164. Episodic Tremor and Slip (2003)

Episodic Tremor and Slip 1
Episodic Tremor and Slip 2

Episodic Tremor and Slip (ETS) is a tectonic process that occurs predominantly in subduction zones where geologically young (less than about 40 million years old) tectonic plates slide (or subduct) beneath other tectonic plates. It involves repeated episodes of slow slips of a few centimetres over a period of several weeks on the deep subduction plate interface, 25 to 40 kilometres below Earth’s surface.

This slow slip is accompanied by seismic tremors that appear as prolonged ground vibrations, which lack the sharp shock waves that characterize even small earthquakes. Geological Survey of Canada scientists Herb Dragert and Garry Rogers discovered ETS in 2003 while studying the northern Cascadia Subduction Zone where they found that ETS episodes were surprisingly regular, with an average recurrence interval of 15 months.

The significance of this phenomenon for seismic hazard evaluations is yet to be fully determined, but it is known that episodes of deep-plate slip add stress to the shallower, locked portion of the subduction plate interface and could possibly trigger a megathrust earthquake.

Category: Science Advances

Decade: 2000s

References

Rogers, G. and Dragert, H., 2003. Episodic tremor and slip on the Cascadia subduction zone: The chatter of silent slip; Science, v. 300, p. 1942–1943. doi:10.1126/science.1084783.

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

164. Trémors et glissements épisodiques (2003)

Trémors et glissements épisodiques 1
Trémors et glissements épisodiques 2

Les trémors et glissements épisodiques (TGE) sont un processus tectonique qui survient principalement dans des zones de subduction où les plaques tectoniques géologiquement jeunes (moins de quelque 40 millions d’années) glissent (ou s’enfoncent) sous d’autres plaques tectoniques. Il s’agit d’épisodes répétés de lents glissements, de l’ordre de quelques centimètres sur une période de plusieurs semaines, qui se produisent à l’interface des plaques dans la zone de subduction à une profondeur de 25 à 40 kilomètres.

Ce lent glissement s’accompagne de secousses sismiques qui prennent la forme de vibrations prolongées du sol, sans les vives ondes de choc qui caractérisent même les petits séismes. Herb Dragert et Garry Rogers, des chercheurs de la Commission géologique du Canada, ont découvert les TGE en 2003 en étudiant le nord de la zone de subduction de Cascadia, où ils ont constaté que les épisodes de TGE étaient étonnamment réguliers, avec un intervalle de récurrence moyen de 15 mois.

On n’a pas encore entièrement défini la signification de ce phénomène pour les évaluations de l’aléa sismique, mais on sait que ces épisodes de glissement des plaques en profondeur exercent une contrainte additionnelle sur la portion figée moins profonde de l’interface de la plaque en subduction et pourraient entraîner un méga-séisme.

Categorie : Progrès scientifiques

Décennie : Années 2000

Référence

Rogers, G. et Dragert, H., 2003. Episodic tremor and slip on the Cascadia subduction zone: The chatter of silent slip; Science, v. 300, p. 1942–1943. doi:10.1126/science.1084783.

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :