167. Groundwater and Agriculture (2007)

Groundwater and Agriculture

In the 2000s, the Geological Survey of Canada collaborated with Prince Edward Island to address the sustainability of its groundwater resources in the context of agricultural practices, a changing climate, and the province’s great reliance on groundwater – PEI residents are dependent on groundwater for potable, industrial, and commercial water use.

A large part of the provincial economy is based on intense agricultural activities, with resulting high nitrate levels in drinking water due mainly to chemical fertilizer used on potato crops. The Survey’s isotopic study of groundwater showed the important contribution of nitrogen released by plant residues from harvest in groundwater nitrate concentrations all year long. These dominate in winter, and add to the chemical fertilizer effects during the farming period.

Following the public release of the results, all politicians running in the 2007 provincial election addressed the issue of nitrate contamination in groundwater. Soon after the election, the PEI government set up a Parliamentary Commission on Nitrates in Groundwater to assess the situation and, using new knowledge from the Survey, recommended the development of new policies and regulations for groundwater quality and farming practices.

Category: Science Advances

Decade: 2000s

References

The Report of the Commission on Nitrates in Groundwater, 2008, 58 p. http://www.gov.pe.ca/photos/original/cofNitrates.pdf

Savard, M.M. and Somers, G. (ed.), 2007. Consequences of climatic changes on contamination of drinking water by nitrate on Prince Edward Island; Earth Sciences Sector, General Information Product 61, 142 p. doi:10.4095/225775

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

167. Eau souterraine et agriculture (2007)

Eau souterraine et agriculture

Dans les années 2000, la Commission géologique du Canada a collaboré avec l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard afin de se pencher sur la question de la durabilité de ses ressources en eau souterraine dans le contexte des pratiques agricoles, du changement climatique et de la forte dépendance de la province à l’égard de l’eau souterraine – les résidents de l’Î.-P.-É. dépendent de l’eau souterraine pour leurs besoins résidentiels, industriels et commerciaux.

Une grande partie de l’économie de la province se fonde sur les activités agricoles intenses, ce qui donne lieu à des niveaux élevés de nitrates dans l’eau potable en raison principalement des engrais chimiques utilisés pour la culture de pommes de terre. L’étude isotopique réalisée par la Commission sur l’eau souterraine a révélé l’importante contribution de l’azote libéré par les résidus végétaux provenant des récoltes dans les concentrations de nitrates les eaux souterraines tout au long de l’année. Cette contribution domine en hiver et s’ajoute à l’effet des fertilisants durant la période agricole.

Après la diffusion publique des résultats, tous les politiciens qui se présentaient à l’élection provinciale de 2007 ont abordé le problème de la contamination de l’eau souterraine par les nitrates. Peu après les élections, le gouvernement de l’Î.-P.-É. a mis sur pied une commission parlementaire sur les nitrates dans l’eau souterraine afin d’évaluer la situation. Cette dernière, en utilisant les nouvelles connaissances fournies par la Commission, a recommandé l’élaboration de nouvelles politiques et de nouveaux règlements sur la qualité de l’eau souterraine et les pratiques agricoles.

Categorie : Progrès scientifiques

Décennie : Années 2000

Références

The Report of the Commission on Nitrates in Groundwater, 2008, 58 p. http://www.gov.pe.ca/photos/original/cofNitrates.pdf

Savard, M.M. et Somers, G. (éd.), 2007. Consequences of climatic changes on contamination of drinking water by nitrate on Prince Edward Island; Earth Sciences Sector, General Information Product 61, 142 p. doi:10.4095/225775

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :