Deep water mussel farming in Newfoundland and Labrador

Fisheries and Oceans Canada Presents:

AQUACULTURE RESEARCH

Deep water mussel farming in Newfoundland and Labrador

My name is Dr. Harry Murray. I’m a DFO scientist at Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Centre in St. John’s. We’re working on a project to compare the condition of and health of mussels grown in shallow water versus grown in deep-water sites.

[Dr. Harry Murray, Research Scientist, Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO)]

ACRDP – Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development program. That’s a funding program administered directly by the Department of Fisheries and Oceans Canada and it provides funding money for DFO researchers to work directly with industry.

The grower, Norlantic Processors, whose president is Mr. Terry Mills. Terry came to me with a question about whether or not we could we could start looking at the idea of growing mussels in the offshore. He’s been playing around with this idea for quite a number of years.

[Terry Mills, Norlantic Processors Ltd.]

My name is Terry Mills. I’m with Norlantic Processors Ltd. Plant manager, farm supervisor and I’m also part owner. We started about 7 years ago in this part of the bay and we needed extra grow out sites and the only place left on the Northeast coast was out in the deeper, say the main ocean.

We started to do some research on our own, some, just a commercial trials and the results were encouraging. We were growing mussels out in fairly deep water so we did it a few years, we looked at the results and then we, obviously we were certainly out of our league when it comes to, we had to get some applied science to confirm what we were analyzing and so we met with some DFO people and we met with Harry and we put together and we submitted it and off to the races!

We’re out here in Notre Dame Bay in an area called Pleasantview where we’re looking at working on our ACRDP project to study the growth of and the health of mussels in deep water versus mussels grown in shallow water, which is more typical.

Deep water culture is not a new thing, it’s actually happening in a number of areas around the world. But it is quite new here in Newfoundland. And the idea of going offshore is to increase the overall sustainability of the industry.

As part of this project we have been also collecting environmental data. Environmental data is important because the animals grow in the water environment, obviously, and the anything that happens in the water environment is going to affect mussels directly.

This instrument here is called an echosounder and it’s an oceanographic instrument that allows us to measure various environmental parameters like oxygen, temperature, salinity and chlorophyll. We are going to be using it today to do an environmental or oceanographic profile of the water column.

There is some thought that there are areas in deep water that are basically concentrated food for the mussels. If you can find the zone in the deep water and put your mussels there, than the mussels should do very very well.

If you can find that zone than the mussels will be in the optimal position for growth and for health and very low stress. The other thought is that in deep water the environment is a lot more stable. So the animals like a more stable environment. The more stable the environment is the better they’ll be as well.

We’re learning a tremendous amount and over this period of time we were able also to bring in a really fantastic graduate student over there, Daria Gallardi. She’s a PhD student working on the project and she’s introduced a lot of really new and really innovative ideas to the whole project.

[Daria Gallardi, PhD candidate at Memorial University of Newfoundland]

What we are looking into is the physiological stress response of the mussels. So we are looking in to some genes of interest that are related to particular to environmental characteristics like temperature or salinity, for example.

This is the part of the work where we look at the changes of certain types of enzymes related to the environmental response of the mussels. We know from previous work that has been done that there are certain proteins and their associated genes that can respond to stress factors, changes in salinity, to temperature and such.  So we are looking at a group of specific genes related to this type of system. So what we need to do is, we need to sample from the gill tissue. We are going to freeze this and bring it back to the laboratory where we can run specific molecular biology tests on this type of tissue to let us know how these genes are responding over time.

The results have indicated that mussels grown in deep water sites do a little better than those grown in shallow water.

The project was certainly worthwhile from a science point of view and also from a commercial application to mussel farming in deep water.

This work is very important to the industry itself as the mussel culture industry is expanding the numbers of these shallow water sites are decreasing and which becomes a big problem as the industry expands. So it’s a good idea to start exploring moving offshore in to more deeper areas so that we can maintain or improve on the sustainability of the industry over time.

There are still many questions to be answered. We got a lot of questions answered and I think that this process and this project will certainly be advanced to other parts and other regions of Canada and probably anywhere in the world.

This is a mussel sock taken from our south arm deep site. So mussels were hanging from 15 meters below the surface for 12 months and this is what you get: fantastic mussels

For more information, visit: www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, 2015

 

Special thanks to:

Norlantic Processors Ltd.

President

Terry Mills

Crew Members

Murray Allen

Dwayne Blake

Roger Brett

Marjory Brett

Wallace Sheppard

 

Fisheries and Oceans Canada’s Aquaculture Collaborative

Research and Development Program (ACRDP)

 ACRDP Research Team Members

Lead Scientist (DFO)

Dr. Harry Murray

PhD Candidate

Daria Gallardi

Research Technicians (DFO)

Dwight Drover and Sharon Kenny


Memorial University of Newfoundland

 

Video Production Team

Project Management (DFO)

Tara Donaghy

Science Advisor (DFO)

Emily Nelson

Administrative Assistance (DFO)

Dominique Bussière

 

Production and Direction

Wavelight Productions

Date modified:

Élevage de moules en eau profonde à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Pêches et Océans Canada présente :

RECHERCHE SUR L'AQUACULTURE

Élevage de moules en eau profonde à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Je m'appelle Harry Murray. Je suis un scientifique de Pêches et Océans Canada du Centre des pêches de l'Atlantique nord-ouest (CPANO) de St. John's. Mon équipe et moi travaillons sur un projet visant à comparer la croissance et la santé des moules élevées en eau peu profonde par rapport aux moules élevées en eaux profondes.

[Harry Murray, chercheur scientifique, Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO)]

PCRDA – Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture. Il s'agit d'un programme de financement géré par Pêches et Océans Canada qui fournit des fonds aux chercheurs du MPO pour qu'ils collaborent directement avec l'industrie.

L'éleveur est Norlantic Processors Ltd., dont le président est Terry Mills. Terry est venu me poser une question à savoir si nous pouvions examiner la possibilité d'élever des moules en zone extracôtière. Il avait cette idée en tête depuis plusieurs années.

[Terry Mills, Norlantic Processors Ltd.]

Je m'appelle Terry Mills. Je suis gestionnaire, superviseur d'installation et copropriétaire de Norlantic Processors Ltd. Nous avons lancé nos activités il y a sept ans dans cette partie de la baie, et nous avions besoin de sites d'élevage supplémentaires. La seule zone disponible sur la côte nord-est se trouvait en eau plus profonde, c'est-à-dire en haute mer.

Nous avons commencé à faire quelques recherches de notre côté, seulement de petits essais commerciaux, et les résultats étaient encourageants. Nous avons élevé des moules dans une zone assez profonde pendant quelques années, et nous avons examiné les résultats. Évidemment, nous n'étions pas en mesure de réaliser des examens adéquats, et nous avions besoin de sciences appliquées pour confirmer nos analyses. Nous avons alors rencontré une équipe du MPO. Nous avons fait la connaissance de Harry, après quoi nous avons rassemblé et soumis nos résultats, et c'était parti!

Nous nous trouvons à la baie Notre Dame dans une zone appelée Pleasantview, d'où nous pouvons admirer la vue sur notre projet du PCRDA portant sur l'étude de la croissance et de la santé des moules en eau profonde par rapport aux moules élevées en eau peu profonde, selon la technique plus habituelle.

L'élevage en eau profonde n'est pas une nouvelle technique; en fait, elle est pratiquée à plusieurs endroits ailleurs dans le monde. Toutefois, il s'agit d'une technique encore peu utilisée à Terre-Neuve. L'idée derrière l'élevage en eau profonde consiste à accroître la durabilité à long terme de l'industrie.

Dans le cadre de ce projet, nous avons également recueilli des données environnementales. Ces données sont importantes, car les animaux grandissent en milieu aquatique, ainsi tout ce qui est susceptible de modifier le milieu les affectera directement.

L'instrument que voici s'appelle une échosonde; c'est un instrument océanographique qui nous permet de mesurer divers paramètres environnementaux comme l'oxygène, la température, la salinité et la chlorophylle. Nous allons l'utiliser aujourd'hui pour établir un profil environnemental ou océanographique de la colonne d'eau.

On pense qu'il existe des zones en eau profonde qui  soutiennent des concentrations très élevées de nourriture pour les moules. Si vous pouviez trouver une de ces zones et y installer les moules, ce serait l'idéal pour elles.

Si seulement vous trouviez cette zone, les conditions de croissance et de santé des moules seraient optimales, tout en affichant un très faible niveau de stress. De plus, l'environnement en eau profonde est beaucoup plus stable. Les animaux préfèrent les environnements stables; plus l'environnement est stable, mieux les moules s'en porteront.

Nous acquérons énormément de connaissances et, au cours de cette période, nous avons eu l'occasion de travailler avec une étudiante diplômée extraordinaire, Daria Gallardi. Daria est une étudiante au doctorat qui travaille sur le projet, et elle a apporté, tout au long du projet, beaucoup de nouvelles idées très novatrices[Daria Gallardi, candidate au doctorat à l'Université Memorial de Terre-Neuve]

Nous voulons comprendre la réponse physiologique des moules face au stress. Nous cherchons à trouver des gènes particuliers relatifs à des caractéristiques environnementales précises, comme la température ou la salinité.

C'est la partie du projet où nous examinons les changements chez certains types d'enzymes en lien avec la réponse environnementale des moules. Grâce à des études antérieures, nous savons que certaines protéines et leurs gènes connexes peuvent répondre aux facteurs de stress, aux modifications de la salinité, à la température, etc.  Nous examinons donc un groupe de gènes précis liés à ce type de système. Pour ce faire, nous devons échantillonner les tissus branchiaux. Nous allons les congeler et les rapporter au laboratoire, où nous pourrons réaliser des essais de biologie moléculaire spécifiques sur ce type de tissus afin de déterminer comment ces gènes répondent au fil du temps.

Les résultats indiquent que les moules élevées en eau profonde se portent un peu mieux que celles élevées en eau peu profonde.

Le projet valait la peine d'un point de vue scientifique, de même qu'en vue de l'application commerciale de la mytiliculture en eau profonde.

Ce travail est très important pour l'industrie elle-même, car la mytiliculture prend de l'ampleur alors que le nombre de sites en eau peu profonde disponibles diminue, ce qui devient vraiment problématique pour l'expansion de l'industrie. Il s'avère donc utile d'explorer les possibilités de culture en eau plus profonde, de sorte que nous pourrons maintenir ou améliorer la durabilité de l'industrie au fil du temps.

Il reste encore plusieurs questions auxquelles il faut répondre. Jusqu'à maintenant, nous avons répondu à un grand nombre de questions, et je crois que ce processus et ce projet susciteront l'intérêt d'autres parties et régions du Canada, voire d'ailleurs dans le monde.

Voici un boudin de moules prélevé à notre site en eau profonde du bras sud. Des moules ont été suspendues à 15 m sous la surface pendant 12 mois. Le résultat : elles sont magnifiques.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

© Sa Majesté la Reine du Chef du Canada, 2015

 

Remerciements particuliers à :

Norlantic Processors Ltd.

Président

Terry Mills

Membres d'équipage

Murray Allen

Dwayne Blake

Roger Brett

Marjory Brett

Wallace Sheppard

Programme coopératif de recherche et développement

en aquaculture (PCRDA) de Pêches et Océans Canada

 

Membres de l'équipe de recherche du PCRDA

Scientifique responsable (MPO)

Harry Murray

Candidate au doctorat

Daria Gallardi

Techniciens en recherche (MPO)

Dwight Drover

Sharon Kenny

Université Memorial de Terre-Neuve

Équipe de production

Gestion de projet (MPO)

Tara Donaghy

Conseillère scientifique

Emily Nelson

Soutien administratif

Dominique Bussière

 

Production et direction

Wavelight Productions

Date de modification :