN était appelé à jouer le rôle de commission géologique au Nunavut, au même titre que le Programme géologique du Yukon et le Programme géologique des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Toutefois, contrairement à ses homologues dans ces territoires, qui hébergeaient des employés d’Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada et du gouvernement territorial, le BGCN a été établi en tant que partie intégrante de la Commission géologique du Canada. La Commission était responsable des activités courantes, mais le programme scientifique du BGCN a été défini par un conseil d’administration fédéral-territorial.

Le géologue David Scott de la Commission a été nommé premier géologue en chef du BGCN. Il a déménagé à Iqaluit en avril 1999 et s’est empressé de s’assurer que les installations, le personnel et l’équipement nécessaires soient en place pour que les activités de terrain puissent démarrer à l’été 2000.

Categorie : Immeubles et endroits

Décennie : Années 1990

Référence

Scott, D.J., 2012. Canada-Nunavut Geoscience Office; Friends of GSC History, Series A - Historical Contributions GSCHIS-A017, 7 p. http://geoscan.ess.nrcan.gc.ca/text/geoscan/fulltext/GSCHIS_A017.pdf

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :