ECCC scientists working to save the Mingan Thistle

ECCC’s wildlife biologist Phil Thomas is collaboratively working on restoring the meadow thistle, a species at risk, also known as the Mingan thistle. The thistle is an emblematic plant that has social and historical value to the people living in the area, and the province of Quebec. The plant was named by Brother Marie-Victorin in 1924, a notable Canadian botanist who founded the Montreal Botanic Garden in 1931 and created an inventory for all of Quebec’s plants in 1935. Thomas is working with scientists from Parks Canada and University of Ottawa to study and protect this unique species.

“These research efforts are part of a long-term recovery program led by Nancy Dénommée, Parks Canada’ resource management officer from Havre Saint-Pierre, Quebec. The main objective of this initiative is to understand the various biological drivers that may influence the growth and decline of these plants.” says Thomas.

What did researchers find?

The Mingan Thistle is an at-risk species that many Canadians have not encountered.

In Canada, 99% of the plants are found in Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve in Quebec. The reserve is an island in a remote region of Quebec, about 800 km east of Quebec City. Smaller numbers of the plants are also found in smaller zones in southern Alberta and British Columbia; questions remain on whether or not these two subpopulations differ genetically. The plants only grow in certain climatic conditions and flourish under specific types of soil and substrates, usually under really calciferous conditions. A detailed genetic analysis on the differences between Western and Eastern populations, as well as a closer look at the genetic differences between the many small islands where the thistle grows will help inform the feasibility, and risks of transplantation or germination programs. ECCC scientists including Thomas and David Carpenter (National Wildlife Research Centre) have expertise in analyzing the biophysical properties of the environment and the plant`s genetics that affect growth and survival.

© Parks Canada

© Parks Canada

Conservation Efforts in Mingan

In Mingan National Park, metallic tags are planted in the ground by Parks Canada beside each plant so they are easily identified and counted each year. The thistles are grouped into nine colonies, which are a group of plants that live near one another, dispersed over four islands. While a minimum of 270 plants per colony is required for long-term survival, the number of plants per colony is currently below this critical threshold. Total number of plants in the National Park dropped from 1148 to 445 from 2003 to 2017. Parks Canada recently implemented a recovery program to increase the number of plants in the most vulnerable colonies. Researchers set up nets to catch seeds on plants in flower and then planted under a metallic grid to protect them from predators such as birds and small mammals. The protection provided by the grid increased the germination rates by up to four times.

Other efforts include the germination and cultivation of thistles at the Gosling Research Institute for Plant Preservation (University of Guelph) and Montreal Biodôme greenhouses to obtain seedling in order to transplant these back into colonies. All are actively collaborating on germination and growing methods to help increase the number of plants in the wild.

Monarch butterflies at their wintering home in Mexico

Monarch butterflies at their wintering home in Mexico
Photo credit: ECCC

What can Canadians do?

In a future episode of La Semaine Verte on Radio-Canada, Canadians will be able to learn more about conservation efforts in Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve. A film crew from the popular French language science program will be following Simon Piche-Mongeon, a University of Ottawa M.Sc. student co-supervised by Thomas who is working on obtaining fresh genetic material, terrestrial soil and sediments from each of the colonies.

Should you get the chance to visit the Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve, which Thomas calls one the most beautiful national parks in the country, you are encouraged to visit the local Parks Canada Interpretation Center, to learn more about this unique plant and how you can help contribute to its conservation and survival.



Date modified:

Les scientifiques d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada s’efforcent de sauver le chardon de Mingan

Phil Thomas, biologiste de la faune à Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (ECCC), travaille en collaboration pour rétablir le chardon écailleux, une espèce en péril, également appelé chardon de Mingan. Le chardon est une plante emblématique qui a une valeur sociale et historique pour les personnes de la région et la province du Québec. Cette plante a été nommée en 1924 par le frère Marie-Victorin, illustre botaniste canadien qui a fondé le Jardin botanique de Montréal en 1931 et créé un inventaire de toutes les plantes du Québec en 1935. M. Thomas collabore avec des scientifiques de Parcs Canada et de l’Université d’Ottawa pour étudier et protéger cette espèce unique.

« Ces travaux de recherche s’inscrivent dans le cadre d’un programme de rétablissement à long terme dirigé par Nancy Dénommée, agente de gestion des ressources de Parcs Canada à Havre-Saint-Pierre, au Québec. L’objectif principal de cette initiative est de comprendre les divers facteurs biologiques qui peuvent influencer la croissance et le déclin de ces plantes », explique M. Thomas.

Qu’ont trouvé les chercheurs?

Le chardon de Mingan est une espèce en péril que de nombreux Canadiens n’ont jamais vue.

Au Canada, 99 % des plantes se trouvent dans la réserve de parc national de l’Archipel-de-Mingan, au Québec. Cette réserve est une île située dans une région éloignée du Québec, à environ 800 km à l’est de la ville de Québec. On observe également un petit nombre de plantes dans de petites zones du sud de l’Alberta et de la Colombie-Britannique; il reste à savoir si ces deux sous-populations diffèrent sur le plan génétique ou non. Les plantes ne poussent que dans certaines conditions climatiques et s’épanouissent dans certains types de sols et de substrats, généralement très calcaires. Une analyse génétique détaillée des différences entre les populations de l’Ouest et de l’Est ainsi qu’un examen plus approfondi des différences génétiques entre les nombreuses petites îles où pousse le chardon aideront à évaluer la faisabilité des programmes de transplantation ou de germination, de même que les risques qui y sont liés. Des scientifiques d’ECCC, dont M. Thomas et David Carpenter (Centre national de la recherche faunique), ont une expertise dans l’analyse des propriétés biophysiques de l’environnement et de la génétique de la plante qui influent sur la croissance et la survie.

@ Parcs Canada

@ Parcs Canada

Mesures de conservation à Mingan

Dans le parc national de l’Archipel-de-Mingan, Parcs Canada place une étiquette métallique dans le sol à côté de chaque plante pour qu’elles soient faciles à identifier et à compter chaque année. Les chardons sont regroupés en neuf colonies (un groupe de plantes qui vivent à proximité les unes des autres) réparties sur quatre îles. Alors qu’il faut au minimum 270 plantes par colonie pour garantir la survie à long terme, le nombre qui compose les colonies est actuellement inférieur à ce seuil critique. Le nombre total de plantes dans le parc national est passé de 1 148 à 445 entre 2003 et 2017. Parcs Canada a récemment mis en œuvre un programme de rétablissement visant à accroître le nombre de plantes dans les colonies les plus vulnérables. Les chercheurs ont installé des filets pour attraper les graines des plantes en fleur et les ont ensuite plantées sous une grille métallique pour les protéger des prédateurs comme les oiseaux et les petits mammifères. La protection offerte par la grille a multiplié par quatre le taux de germination.

D’autres mesures de conservation incluaient la germination et la culture du chardon à l’Institut de recherche Gosling pour la préservation des plantes (Université de Guelph) et dans les serres du Biodôme de Montréal afin d’obtenir de jeunes plants qui seront transplantés dans les colonies. Les chercheurs échangent activement sur les méthodes de germination et de culture afin de faire augmenter le nombre de plantes dans la nature.

Étiquettes métalliques plantées à côté du chardon de Mingan

Étiquettes métalliques plantées à côté du chardon de Mingan
Références photographiques : ECCC

Que peuvent faire les Canadiens?

Dans un prochain épisode de La Semaine Verte sur les ondes de Radio-Canada, les Canadiens pourront en apprendre davantage sur les efforts de conservation dans la réserve de parc national de l’Archipel-de-Mingan. Une équipe de tournage du programme de sciences en français très populaire suivra Simon Piche-Mongeon, étudiant en maîtrise ès sciences de l’Université d’Ottawa co-encadré par M. Thomas, qui s’efforce de collecter du matériel génétique frais, des échantillons de sol et des sédiments dans chacune des colonies.

Si vous avez l’occasion de visiter la réserve de parc national de l’Archipel-de-Mingan, que Thomas considère comme l’un des plus beaux parcs nationaux du pays, nous vous encourageons à faire un saut au Centre d’interprétation de Parcs Canada pour en apprendre davantage sur cette plante unique et la façon dont vous pouvez contribuer à sa conservation et à sa survie.



Date de modification :