Guidelines

1.1      Timelines for the Northern Contaminants Program Call for Proposals

The Northern Contaminants Program (NCP) issues a Call for Proposals in November of every year. The NCP is now accepting funding proposals for 2017–2018. The deadline for proposal submissions is 11:59 PM Eastern Standard Time, Tuesday, January 10, 2017

Table 1.1 Timelines for the NCP 2017-2018 Call for Proposals
MILESTONES / TASKSDATE
Call for Proposals issued November 18, 2016
Proposal consultation process with Inuit Research Advisors, communities and Regional Contaminants Committees

November 18, 2016

to January 10, 2017

Deadline for submission of proposals January 10, 2017
Applicants apply for research licences and ethics review, as applicable. January to April 2017
Proposal Review Period - proposals are reviewed by peer reviewers, technical review teams and Regional Contaminants Committees

late January to

end of March 2017

Deadline for submission of Community Engagement forms March 31, 2017
NCP Management Committee meets to make final funding decisions April 2017
Written notification sent to applicants on the status of their proposal(s) May 2017
Funding Agreements prepared and signed June 2017 and ongoing
NCP Results Workshop – Northern location TBC September 26-28 2017

 

1.2      Available Funds

The current focus of the Northern Contaminants Program (NCP) is on the high priority issues in communities where people are exposed to contaminant levels of concern to health authorities (see Contaminants of Concern).

Activities funded by the NCP fall under five subprograms and their associated funding envelopes. Note these funding levels are approximate and may be subject to change

Table 1.2 NCP Funding by Subprogram for the 2017-2018 Call for Proposals
NCP SubprogramsOngoing / Core ProjectsResearch / OtherProjectsTotal Funding
Human Health N/A $1,075,000

$1,075,000

 

Environmental Monitoring and Research (EMR)

Ongoing core monitoring projects:

Only project leaders identified in the EMR Blueprint are invited to submit proposals for ongoing core monitoring projects.

Research projects:

Open to proposals for research projects that address priorities identified in the EMR Blueprint

$  850,000 $   225,000 $1,075,000
Community-Based Monitoring and Research (CBMR) N/A $   250,000 $   250,000

Communications, Capacity and Outreach (CCO)

Ongoing core projects:

Support for Regional Contaminants Committees, Inuit Research Advisors and key NCP communicators

Other projects:

Open to proposals for projects and activities that address priorities identified in the CCO Blueprint

$  450,000 $ 150,000     $   600,000
Program Coordination and Aboriginal Partnerships $1,100,000 N/A $1,100,000
TOTALS $2,450,000 $1,650,000 $4,100,000

Applicants should consult the NCP Blueprints for a description of these subprograms when preparing their proposals.

 

1.3      Geographic focus of the Northern Contaminants Program

The geographic focus of NCP is Yukon, Northwest Territories, Nunavut, Nunavik and Nunatsiavut. Proposals for work to be conducted outside these regions will be considered on a case-by-case basis according to their relevance to the various NCP Blueprints.

1.4      Changes to the 2017-2018 NCP Call for Proposals

Please note the following important changes and updates in this year’s Call for Proposals:

  • There will be an NCP Results Workshop in September 2017 (northern location to be confirmed). As such, project budgets can include a request, up to a maximum of $2,500, to offset travel costs for one project representative to attend.
  • The former "Approval of Consultation Form" is now referred to as the "Community Engagement Form." Project leaders are still required to engage their northern community partners to obtain this signed form, due by March 31, 2017, as described in sections 1.1, 2.1, and 3.
  • Human Health Blueprint: No significant changes for 2017-2018
  • Environmental Monitoring and Research Blueprint: Microplastics are now being considered a contaminant of emerging concern. Proposals are being solicited to investigate the potential for microplastics to be transported through the atmosphere, and to assess their presences and distribution in marine ecosystems. Ship-based and community centered projects aimed at monitoring contaminants in seawater have been incorporated into the monitoring plan for marine ecosystems.
  • Community Based Monitoring & Research: There is no longer a three year limit on community based projects as each project is thoroughly reviewed on an annual basis and funding is awarded based on scientific excellence. Additionally, proposals looking at microplastics in the marine environment may be submitted to the community based monitoring & research subprogram provided they meet the essential criteria set out in the blueprint.
  • Communications, Capacity, and Outreach Blueprint: Additional opportunities have been added under section 9.5.2 "Delivery of synthesized contaminants messages," allowing for projects to highlight the work undertaken in the NCP over the last 25 years.

 

1.5      Responsibilities of Applicants

All NCP-funded projects must conform to the guidelines outlined below.

1.5.1 Partnerships

The NCP requires that all funded projects be carried out in partnership with Northerners. Scientists are encouraged to work with community leaders, Elders, hunters and other knowledgeable individuals to incorporate traditional knowledge into the design and conduct of the study. Community input to the research is important, as are sensitive and sound researcher–community relations; all must be clearly demonstrated in project proposals. The Regional Contaminants Committees (RCCs) and the Inuit Research Advisors (IRAs) play a particularly important role in this respect and should be involved in any steps taken to work with the communities, see Contacts.

The NCP supports interdisciplinary studies that advance general knowledge related to contaminants, including projects that address the interactions between climate change and contaminants. Applicants are encouraged to seek opportunities to combine NCP activities with those funded by other programs such as ArcticNet to explore interdisciplinary questions.

Project leaders are also encouraged to seek co-funding from other programs that support community-based research and monitoring in the Arctic. Two such programs that operate in the Northwest Territories and Nunavut, respectively, are the Cumulative Impacts Monitoring Program (CIMP) and the Nunavut General Monitoring Plan. For more information, please contact CIMP by e-mail at nwtcimp@gov.nt.ca and for NGMP, please e-mail NGMP-PSGN@aandc-aadnc.gc.ca or call 1-855-897-6988.

1.5.2 Training the next generation of Arctic scientists

The NCP recognizes the importance of training the next generation of Arctic scientists as well as training scientists in the North. Research funded by the NCP is often well suited for graduate level research projects. The involvement of students in NCP research and monitoring projects is strongly encouraged. Project leaders are also encouraged to develop links with the Arctic Colleges and other educational institutions to enhance the training and education of Northern students by including them in the project work.

1.5.3 Northern consultation and informed consent

All applicants are asked to review the Community Engagement Requirements for Northern Contaminants Program Projects carefully; this specifies consultation requirements for all project proposals, see section 3. Applicants must demonstrate, in writing, appropriate engagement as per the above-mentioned requirements, ensure that they allow enough time to complete this process and are encouraged to discuss their consultation plans with the appropriate Regional Contaminant Committee(s) and/or Inuit Research Advisors, see Contacts.

For projects involving the collection of personal information and/or samples from people, informed consent must be obtained prior to final approval of the project. As well, agreements must be established with First Nations and Inuit governments or organizations that pertain to ownership, control, access and possession of data and information (OCAP principles) collected from individuals. 

1.5.4 Licensing, ethics review and health and safety

All research taking place in Canada’s North requires a scientific research licence. Please consult the websites of the licensing authorities in the following regions, and/or contact the Inuit Research Advisors for guidance, see Contacts.

Every research project involving the collection of personal information and/or samples from people will be required to provide proof of approval from all relevant ethics review boards/committees to the NCP Secretariat before the research project is given final approval.

The health and safety of NCP research teams, including Northern community members who assist/participate in the research in any way, is of paramount importance. NCP Project Leaders should be aware of their responsibilities with respect to ensuring the health and safety of their teams, particularly when carrying out research activities in remote northern locations. 

NCP researchers are encouraged to consider the following information on health, safety, insurance, training, licensing and other aspects of working in the North, which was developed for researchers during International Polar Year, and disseminate this information to applicable members of the project team and incorporate these measures into project plans:  http://www.api-ipy.gc.ca/pg_IPYAPI_061-eng.html

1.5.5 Project communications

The NCP places an emphasis on the importance of clear and appropriate communications during all phases of a project’s lifecycle, from planning and development to the dissemination of results, and all stages in-between. Projects must develop a communications plan/strategy that is acceptable to the relevant Regional Contaminants Committees (RCCs), First Nations and Inuit governments and public health authorities (where applicable).

It is required that successful applicants will work in partnership with relevant local/regional organizations and the NCP Secretariat to develop any messaging related to contaminants exposure to human populations. Public health authorities, and First Nations and Inuit governments in areas with settled land claims, bear the ultimate authority to approve and release public health messages.

1.5.6 Data management

The integrity and long-term stability of sample archive and data management is very important for meeting the long-term science and policy objectives of the NCP. Therefore, the NCP has developed a Data Principles and Guidelines document that outlines the expectations and responsibilities of the NCP and of project teams regarding data and information generated from NCP-funded research and monitoring projects. This document is available now upon request from the NCP Secretariat (PLCN-NCP@aandc.gc.ca). To meet the objectives laid out in the Data Principles and Guidelines document, the NCP has adopted the use of the Canadian Polar Data Network - Polar Data Catalogue to ensure long-term access and availability of data, as well as to promote collaboration among researchers.

  • All NCP project leaders must use the Polar Data Catalogue to create a full set of metadata that completely document and describe the data collected as part of their NCP projects.
  • Applicants must describe their data management plans in their proposals.
  • Upon approval of funding each project leader will be required to complete and sign the NCP Sample and Data Accessibility Form.
  • Where possible, Global Positioning System (GPS) coordinates should be captured when samples are collected.

The NCP Secretariat will review entries in the Polar Data Catalogue to ensure that NCP projects are reporting their metadata. Since metadata can be created before analysis is complete, the deadline for completion is March 31, 2016.  Any holdback or further installment of funds including funding for the subsequent year will be contingent upon the creation of a new metadata record or update to an existing record.

1.5.7 Sample archiving

It is important that all tissue samples collected during the course of NCP studies be properly archived for future use. The collection and archiving of tissues from important traditional/country foods is of particular importance. These tissues could be used in the future to assess dietary exposure of Northerners to contaminants.

1.5.8 Quality assurance and quality control

A quality assurance and quality control (QA/QC) program has been established to assess the performance of all laboratories carrying out contaminant analyses under the NCP and to ensure inter-comparability of data. The QA/QC program is also designed to meet the diverse QA/QC needs of the researchers and analysts by providing them with appropriate diagnostic tools for their analyses and by offering guidance and support in taking corrective measures if needed. Further information on the NCP QA/QC program can be found in a detailed QA/QC report available upon request by e-mail to the NCP Secretariat. To ensure the continued success of the QA/QC program, all laboratories performing analyses for NCP research are expected to participate in the program. Applicants are also required to report on laboratory QA/QC performance in their proposals (see Proposal Format in Section 2).

1.5.9 Reporting

Funding recipients are responsible for submitting the following project reports to the NCP Secretariat, in accordance with the deadlines outlined in Table 1.3. Please incorporate the above reporting requirements into your work plans.

Leaders of 2017-2018 funded projects are expected to attend the NCP Results Workshop, held in late September 2017 in a northern location to be confirmed. Please see section 2.2 of this Call for Proposals document regarding travel funds to attend this workshop.

Table 1.3 NCP Reporting Requirements 2017-2018
Type of Reporting RequirementFederal Government funding recipientsAll other funding recipientsDate
Mid-year report Yes September 15, 2017
NCP Results Workshop Yes September 26-28 2017
Final financial report Yes No March 15, 2018
Project metadata input in the Polar Data Catalogue Yes March 31, 2018
End of year synopsis of research report Yes April 30, 2018
Final financial statement No Yes July 29, 2019

The end of year synopsis of research report allows NCP to make research results and other project information available to the public, including northerners and the scientific community, in a timely manner. Short versions of the results are posted on the NCP website. The complete Synopsis Report of NCP research is published in electronic format in September of each year.  The contents of the Synopsis Report will also be widely accessible to the public through the NCP Publications Database.

1.5.10 Publications

Project leaders are expected to publish their results in peer-reviewed literature in a timely manner. Project leaders are required to provide the NCP Secretariat with an advance copy of any materials being developed for communication with the public that is related to and/or resulting from work carried out with the support of the NCP.

Project leaders and all team members are expected to acknowledge funding from the NCP in any publications, presentations, print and electronic communications related to and/or resulting from work carried out with the support of the NCP. For guidance and/or instructions on the proper acknowledgment of the NCP funding, and/or logos to use, please contact Simon Smith at the NCP Secretariat at Simon.Smith@aandc-aadnc.gc.ca or 819-934-1022.

Date modified:

Lignes directrices

1.1      Calendrier du processus d’appel de propositions du PLCN

Le Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord (PLCN) lance un appel de propositions en novembre chaque année. Le PLCN accepte maintenant les demandes de financement pour 2017-2018. La date limite pour soumettre des propositions est le mardi 10 janvier 2017 à 23 h 59, heure normale de l’Est.

Tableau 1.1 Calendrier du processus d’appel de propositions du PLCN pour 2017-2018
TÂCHEDATE
Lancement de l’appel de propositions 18 novembre 2016
Processus de consultation avec les conseillers en recherche inuite, les collectivités et les comités régionaux des contaminants

18 novembre 2016

au 10 janvier 2017

Date limite pour la présentation des propositions 10 janvier 2017
Les promoteurs demandent les permis de recherche et l’examen déontologique, le cas échéant. Janvier à avril 2017
Période d’examen des propositions – les propositions sont remises aux pairs examinateurs appropriés, aux équipes d’examen technique et aux comités régionaux des contaminants

Fin janvier

à la fin mars 2017

Date limite pour la présentation des formulaires d’engagement de la communauté 31 mars 2017
Réunion du Comité de gestion du PLCN pour la prise de décisions finales concernant le financement Avril 2017
Réception par les promoteurs d’un avis écrit précisant l’état de leur(s) proposition(s) Mai 2017
Ententes de financement préparées et signées Juin 201 et en cours
Atelier sur les résultats du PLCN 26-28 septembre 2017



1.2      Fonds disponibles

Le PLCN vise à examiner des questions d’intérêt prioritaire dans des communautés où les membres sont exposés à des concentrations de contaminants qui préoccupent les autorités sanitaires (voir Contaminants préoccupants).

Le PLCN alloue des fonds à des projets dans le cadre de cinq sous‑programmes et de leurs enveloppes de financement respectives. Remarque : Ces enveloppes de financement sont approximatives et pourraient changer.

Tableau 1.2 Financement du PLCN par sous-programme pour l’appel de propositions 2017-2018
Sous-programmes du PLCNProjets de base en coursNouveaux projetsFinancement total
Santé humaine S.O. 1 075 000 $ 1 075 000 $

Surveillance et recherche environnementales (SRE)

Principaux projets de surveillance en cours :

Seuls les chefs de projet désignés dans le plan directeur de la SRE sont invités à présenter des propositions pour les principaux projets de surveillance en cours.

Projets de recherche :

Ouverte aux propositions de nouveaux projets de recherche qui ciblent les priorités établies dans le plan directeur.

850 000 $ 225 000 $ 1 075 000 $
Surveillance et recherche communautaires S.O. 250 000 $ 250 000 $

Communications, capacités et sensibilisation

Projets en cours :

Soutien aux comités régionaux des contaminants, aux conseillers en recherche inuite et aux communicateurs clés du PLCN

Autres projets:
Ouverte aux propositions de projets et d’activités qui ciblent les priorités établies dans le plan directeur

450 000 $ 150 000 $ 600 000 $
Coordination de programmes et partenariats autochtones 1 100 000 $ S.O. 1 100 000 $
TOTAUX 2 450 000 $ 1 650 000 $ 4 100 000 $

Les promoteurs peuvent consulter les plans directeurs du PLCN pour obtenir une description de ces sous-programmes au moment de préparer leurs propositions.

 

1.3      Cadre géographique du PLCN

Le cadre géographique du PLCN englobe le Yukon, les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, le Nunavut, le Nunavik et le Nunatsiavut. Les propositions de projet devant être réalisées à l’extérieur de ces régions seront examinées cas par cas, en fonction de leur pertinence pour les plans directeurs du PLCN.

 

1.4      Changements apportés aux appels de propositions du PLCN pour 2017-2018

Veuillez prendre note des changements et des mises à jour suivants dans l’appel de propositions de cette année :

  • Il y aura un atelier sur les résultats du PLCN en septembre 2017 (à un lieu dans le Nord qui demeure à confirmer). C’est pourquoi, les budgets des projets peuvent comprendre une demande d’un montant maximal de 2 500 $ pour compenser les coûts nécersssaires pour qu’un représetant y assiste.
  • L’ancien formulaire d’approbation de consultation est maintenant le Formulaire d’engagement de la communauté. Les responsables de projet doivent encore engager leurs partenaires de communauté du Nord à obtenir ce formulaire signé pour le 31 mars 2017, tel qu’indiqué aux sections 1.1, 2.1 et 3.
  • Plan directeur du sous-programme Santé humaine– Il n’y a pas de changement notable pour 2017-2018
  • Plan directeur du sous-programme Surveillance et recherche environnementales : Les micro- plastiques sont maintenant considérés comme un contaminant nouvellement préoccupant. Nous sollicitons des propositions pour étudier le potentiel de transport des microplastiques dans l'atmosphère et pour évaluer leur présence et leur répartition dans les écosystèmes marins. Des projets basés sur les navires et centrés sur les communautés visant à surveiller les contaminants dans l'eau de mer ont été intégrés au plan de surveillance des écosystèmes marins..
  • Surveillance et recherche communautaires – Il n'y a plus de limite de trois ans pour les projets communautaires car chaque projet est soigneusement revu sur une base annuelle et le financement est accordé en fonction de l'excellence scientifique. En outre, les propositions portant sur les microplastiques dans le milieu marin peuvent être soumises au sous-programme de surveillance et de recherche communautaires à condition qu'elles répondent aux critères essentiels énoncés dans le plan directeur.
  • Plan directeur du sous-programme Communications, capacités et sensibilisation– D'autres possibilités ont été ajoutées à la section 9.5.2, « Transmission de messages sur les contaminants synthétisés », permettant afin que les projets puissent mettre en lumière les travaux entrepris dans le cadre du PLCN au cours des 25 dernières années.

 

1.5      Responsabilités des promoteurs

Tous les projets financés par le PLCN doivent se conformer aux lignes directrices ci-après.

1.5.1 Partenariats

Le PLCN exige que tous les projets financés soient menés en partenariat avec les résidants du Nord. Les chercheurs sont encouragés à travailler avec les chefs, aînés, chasseurs et tout autre individu ayant des connaissances traditionnelles à intégrer dans la conception et la mise en œuvre de l’étude. La rétroaction des communautés est importante, tout comme le sont les saines relations entre les chercheurs et les communautés, et cela devrait clairement se refléter dans la proposition. À cet égard, les comités régionaux des contaminants (CRC) et les conseillers en recherche inuite (CRI) jouent un rôle particulièrement important et doivent participer à toutes les étapes des recherches au sein des communautés, (voir Personnes-ressources).

Le PLCN appuie la réalisation d’études interdisciplinaires permettant d’avancer l’état des connaissances générales sur les contaminants, y compris des projets qui traitent des interactions entre les changements climatiques et les contaminants, et encourage les promoteurs à combiner les activités entreprises dans le cadre du PLCN à des projets financés par d’autres programmes pour explorer ces questions interdisciplinaires (p. ex.ArcticNet [en anglais seulement]).

Les chefs de projet sont également encouragés à solliciter des fonds auprès d’autres programmes communautaires de surveillance et de recherche dans l’Arctique. Deux de ces programmes sont mis en œuvre dans les Territoires du Nord‑Ouest et au Nunavut, respectivement : le Programme de surveillance des effets cumulatifs (PSEC) et le Plan de surveillance générale du Nunavut (PSGN). (Pour communiquer avec le PSEC, écrire à l’adresse nwtcimp@gov.nt.ca. Pour le PSGN, communiquer en utilisant l’adresse NGMP-PSGN@aandc-aadnc.gc.ca ou appelez le 1-855-897-6988.

1.5.2 Formation de la prochaine génération de scientifiques spécialistes de l’Arctique

Le PLCN reconnait l’importance de former la prochaine génération de chercheurs dans l’Arctique et dans le Nord. Les projets financés par le PLCN conviennent souvent aux projets de recherche des études supérieures. La participation des étudiants aux projets de recherche et de surveillance menés dans le cadre du PLCN est grandement encouragée. Les chefs de projet sont aussi encouragés à tisser des liens avec les collèges de l’Arctique et d’autres établissements d’enseignement pour améliorer la formation et les connaissances des étudiants du Nord.

1.5.3 Consultations dans le Nord et le consentement éclairé

Tous les promoteurs sont priés d’examiner attentivement les Exigences relatives à l'engagement des communautés pour les projets du Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord, qui dictent les exigences relatives à la consultation pour toutes les propositions de projet, (voir la section 3). Les promoteurs doivent démontrer par écrit qu’ils ont mené les activités d’engagement appropriées conformément aux lignes directrices susmentionnées, s’assurer qu’ils ont prévu suffisamment de temps pour accomplir ce processus et discuter avec les comités régionaux des contaminants (CRC) et les conseillers en recherche inuite (CRI) appropriés (voir Personnes-ressources).

Pour les projets impliquant la collection de renseignements personnels et / ou des échantillons de personnes, le consentement éclairé doit être obtenu avant l'approbation finale du projet. En outre, les accords doivent être établis avec les gouvernements ou les organisations qui se rapportent à la propriété, contrôle, accès et possession de données et d'informations (des principes de PCAP) prélevés chez des personnes Inuites et des Premières nations. 

1.5.4 Examen déontologique, délivrance de permis et santé et sécurité

Toutes les activités de recherche effectuées dans le Nord canadien nécessitent un permis de recherche. Veuillez consulter les sites Web des autorités responsables de la délivrance des permis dans les régions suivantes ou communiquer avec votre CRI pour en savoir davantage sur la délivrance de permis dans les régions (voir Personnes-ressources) :

Tout projet de recherche sur la santé humaine qui implique des personnes doit à tout le moins être examiné et accepté par un comité ou une commission d’éthique avant de recevoir l’approbation du PLCN.

La santé et la sécurité des équipes de recherche du PLCN, y compris les membres des collectivités du Nord qui fournissent leur aide ou participent à la recherche, sont d’une importance capitale. Les chefs de projet du PLCN doivent connaître leurs responsabilités relatives à la santé et à la sécurité de leurs équipes, particulièrement lorsque celles‑ci effectuent des activités de recherche dans des endroits reculés dans le Nord. 

Le PLCN encourage les chercheurs à tenir compte de l’information suivante en matière de santé, de sécurité, d’assurance, de formation, de délivrance de permis et d’autres aspects du travail dans le Nord, qui a été élaborée pour les chercheurs dans le cadre de l’Année polaire internationale, ainsi qu’à diffuser ces renseignements aux membres concernés de l’équipe de projet et à intégrer les mesures recommandées à leurs plans de projet :  http://www.api-ipy.gc.ca/pg_IPYAPI_061-fra.html

1.5.5 Communications

Le PLCN met l'accent sur l'importance des communications claires et appropriées au cours de toutes les phases du cycle de vie d'un projet, de la planification et du développement de la diffusion des résultats, et toutes les étapes intermédiaires. Les projets doivent développer un plan de communication / stratégie qui soit acceptable pour les comités régionaux des contaminants pertinents (CRC), des Premières nations et des Inuits et des autorités de santé publique (le cas échéant).

Il est nécessaire que les candidats retenus travailleront en partenariat avec les organisations compétentes locales / régionales et le Secrétariat du PLCN à développer tout messagerie liés à l'exposition à des contaminants dans les populations humaines. Les autorités de la santé publique et les gouvernements des Premières nations et des Inuits dans les régions où les revendications territoriales réglées, portent l'autorité ultime d'approuver et de publier des messages de santé publique.

1.5.6 Gestion des données

L’intégrité et la stabilité à long terme de la gestion des données et des archives d’échantillons sont très importantes pour l’atteinte des objectifs stratégiques et scientifiques à long terme du PLCN. Le PCN a donc élaboré un document intitulé « Principes et lignes directrices en matière de données » qui décrit les attentes et les responsabilités du PLCN et des équipes de projet en ce qui concerne les données et les renseignements provenant des projets de recherche et de surveillance financés par le PLCN. Ce document est disponible sur demande auprès du Secrétariat du PLCN (PLCN-NCP@aandc.gc.ca). Pour atteindre les objectifs énoncés dans le document des principes et lignes directrices en matière de donnéers, le PLCN a adopté l'utilisation du Réseau canadien de données polaires - Catalogue de données polaires pour assurer l'accès à long terme et la disponibilité des données, et favoriser la collaboration entre les chercheurs.Par conséquent, le PLCN a adopté l’utilisation du Polar Data Catalogue du Réseau canadien de données polaires pour assurer l’accessibilité et la disponibilité des données à long terme, et favoriser la collaboration entre les chercheurs.

  • Tous les chefs de projet du PLCN doivent utiliser le Polar Data Catalogue [en anglais seulement] pour produire un ensemble complet de métadonnées qui documente et décrit entièrement les données recueillies dans le cadre de leurs projets
  • Les promoteurs doivent décrire leur plan de gestion des données dans leur proposition.
  • Une fois le financement approuvé, chaque chef de projet doit remplir et signer le formulaire du PLCN – Accès aux données et aux échantillons.
  • Dans la mesure du possible, les coordonnées du système mondial de positionnement (GPS) devraient être notées au moment de recueillir des échantillons.

Le Secrétariat du PLCN examinera les entrées dans le Polar Data Catalogue pour veiller à ce que les métadonnées des projets du PLCN y soient incluses. Comme les métadonnées peuvent être produites avant que l’analyse ne soit achevée, la date limite pour leur création se situe au 31 mars 2016. L’ensemble des retenues ou des versements de fonds, y compris le financement pour l’exercice à venir, dépend de la création d’un nouveau fichier de métadonnées ou de la mise à jour d’un fichier existant.

1.5.7 Archivage des échantillons

Il est important d’archiver avec soin tous les échantillons de tissus prélevés durant les études du PLCN, en vue de leur utilisation future. Il est particulièrement important de recueillir et d’archiver des échantillons de tissus provenant d’espèces représentatives à la base des aliments traditionnels. Ces échantillons de tissus pourraient être utilisés ultérieurement pour évaluer l’exposition future par voie alimentaire.

1.5.8 Assurance de la qualité et contrôle de la qualité

Un programme d’assurance de la qualité et de contrôle de la qualité (AQ/CQ) a été mis sur pied pour évaluer le travail d’analyse des contaminants effectué par les laboratoires dans le cadre du PLCN et garantir la comparabilité des données. Le programme AQ/CQ a été conçu pour répondre aux différents besoins des chercheurs et des analystes en leur fournissant les outils de diagnostic appropriés à leurs analyses ainsi que des conseils et un appui en matière de mesures correctrices, au besoin. Les précisions sur le programme AQ/CQ se trouvent dans un rapport détaillé qu’on peut se procurer sur demande par courriel au Secrétariat du PLCN. Pour assurer le succès continu du programme AQ/CQ, les laboratoires qui effectuent des analyses dans le cadre du PLCN doivent y participer. Les promoteurs sont également tenus de faire rapport des rendements des laboratoires AQ/CQ dans leurs propositions (voir le Format de présentation des propositions, à la section 2).

1.5.9 Rapports

Les bénéficiaires du financement sont tenus de présenter les rapports de projet suivants au Secrétariat du PLCN, selon les échéanciers indiqués au tableau 1.3. Veuillez intégrer les exigences suivantes en matière de présentation des rapports dans vos plans de travail. Les responsables de projets financés en 2017-2018, ou un autre lieu, sont tenus de participer à l’atelier des résultats du PLCN qui se tiendra à la fin septembre 2017. Lasection 2.2. du présent appel de propositions donne des renseignements au sujet du financement requis pour assister à cet atelier

Tableau 1.3 Exigences en matière de présentation des rapports du PLCN pour 2017-2018
Type d’exigenceBénéficiaires du financement du gouvernement fédéralTous les autres bénéficiaires de financementDate
Rapport semestriel Oui 15 septembre 2017
Atelier sur les résultats du PLCN Oui September 2017
Rapport financier final Oui Non 15 mars 2018
Entrée des métadonnées du projet dans le Polar Data Catalogue Oui 31 mars 2018
Sommaire annuel des travaux de recherche Oui 30 avril 2018
État financier final Non Oui 29 juillet 2018

Le sommaire annuel des travaux de recherche permet au PLCN de rendre accessibles au public les résultats de recherche et autres renseignements sur les projets, y compris les résidants du Nord et la communauté scientifique, en temps opportun. Des versions abrégées des résultats sont affichées sur le site Web du PLCN. Le sommaire annuel des travaux de recherche du PLCN est publié en format électronique chaque année en septembre. Le contenu du sommaire annuel sera aussi facilement accessible au public dans la banque de données des publications du PLCN.

1.5.10 Publications

Les chefs de projet sont tenus de publier leurs résultats en temps opportun dans une revue avec comité de lecture. Ils sont tenus de fournir à l’avance au Secrétariat du PLCN une copie de tout document élaboré à des fins de communication avec le public concernant les travaux réalisés avec le soutien du PLCN ou résultant de ceux‑ci.

Les chefs de projet et tous les membres d’équipe sont tenus de mentionner le financement du PLCN dans toute publication, toute présentation ou tout produit de communication imprimés ou électroniques associés aux travaux réalisés avec le soutien du PLCN ou résultant de ceux‑ci. Pour obtenir des lignes directrices et des instructions sur la manière de reconnaître le financement et d’utiliser les logos du PLCN, veuillez communiquer avec Simon Smith au Secrétariat du PLCN à Simon.Smith@aandc-aadnc.gc.ca ou au 819-639-7429.

Date de modification :