170. First Standard Surficial Geology Legend (2012)

First Standard Surficial Geology Legend

For over 150 years, the Geological Survey of Canada has mapped the surficial geology across the country to gain knowledge of the nature and distribution of its unconsolidated sediments (loose materials ranging from clay to sand to gravel).

In 2012, the Survey developed the Surficial Data Model, representing the first national common legend for the mapping of surficial geology, and it was published as part of the Survey’s Open File series. The Surficial Data Model incorporates both the traditional appearance of a geological map and the digital geoscience data used to create the map, integrating field observations and interpretations of remote imagery.

The use of consistent surficial geological map units and standard line and point symbols enables the timely compilation and publication of geological maps.The Surficial Data Model is revised annually and currently consists of 110 geological map units, 159 point and line symbols, and 20 overlay patterns that represent geomorphological or geological features superimposed on map units.

Category: Maps

Decade: 2010s

References:

Deblonde, C., Plouffe, A., Boisvert, E., Buller, G., Davenport, P., Everett, D., Huntley, D., Inglis, E., Kerr, D., Moore, A., Paradis, J.S., Parent, M., Smith, R., St-Onge, D., and Weatherston, A., 2012. Science Language for an Integrated Geological Survey of Canada Data Model for Surficial Geology Maps, Version 1.2; Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 7003, 224 p. doi:10.4095/290144

Cocking, R.B., Deblonde, C., Kerr, D.E., Campbell, J.E., Eagles, S., Everett, D., Huntley, D.H., Inglis, E., Laviolette, A., Parent, M., Plouffe, A., Robertson, L., St-Onge, D.A., and Weatherston, A., 2015. Surficial Data Model, version 2.1.0: Revisions to the science language of the integrated Geological Survey of Canada data model for surficial geology maps; Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 7741, 276 p. doi:10.4095/296568

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

170. Première légende normalisée pour la géologie de surface (2012)

Première légende normalisée pour la géologie de surface

Pendant plus de 150 ans, la Commission géologique du Canada a cartographié la géologie de surface partout au pays afin de mieux comprendre la nature et la répartition de ses sédiments non consolidés (matières meubles comme l’argile, le sable et le gravier).

En 2012, la Commission a élaboré le Modèle de données pour les formations superficielles, qui représentait la première légende nationale commune pour la cartographie de la géologie de surface, et le modèle a été publié dans le cadre de la série Dossiers publics de la Commission. Le Modèle de données pour les formations superficielles combine à la fois l’apparence traditionnelle d’une carte géologique et les données géoscientifiques numériques utilisées pour créer la carte, intégrant les observations de terrain et les interprétations de l’imagerie à distance.

L’utilisation d’unités de cartographie géologique uniformes pour les formations superficielles ainsi que de symboles standards de lignes et de points permet la compilation et la publication rapide des cartes géologiques. Le Modèle de données pour les formations superficielles est révisé chaque année et consiste actuellement en 110 unités de cartographie géologique, 159 symboles de lignes et de points et 20 surimpressions géologiques qui représentent des caractéristiques géomorphologiques ou géologiques qui sont superposées sur les unités cartographiques.

Categorie : Cartes

Décennie : Années 2010

Références

Deblonde, C., Plouffe, A., Boisvert, E., Buller, G., Davenport, P., Everett, D., Huntley, D., Inglis, E., Kerr, D., Moore, A., Paradis, J.S., Parent, M., Smith, R., St-Onge, D. et Weatherston, A., 2012. Science Language for an Integrated Geological Survey of Canada Data Model for Surficial Geology Maps, Version 1.2; Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 7003, 224 p. doi:10.4095/290144

Cocking, R.B., Deblonde, C., Kerr, D.E., Campbell, J.E., Eagles, S., Everett, D., Huntley, D.H., Inglis, E., Laviolette, A., Parent, M., Plouffe, A., Robertson, L., St-Onge, D.A. et Weatherston, A., 2015. Surficial Data Model, version 2.1.0: Revisions to the science language of the integrated Geological Survey of Canada data model for surficial geology maps; Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 7741, 276 p. doi:10.4095/296568

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :