168. Field Notebook (2008)

Field Notebook

From the earliest days of the Geological Survey of Canada the field notebook has been an essential piece of field equipment. Generations of Survey geologists have used them to record their field observations, and many field photos have the traditional bright red field notebook emblazoned with the Survey logo as a scale on outcrops.

Field notebooks are an important record of a scientist’s data and must be preserved for present and future use. Survey founder William Logan recorded some of the first Canadian geological observations in the early 1840s, and several of his notebooks, which include sketches of landscapes and geology, have been scanned and are available on the Library and Archives Canada’s website at: https://www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/logan/021014-3100-e.html.

Today, geologists use a range of digital tools to capture field data. This speeds up the production of maps, but, even in this electronic age, field notebooks are still used. The tradition of the red field notebook with the gold logo on its cover, however, ended in 2008, with the closure of the Survey’s stationery store.

Category: Fieldwork

Decade: 2000s

Reference

Written in Stone: William E. Logan and the Geological Survey of Canada. http://www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/logan

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

168. Carnet de terrain (2008)

Carnet de terrain

Depuis les débuts de la Commission géologique du Canada, le carnet de terrain a été une pièce essentielle de l'équipement de terrain. Des générations de géologues de la Commission les ont utilisés pour consigner leurs observations sur le terrain, et de nombreuses photos prises sur le terrain montrent le traditionnel carnet de terrain de couleur rouge vif estampillé du logo de la Commission pour indiquer l’échelle sur les affleurements.

Les carnets de terrain sont un registre important des données des scientifiques et doivent être préservés à des fins d'utilisation actuelle et future. Le fondateur de la Commission, William Logan, a consigné certaines des premières observations géologiques canadiennes au début des années 1840, et plusieurs de ses carnets, qui comprennent des croquis de paysages et de géologie, ont été numérisés et sont disponibles sur le site Web de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada à : http://www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/logan/021014-3100-f.html.

Aujourd'hui, les géologues utilisent divers outils numériques pour saisir les données de terrain. Cela accélère la production de cartes mais, même en cette ère électronique, les carnets de terrain sont encore utilisés. Cependant, la tradition du carnet de terrain de couleur rouge, avec son logo doré sur la couverture, a pris fin avec la fermeture du magasin de papeterie de la Commission en 2008.

Categorie : Travaux de terrain

Décennie : Années 2000

Référence

Pierre à pierre : William E. Logan et la Commission géologique du Canada. http://www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/logan

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :