Hepatitis B research: Virus-host balance and 20 years of successful vaccination

There are over 250 million people throughout the world chronically infected with hepatitis B (a hepatitis B infection is considered chronic or long-term when a person isn’t able to clear the infection from their body).  According to the World Health Organization, viral hepatitis killed 1.34 million people worldwide in 2015.

Scientists at the Public Health Agency of Canada’s (PHAC) National Microbiology Laboratory (NML) are studying the disease to help protect those at risk of getting sick from hepatitis.

What is hepatitis?

Hepatitis is an inflammation of the liver, which could lead to liver cirrhosis, liver failure or liver cancer. It can be caused by a viral infection, autoimmune dysfunction, alcohol, medication, or drug toxicity.

Any liver disease can be life-threatening. For instance, long-term infection with hepatitis B or hepatitis C viruses can cause cirrhosis, a condition where the liver gradually loses function due to permanent scarring. These viruses can also cause liver cancer.

Fortunately, there are preventative measures and medications available to protect against hepatitis and to treat infection. Early diagnosis increases the effectiveness of treatment to cure hepatitis C infection. There is also a universal vaccine for the hepatitis B virus (HBV) which is safe and effective in preventing infection.

Two decades later, HBV levels decrease in the Canadian Arctic

Statistically speaking, populations in Canada’s Arctic region are disproportionately affected by HBV. NML scientists have been working to better understand why this is the situation, with the hope that their research can help inform public health measures to protect these northern populations from this virus.

Around the 1990s, universal vaccination programs for HBV were implemented for newborn infants in Canada’s Arctic. From 2013 to 2014, scientists at the NML did a mass follow-up on a proportion of individuals who are representative of the Nunavut population. They wanted to find out whether the universal vaccine had made a positive impact.

Overall, the scientists concluded that the vaccination program has been successful. They found that that the prevalence of long-term HBV infection has decreased to low (non-endemic) levels of just 1.2% in the entire population.

A virus-host ‘balance’

With their ongoing research, NML researchers strive to further prevent HBV in the North. They recently discovered that, for hundreds of years, a particularly unique strain of HBV has been evolving in some Arctic populations. This unique strain is called HBV/B5.  

In 2010, it was discovered that HBV/B5 was the most prevalent strain found in Nunavut and for some reason, in the long-term, those who are infected with this strain don’t seem to suffer severe liver disease compared to persons infected with other strains of the virus.

“A balance seems to have been struck,” says PHAC scientist Carla Osiowy. “The virus continues to circulate and persists within these populations. At the same time, it doesn’t appear to result in severe disease.”

Dr. Carla Osiowy is Chief of Viral Hepatitis and Bloodborne Pathogens.

Dr. Carla Osiowy is Chief of Viral Hepatitis and Bloodborne Pathogens.

According to Osiowy, it is hard to tell if the virus could cause liver disease in other populations. To date, HBV/B5 is only found in Alaska Natives as well as Inuit populations of Canada and Greenland.

“It’s possible that this ‘balance’ is due to the patient’s immune response. Or, perhaps this is a feature of the virus,” she says. “Truthfully, we can only speculate at this point in time. Further study is needed to better understand this virus-host ‘balance.’”

As scientists continue to research hepatitis, these studies could help us understand why a particular strain may cause illness and why another does not. The results could also lead to the development of better treatments and improving disease prevention programs worldwide.

Date modified:

Recherche sur l’hépatite B : Équilibre virus-hôte et 20 ans de vaccination efficace

Plus 250 millions de personnes sont atteintes d’une hépatite B chronique. Une infection à l’hépatite B est considérée comme chronique ou à long terme lorsque l’organisme n’arrive pas à se libérer de l’infection. D’après l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé, l’hépatite virale a causé le décès de 1,34 million de personnes dans le monde en 2015.

Des scientifiques du Laboratoire national de microbiologie (LNM) de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada (ASPC) étudient cette maladie pour contribuer à la protection des personnes susceptibles de contracter l’hépatite.

Qu’est‑ce que l’hépatite?

L’hépatite est une inflammation du foie qui peut causer une cirrhose, une insuffisance hépatique ou le cancer du foie. Elle peut être causée par une infection virale, un dysfonctionnement auto-immunitaire, une consommation abusive d’alcool, des médicaments ou une toxicité médicamenteuse.

Toute maladie du foie peut être mortelle. Une infection à long terme au virus de l’hépatite B ou C, par exemple, peut causer une cirrhose, qui est une dégradation des fonctions du foie causée par des lésions permanentes. Ces virus peuvent aussi causer le cancer du foie.

Heureusement, il existe des mesures de prévention et des médicaments contre l’hépatite et pour le traitement des infections. Un diagnostic précoce augmente l’efficacité du traitement d’une infection à l’hépatite C. Il existe aussi un vaccin universel contre le virus de l’hépatite B (VHB), sûr et efficace, qui prévient une infection.

Vingt ans plus tard, la prévalence du VHB diminue en Arctique

Sur le plan statistique, les populations de la région du Canada arctique sont atteintes du VHB de façon disproportionnée. Les scientifiques du LNM cherchent à mieux comprendre pourquoi c’est le cas, dans l’espoir que leurs recherches puissent contribuer à l’orientation des mesures de santé publique visant à protéger ces populations nordiques contre le VHB.

Dans les années 1990, des programmes universels de vaccination des nouveau‑nés contre le VHB ont été mis en place dans le Canada arctique. En 2013 et en 2014, les scientifiques du LNM ont effectué un suivi d’envergure d’un groupe de sujets représentant la population du Nunavut. Ils voulaient déterminer si le vaccin universel avait eu des effets positifs.

Globalement, les scientifiques ont conclu que le programme de vaccination a été efficace (en anglais). Ils ont constaté que la prévalence de l’infection au VHB à long terme a diminué au niveau suffisamment faible (non endémique) de seulement 1,2 % dans l’ensemble de la population.

Un équilibre virus‑hôte

En poursuivant leurs travaux, les chercheurs du LNM visent à prévenir davantage la propagation du VHB dans le Nord. Ils ont d’ailleurs récemment découvert que, pendant des centaines d’années, une souche particulière du VHB a évolué dans certaines populations de l’Arctique. Cette souche unique a été nommée HBV/B5 (en anglais).

En 2010, on a découvert que la souche HBV/B5 était la souche la plus prévalente au Nunavut et que pour une raison quelconque, à long terme, ceux qui en étaient infectés ne semblaient pas être atteints de graves affections du foie comparativement aux personnes infectées par d’autres souches du virus.

« On semble avoir atteint un équilibre, estime Carla Osiowy, scientifique de l’ASPC. Le virus continue de circuler et de persister dans ces populations. En même temps, il ne semble pas causer de graves affections. »

Dre Carla Osiowy, chef de section, Pathogènes à diffusion hématogène et hépatite.

Dre Carla Osiowy, chef de section, Pathogènes à diffusion hématogène et hépatite

D’après Osiowy, il est difficile de dire si le virus pourrait causer des maladies du foie dans d’autres populations. Jusqu’à présent, la souche HBV/B5 ne se trouve que chez les Autochtones de l’Alaska et les populations inuites du Canada et du Groenland.

« C’est possible que cet “équilibre” soit possible une réaction du système immunitaire du patient. Ou peut‑être que c’est une caractéristique du virus, propose‑t‑elle. Honnêtement, on ne peut que spéculer pour l’instant. D’autres études sont nécessaires pour mieux comprendre cet “équilibre” virus‑hôte. »

Alors que les scientifiques poursuivent leurs recherches sur l’hépatite, ces études pourraient nous aider à comprendre pourquoi une souche particulière peut causer une maladie mais qu’une autre n’en cause pas. Les résultats pourraient aussi mener à la mise au point de meilleurs traitements et à l’amélioration des programmes de prévention des maladies à l’échelle mondiale.

Date de modification :