175. Gold Medal (2016)

Gold Medal

At the 2016 Royal Canadian Geographical Society (RCGS) College of Fellows Annual Dinner, the Society awarded its prestigious Gold Medal to the Geological Survey of Canada. This was in recognition of both the Survey’s outstanding contribution to the development of Canada since 1842 and of its 175th anniversary in 2017.

The Honourable Jim Carr, minister responsible for Natural Resources Canada, accepted the medal on behalf of the Survey. He remarked, “In a department rich with leading-edge research and science, the Geological Survey of Canada still stands out as the crown jewel: our nation’s first scientific agency and one of our oldest government organizations…This Gold Medal is a timely and fitting honour; one that recognizes the Survey’s 175 years of scientific excellence — celebrating its past contributions and anticipating its important work still to come.”

The RCGS also awarded individual Gold Medals to Survey scientists Denis St-Onge, Marc St-Onge, and Paul Hoffman for their distinguished contributions to geology. As well, Survey marine scientist Steve Blasco was the 2016 recipient of the RCGS Massey Medal in honour of his outstanding career achievement in the field of marine geophysics.

Category: Government

Decade: 2010s

References

Royal Canadian Geographical Society Web site. http://www.rcgs.org/about/fellows/dinner.asp

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

175. Médaille d’or (2016)

Médaille d'or

Au dîner annuel du Collège des fellows de la Société géographique royale du Canada (SGRC) de 2016, la Société a attribué sa prestigieuse médaille d’or à la Commission géologique du Canada, en reconnaissance de sa contribution exceptionnelle au développement du Canada depuis 1842 et pour souligner son 175e anniversaire en 2017.

L’honorable Jim Carr, ministre responsable de Ressources naturelles Canada, a accepté la médaille au nom de la Commission. Il a souligné que « Dans un ministère riche en recherche et en science de pointe, la Commission géologique du Canada demeure son plus beau fleuron : le premier organisme scientifique de notre nation et l’un des plus anciens organismes gouvernementaux…Cette médaille d’or est un honneur très approprié qui est décerné à point nommé et souligne les 175 années d’excellence scientifique de la Commission en célébrant ses contributions passées ainsi que l’important travail qui reste à faire. »

La SGRC a également attribué des médailles d’or individuelles à Denis St-Onge, Marc St-Onge et Paul Hoffman, chercheurs de la Commission, pour leurs remarquables contributions à la géologie. De même, Steve Blasco, spécialiste des sciences de la mer de la Commission, a été le récipiendaire 2016 de la médaille Massey de la SGRC, attribuée en reconnaissance des réalisations exceptionnelles de sa carrière dans le domaine de la géophysique marine.

Categorie : Gouvernement

Decade: 2010s

Références

Site Web de la Société géographique royale du Canada. http://www.rcgs.org/fr/quiSommesNous/fellows/souper.asp

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :