173. Magnetic Anomaly Map of Canada (2015)

Magnetic Anomaly Map of Canada

The Magnetic Anomaly Map of Canada shows the variation of the magnetic field across the country. Magnetic anomalies reflect differences in the magnetic properties of the underlying bedrock, and the magnetic field is measured by a magnetometer. To collect aeromagnetic data, a magnetometer is installed in a small aircraft or helicopter and flown back and forth in parallel lines across a survey area perpendicular to the general strike of the bedrock.

The Geological Survey of Canada has been acquiring aeromagnetic data since 1947, and it has carried out more than 550 surveys. These surveys have allowed rapid geological assessment of vast areas. Indeed, the dominant structural trends of geological provinces can be recognized on the map.

The national dataset that supports this map has aided Survey geologists in understanding bedrock structure and composition beneath soil, vegetation, water, and ice. Available to the public, the data support mineral and hydrocarbon exploration programs, as well as land-use decisions.

Category: Maps

Decade: 2010s

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

173. Carte des anomalies magnétiques du Canada (2015)

Carte des anomalies magnétiques du Canada

La Carte des anomalies magnétiques du Canada montre les variations du champ magnétique dans l’ensemble du pays. Les anomalies magnétiques reflètent les différences dans les propriétés magnétiques du substrat rocheux, le champ magnétique étant mesuré par un magnétomètre. Pour recueillir les données aéromagnétiques, un magnétomètre est installé dans un petit aéronef ou un hélicoptère qui survole la zone du levé en lignes parallèles orientées perpendiculairement à la direction générale du substrat rocheux.

La Commission géologique du Canada acquiert des données aéromagnétiques depuis 1947, et elle a réalisé plus de 550 levés. Ces levés ont permis l’évaluation géologique rapide de vastes régions. En effet, les directions structurales dominantes des provinces géologiques peuvent être reconnues sur la carte.

La base de données nationale sur laquelle se fonde cette carte a aidé les géologues de la Commission à comprendre la structure et la composition du substrat rocheux sous le sol, la végétation, l’eau et la glace. Accessibles au public, les données appuient les programmes d’exploration des ressources minérales et des hydrocarbures ainsi que la prise de décisions sur l’utilisation des terres.

Categorie : Cartes

Décennie : Années 2010

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :