172. "Four Billion Years and Counting" (2014)

Four Billion Years and Counting

In 2014, a project initiated and led by Geological Survey of Canada scientists culminated in the publication of a landmark book on Canada’s geology, in both English and French editions.

Four Billion Years and Counting: Canada’s Geological Heritage is intended for the non-specialist and highlights how Canada’s rocks, fossils, and landscapes evolved. It is an intriguing story of the formation and disintegration of ancient continents, the opening and closing of oceans, the uplift and erosion of mountain ranges, and the impact of massive ice sheets – the last of which largely sculpted our modern landscape.

To help readers follow the country’s dramatic geological evolution, the first four chapters explain basic concepts, including the rock cycle, plate tectonics, geological time, and fossils. Other chapters detail natural resources and environmental concerns.

The book is beautifully illustrated with colour photos, illustrations, and artistic recreations of times past. Its website makes much of this material available for download at no charge, and Canadian teachers are enthusiastically using these new resources in their classrooms. It is also receiving critical acclaim from book reviewers, and won the Association of Earth Science Editors’ Outstanding Publication Award for 2015.

Category: Publications

Decade: 2010s

References

Fensome, R., Williams, G., Achab, A., Clague, J., Corrigan, D., Monger, J., and Nowlan, G. (ed.), 2014. Four billion years and counting: Canada’s geological heritage; Nimbus Publishing and Canadian Federation of Earth Sciences, Halifax, Nova Scotia.

Tingley, A., 2015. Four Billion Years and Counting: Canada’s Geological Heritage. A Review; The Geological Society, Geoscientist Online. http://www.geolsoc.org.uk/Geoscientist/Books-Arts/Geoscientist-book-reviews-online/2015-Book-Reviews-Online/Four-Billion-Years-and-Counting-by-Fensome-et-al.

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

172. « Quatre milliards d’années d’histoire » (2014)

Quatre milliards d’années d’histoire

En 2014, un projet amorcé et dirigé par des chercheurs de la Commission géologique du Canada a abouti à la publication d’un ouvrage emblématique sur la géologie du Canada, en version française et anglaise.

Quatre milliards d’années d’histoire : le patrimoine géologique du Canada est destiné aux non-spécialistes et décrit comment les roches, les fossiles et les paysages du Canada ont évolué. Il s’agit d’un récit intrigant sur la formation et la désintégration des anciens continents, l’ouverture et la fermeture des océans, le soulèvement et l’érosion des chaînes de montagnes et l’impact des énormes glaciers – dont le dernier a façonné en grande partie notre paysage moderne.

Pour aider les lecteurs à suivre l’importante évolution géologique du pays, les quatre premiers chapitres expliquent les concepts de base, notamment le cycle des roches, la tectonique des plaques, le temps géologique et les fossiles. D’autres chapitres exposent les préoccupations liées aux ressources naturelles et à l’environnement.

L’ouvrage est magnifiquement illustré avec des photos en couleurs, des illustrations et des représentations artistiques des temps révolus. Son site Web permet de télécharger gratuitement une bonne partie du contenu, et les enseignants canadiens utilisent avec enthousiasme ces nouvelles ressources dans leurs classes. Le livre est aussi encensé par les critiques de livres et a remporté le prix Outstanding Publication Award (pour une publication exceptionnelle) de l’Association of Earth Science Editors pour 2015.

Categorie : Publications

Décennie : Années 2010

Références

Fensome, R., Williams, G., Achab, A., Clague, J., Corrigan, D., Monger, J. et Nowlan, G. (éd.), 2014. Quatre millards d’années d’histoire : Le patrimoine géologique du Canada; Nimbus Publishing et Fédération canadienne des sciences de la Terre, Halifax, Nouvelle-Écosse.

Tingley, A., 2015. Four Billion Years and Counting: Canada’s Geological Heritage. A Review; The Geological Society, Geoscientist Online. http://www.geolsoc.org.uk/Geoscientist/Books-Arts/Geoscientist-book-reviews-online/2015-Book-Reviews-Online/Four-Billion-Years-and-Counting-by-Fensome-et-al.

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :