Community-Based Monitoring and Research

3.1 Purpose

The Community-Based Monitoring and Research subprogram aims to promote the application of community knowledge and perceptions within NCP projects. This includes community led projects that are linked to projects funded under the Human Health and Environmental Monitoring and Research subprograms as well as standalone community-based projects that combine local knowledge with contaminants science.

Are you a first time applicant? Get in touch with the Northern Contaminants Program Secretariat and we will be happy to guide you through the application process. PLCN-NCP@AADNC-AANDC.GC.CA

Project proposals submitted for consideration under the Community-Based Monitoring and Research subprogram are encouraged to consider focusing on priority species and areas as identified in the Environmental Monitoring and Research Blueprint and/or on priority areas identified in the Human Health Blueprint, such as dietary choices and risk perception of traditional/country foods.

Also, projects that address both NCP priorities and climate change questions, will be of particular interest.

To be eligible for funding under the Community-Based Monitoring and Research subprogram, projects must be led or co-led by a community organization or a northern based institution. Eligible northern based institutions include Hunters and Trappers Committees, community research organizations, Arctic College facilities (such as Aurora Research Institute, Nunavut Research Institute, etc.), territorial/northern regional governments and other community-based groups. Additionally, it is expected that the majority of the project funds are to be allocated to activities and services in the North. For exceptions to this, a justification must be provided. For further guidance on eligibility, please contact the NCP Secretariat.

New for 2018-2019, applicants under the Community Based Monitoring and Research subprogram may now request funding for up to 3 years under a single application (i.e. 2018/19, 2019/20, and 2020/21). Project descriptions and budget tables are to reflect the full funding period requested. Please contact the NCP Secretariat for further information regarding this new possibility.

The funding envelope for Community-Based Monitoring and Research projects in the 2018-19 fiscal year is $500,000.

3.2 Introduction

The Northern Contaminants Program (NCP) is seeking proposals to conduct Community-Based Monitoring and Research projects on changes in health and the environment. Details related to the type of projects that the NCP will fund are provided in this Blueprint.

Projects currently being carried out under the Environmental Monitoring and Research subprogram are measuring the temporal trends of contaminants in specific fish and wildlife species at a limited number of locations and conducting research to improve our understanding of how contaminants move through the environment.

Projects under the Human Health subprogram focus on research issues and questions to enable Northerners to assess, understand and better manage the health risks in Northern Canada related to the long-range transport of contaminants and their subsequent presence in people and traditional/country foods.

It has become increasingly evident that the changing climate is having significant effects on ecosystem structure and function in the Arctic. These ecosystem changes could influence contaminant uptake and accumulation in the food web, which in turn could affect contaminant concentrations in the fauna and flora that the NCP is monitoring (complete list of species available in Environmental Monitoring and Research Blueprint).

3.3 Community Knowledge and Environmental Trends

It has become increasingly evident that the changing climate is having significant effects on ecosystem structure and function in the Arctic. These ecosystem changes could influence contaminant uptake and accumulation in the food web, which in turn could affect contaminant concentrations in species that the NCP is monitoring such as caribou, ringed seal, beluga and polar bear (complete list of species available in Environmental Monitoring and Research Blueprint). The NCP Environmental Monitoring and Research program measures year-to-year changes in contaminant concentrations in an effort to assess long-term trends, which it is hoped will reflect global efforts to reduce contaminant emissions. In order to make the link between trends and emissions, there is a need to understand the cause of the trends, and this requires knowledge of how the ecosystem has changed over the monitoring period.

Community members have been keen observers of the environment and biological systems that sustain their communities for thousands of years, including during the period of recent dramatic climate-driven changes in the Arctic, and also since the NCP began its monitoring program. Hunters and community members are in the best position to assess future trends and substantiate truth modeling results. With ongoing observations, hunters and community members will also be able to collect the data that supports their local priorities in a way that can help them to quantify or test relevant predictions. This understanding of Arctic ecosystems can make a significant contribution to the understanding of temporal trends in contaminant concentrations and the far reaching impacts of worldwide pollution. Advances in observational techniques, mobile technologies and community capacity, amongst other things, are increasing the ability to systematically document these local observations or indicators in a way that is understandable for the community and hunters, be useful to contaminant research scientists, and support international initiatives to reduce emissions of these long range contaminants. The NCP encourages the use of these and other innovative tools.

Project teams are encouraged to include researchers who have expertise working with communities and using participatory research methods. Project teams will be encouraged to collaborate with past and current NCP scientists whose work pertains to the species and focal ecosystem proposed for study by the project team. This is to ensure that the study will provide information relevant to ongoing contaminant trend monitoring. The goal of the project should be to document and analyse local observations and traditional knowledge on the ecology of key NCP monitoring species and changes over time.  Please contact the NCP Secretariat for contact information and further details on past and current NCP scientists that have worked on species and focal ecosystems in your area of interest.

Monitoring the effects of climate change in your community

Climate change can affect the circulation and concentrations of contaminants in the environment, including in wildlife species that are important to the traditional diets of northern Indigenous peoples.

Projects studying this link should involve youth, among others, in the monitoring of climate change variables that will provide the data necessary to support adaptation activities and fill knowledge gaps in Canada’s North. Areas of interest include trends and changes in flora, fauna, permafrost, sea ice conditions, flooding events, etc.

3.5 Community Studies on Diet Choices and Risk Perception of Traditional/Country Foods

Many Northern communities are facing economic, political, social and environmental changes that influence human health and well-being. As a result, the need for timely, relevant information about food choices and safety has never been greater. In order to fully understand how people perceive the dietary choices available to them, and the extent to which contaminants play a role in their choices, it is important to have up-to-date information from the communities. Additionally, a further understanding of how Northerners perceive the risks of long-range, transboundary contaminants is important, because this can help us to communicate information about contaminants in a way that is more effective and useful for communities. For example, a message about contaminants in certain food sources may not lead to a change in people’s behaviour if contaminants are not perceived to be a risk.

Projects in this category may focus on how risk perceptions and dietary choices have changed over time or may focus only on current perceptions about contaminant risk in relation to food.

The following are projects that could be funded in this category:

  • Community survey (e.g., in person, web-based, on mobile, etc) of the factors influencing household diet choices and whether knowledge of contaminants plays a role
  • Study of a community’s perception of the risks associated with long-range contaminants in traditional/country foods

3.6 Other Community-based Monitoring and Research Initiatives

The NCP is soliciting community and/or regionally led proposals to conduct small-scale and short duration monitoring activities related to contaminants from long-range sources. At the same time, local sources also exist, and NCP recognizes a need to be able to distinguish between long-range sources and local emissions in the North.

Projects under this category could include sampling and analysis of important traditional/country foods for contaminants that may pose a risk to human health and for which recent contaminant information is not available. This is also an opportunity for communities to become involved with new passive air sampling tools for persistent organic pollutants (POPs).

Projects that incorporate educational and training opportunities for local students and community members interested in environmental science, public health and/or community wellness into project activities are encouraged.

3.7 Further Guidance

Projects under the Community-Based Monitoring and Research subprogram should be coordinated at a regional level with the assistance of the pertinent Regional Contaminants Committees (RCCs). Proposals to measure contaminants in traditional/country foods should be developed in consultation with regional health authorities so that data can be properly used for dietary exposure assessment. Regional health authorities are also responsible for developing and communicating health-related information in the region and will, therefore, need to be key partners in any community-based monitoring project with implications for human health.

Projects under the Community-Based Monitoring and Research subprogram that relate to the Environmental Monitoring and Research subprogram should complement, not duplicate, existing trend monitoring. Applicants should also look for ways to complement other programs (e.g., the Cumulative Impacts Monitoring Program (CIMP) and the Nunavut General Monitoring Plan (NGMP)) and build on existing monitoring activities. Territorial departments of natural resources and other regional wildlife and fisheries management agencies may also be useful project partners.

Applicants wishing to submit a proposal under the Community-Based Monitoring and Research Blueprint are encouraged to work with NCP scientists who have expertise in the methods needed to accurately measure contaminant levels in environmental samples. It is important that the results of community knowledge projects be of the same high quality as the results produced under other NCP subprograms. In addition applicants are encouraged to consult with experts in participatory research methods to ensure rigour in the research design and methods expected in these kinds of projects.Participating analytical laboratories must follow rigorous quality assurance/quality control (QA/QC) practices and participate in the NCP’s interlaboratory QA/QC program. Contact the NCP secretariat for more details on the QA/QC program.

When looking for guidance on proposal development, including ideas for potential projects and partners, applicants are encouraged to contact the chairs of their respective RCCs (see Contacts in Appendix B).

Date modified:

Surveillance et recherche communautaires

3.1 Objet

Le sous‑programme Surveillance et recherche communautaires vise à promouvoir l’utilisation des connaissances et des perceptions des collectivités dans les projets relevant du Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord (PLCN). Il comprend des projets communautaires liés à d’autres projets financés dans le cadre des sous‑programmes Santé humaine et Surveillance et recherche environnementales, ainsi que des projets communautaires indépendants qui intègrent les connaissances locales à la science sur les contaminants.

Est-ce votre première application au PLCN? Contactez le secrétariat et il nous fera un grand plaisir de vous guider au travers du processus d’application. PLCN-NCP@AADNC-AANDC.GC.CA

Les projets soumis sous le sous-programme de Surveillance et recherche communautaires sont encouragés à orienter leur recherche sur les espèces et les secteurs prioritaires énoncés dans le plan directeur du sous-programme Surveillance et recherche environnementales; ainsi que sur les priorités identifiées dans le plan directeur du sous-programme Santé Humaine, tel que les choix alimentaires et/ou la perception des risques des aliments régionaux et traditionnels.

Pour être admissibles à une aide financière dans le cadre de ce sous­programme, les projets doivent être dirigés ou codirigés par un organisme communautaire ou un établissement du Nord. Les établissements du Nord admissibles sont les comités de chasseurs et de trappeurs, les organismes de recherche communautaire, les installations du Collège de l’Arctique (p. ex. l’Institut de recherche Aurora et l’Institut de recherche du Nunavut), les administrations régionales des territoires ou du Nord, et d’autres groupes communautaires. De plus, les attentes sont telles que la majorités des fonds de projets seront versés pour des activités et services dans les régions nordiques. Pour exceptions à cette règle, une justification devra être soumise. Pour obtenir davantage de renseignements sur l’admissibilité, veuillez communiquer avec le Secrétariat du PLCN.

Nouveau pour 2018-2019, les appliquants peuvent maintenant demander un financement pour une durée maximale de 3 ans dans le cadre d'une seule demande (par exemple, 2018/19, 2019/20 et 2020/21). Les descriptions de projet et les tableaux budgétaires doivent refléter la période de financement complète demandée. Veuillez contacter le Secrétariat du PCN pour plus d'informations concernant cette nouvelle possibilité.

Une somme de 500 000 $ a été affectée au financement des projets du sous-programme Surveillance et recherche communautaires pour l’exercice 2018-2019.

3.2 Introduction

Le PLCN est à la recherche de propositions pour réaliser des projets portant sur les changements environnementaux et sanitaires dans le cadre du sous‑programme Surveillance et recherche communautaires. Le présent plan directeur fournit des détails concernant le type de projets financés par le PLCN.

Les projets en cours dans le sous-programme Surveillance et recherche environnementales visent à mesurer les tendances temporelles des contaminants chez certaines espèces de poissons et d’autres animaux dans un nombre limité de lieux, de même qu’à réaliser des recherches en vue de mieux comprendre comment les contaminants se déplacent dans l’environnement.

Pour ce qui est du sous-programme Santé humaine, les projets sont centrés sur les problèmes de recherche et les questions qui permettront aux résidants du Nord d’évaluer, de comprendre et de mieux gérer les risques que comportent pour la santé dans le Nord du Canada le transport à grande distance des contaminants et la présence des contaminants chez les humains et dans les aliments régionaux et traditionnels.

Il est devenu de plus en plus évident que le changement climatique a des effets importants sur la structure et la fonction de l'écosystème dans l'Arctique. Ces changements pourraient influencer l'absorption et l'accumulation de contaminants dans le réseau trophique, ce qui pourrait affecter les concentrations de contaminants dans la faune et la flore surveillées par le PLCN (liste complète des espèces disponibles dans Environmental Monitoring and Research Blueprint).

3.3 Connaissances communautaires et tendances environnementales

Pour établir un lien entre les tendances et les émissions, il faut comprendre les causes des tendances, ce qui nécessite de connaître la façon dont l’écosystème a changé au cours de la période de surveillance.

Des observations se font depuis des milliers d’années; elles ont eu cours tout au long de la période de changements importants récemment induits par le climat dans l’Arctique ainsi que dès le début du programme de surveillance du PLCN. Les chasseurs et les membres de la collectivité continueront aussi de faire des observations dans l’avenir. Ils connaissent donc l’évolution passée des écosystèmes ainsi que leur état actuel, et sont les mieux placés pour évaluer les tendances futures et vérifier sur le terrain les résultats de la modélisation. Grâce à leurs observations continues, les chasseurs pourront également recueillir les données nécessaires pour appuyer leurs priorités d’une façon qui les aidera à quantifier ou à vérifier les prévisions à propos. Cette compréhension des écosystèmes de l’Arctique et de leur évolution passée peut grandement contribuer à la connaissance sur les tendances temporelles des concentrations de contaminants. Les projets proposés devraient systématiquement documenter ces observations ou indicateurs locaux d’une façon qui soit compréhensible par la collectivité et les autres chasseurs de même qu’utile aux spécialistes de la recherche sur les contaminants.

Les progrès dans les techniques d'observation, les technologies mobiles et la capacité communautaire, entre autres, augmentent la capacité de documenter systématiquement ces observations ou indicateurs locaux d'une manière compréhensible pour la communauté et les chasseurs, utiles aux chercheurs scientifiques sur les contaminants et aux initiatives internationales. réduire les émissions de ces contaminants à longue distance. Le PCN encourage l'utilisation de ces outils et d'autres outils novateurs.

Il est conseillé d’inclure dans l’équipe de projet d’autres chercheurs ayant une expertise du travail avec les communautés et de l’emploi de méthodes de recherche participative. On encouragera l’équipe de projet à collaborer avec les scientifiques antérieurs et actuels du PLCN dont les travaux portent sur les espèces et l’écosystème d’intérêt qu’elle se propose d’étudier. Ainsi, l’étude fournira des informations utiles pour la surveillance en cours des tendances des contaminants. Le projet devrait avoir pour objectif de documenter et d’analyser les observations locales et le savoir traditionnel sur l’écologie d’espèces importantes à surveiller pour le PLCN, ainsi que les changements survenus au fil du temps. Prière de communiquer avec le Secrétariat du PLCN pour obtenir les coordonnées des personnes-ressources et des détails supplémentaires sur les scientifiques du PLCN qui ont travaillé dans le passé ou qui travaillent actuellement sur des espèces et des écosystèmes dans votre domaine d’intérêt.

3.4 Surveiller les effets du changement climatique dans votre communauté

Les changements climatiques peuvent influer sur la circulation et les concentrations de contaminants dans l'environnement, y compris dans les espèces fauniques importantes pour l'alimentation traditionnelle des peuples autochtones du Nord.

Les projets qui étudient ce lien devraient impliquer les jeunes, entre autres, dans la surveillance des variables du changement climatique qui fourniront les données nécessaires pour soutenir les activités d'adaptation et combler les lacunes dans les connaissances dans le Nord canadien. Les domaines d'intérêt comprennent les tendances et les changements dans la flore, la faune, le pergélisol, l'état des glaces de mer, les inondations, etc.

3.5 Études communautaires sur les choix alimentaires et la perception des risques se rattachant aux aliments régionaux et traditionnels

Puisqu’un grand nombre de collectivités du Nord vivent des bouleversements économiques, politiques, sociaux et environnementaux dont les effets se font sentir sur la santé humaine et le bien‑être, le besoin d’obtenir rapidement de l’information pertinente sur les choix alimentaires et la sécurité n’a jamais été aussi pressant. Afin de saisir pleinement de quelle façon les gens perçoivent les choix alimentaires qui leur sont offerts et dans quelle mesure les contaminants orientent ces choix, il faut disposer d’information à jour provenant des collectivités. De plus, il importe de comprendre de quelle manière les résidents du Nord perçoivent les risques associés aux contaminants transfrontaliers à longue distance, car ces connaissances peuvent nous aider à communiquer aux collectivités l’information relative aux contaminants d’une façon qui leur soit plus efficace et utile. Par exemple, la diffusion d’avertissements sur les contaminants présents dans certaines sources alimentaires pourrait avoir peu de succès en matière de modification du comportement des gens si ceux‑ci ne perçoivent pas les contaminants comme un risque.

Dans cette catégorie, les projets peuvent être centrés sur les changements de la perception du risque et des choix alimentaires au fil du temps, ou encore sur les perceptions actuelles seulement au sujet du risque que posent les contaminants dans l’alimentation.

Parmi les projets qui pourraient être financés dans cette catégorie, il y aurait :

  • Une enquête dans les collectivités au sujet des facteurs qui influent sur les choix alimentaires des ménages (eg. En personne, applications web ou mobiles, etc.), cernant si la connaissance des contaminants y joue un rôle.
  • Une étude de la perception par une communauté des risques se rattachant aux contaminants transportés à grande distance qui se trouvent dans les aliments régionaux et traditionnels.

3.6 Autres initiatives de surveillance et de recherche communautaires

Certaines communautés souhaitent participer davantage à la direction des activités de recherche sur les contaminants dans leur région. Dans ce contexte, le PLCN veut obtenir des propositions communautaires ou régionales d’activités de courte durée qui permettraient de surveiller à petite échelle les contaminants issus de sources éloignées. En même temps, des sources locales existent et le PCN reconnaît qu'il est nécessaire de pouvoir faire la distinction entre les sources à longue distance et les émissions locales dans le Nord.

Dans le cadre des projets de cette catégorie, on pourrait notamment prélever des échantillons et analyser des aliments régionaux et traditionnels importants afin de déceler la présence de contaminants susceptibles de poser un risque pour la santé humaine et pour lesquels on ne dispose pas de données récentes. Les collectivités auraient aussi l’occasion d’utiliser de nouveaux outils d’échantillonnage atmosphérique passif pour les polluants organiques persistants (POP).

Les projets qui intègrent des possibilités d'éducation et de formation pour les étudiants locaux et les membres de la communauté qui s'intéressent aux sciences de l'environnement, à la santé publique et / ou au mieux-être communautaire dans les activités du projet sont encouragés.

3.7 Autres lignes directrices

Les projets du sous-programme Surveillance et recherche communautaires devraient être coordonnés au niveau régional avec l’aide des comités régionaux des contaminants. Les propositions visant la mesure des contaminants dans les aliments régionaux et traditionnels devraient être élaborées en consultation avec les autorités sanitaires régionales, de sorte que les données puissent être appliquées à l’évaluation de l’exposition dans le régime alimentaire. De plus, comme ces autorités sont tenues de préparer et de diffuser de l’information sur la santé dans leur région, elles devront être des partenaires clés dans tous les projets de surveillance communautaire ayant des liens avec la santé humaine.

Les projets du sous-programme Surveillance et recherche communautaires ne doivent pas doublonner les activités de surveillance des tendances menées dans le sous-programme Surveillance et recherche environnementales, mais plutôt les compléter. De plus, les promoteurs doivent chercher des façons de compléter d’autres programmes (Programme de surveillance des effets cumulatifs [PSEC] et Programme de surveillance générale du Nunavut [PSGN]) et de tirer profit des activités de surveillance en cours. Les ministères territoriaux des ressources naturelles et les autres organismes régionaux de gestion des ressources fauniques et halieutiques peuvent aussi constituer des partenaires intéressants.

Les promoteurs qui désirent présenter une proposition conformément au plan directeur du sous-programme Surveillance et recherche communautaires sont invités à collaborer avec les scientifiques du PLCN qui connaissent bien les méthodes requises pour mesurer avec exactitude les niveaux de contamination des échantillons prélevés dans l’environnement. Il importe que les projets de connaissances communautaires produisent des résultats d’aussi bonne qualité que ceux des autres sous-programmes du PLCN. En outre, les promoteurs sont encouragés à consulter des experts en méthodes de recherche participative afin d’assurer la rigueur attendue dans la conception et les méthodes de recherche pour ces types de projets. Les laboratoires d’analyse participants doivent adopter des pratiques rigoureuses d’assurance et de contrôle de la qualité (AQ/CQ) et participer au programme d’AQ/CQ interlaboratoire du PLCN. Communiquer avec le Secrétariat du PLCN pour de plus amples renseignements sur le programme d’AQ/CQ.

Les laboratoires d’analyse participants doivent adopter des pratiques rigoureuses d’assurance et de contrôle de la qualité (AQ/CQ) et participer au programme d’AQ/CQ interlaboratoire du PLCN.

 Pour obtenir des conseils en vue d’élaborer leurs propositions, notamment des suggestions de projets et de partenaires, les promoteurs sont invités à communiquer avec le président de leur comité régional des contaminants. (Voir la liste des personnes‑ressources).

Date de modification :