Separation Sciences and Analytical Biotechnology Laboratory

Separation sciences and analytical biotechnology

At the Centre for Vaccine Evaluation (CVE), our expertise in separation sciences and analytical biotechnology helps provide new tools for characterizing and analysing biologics.

 

Why we study biologics using separation sciences and analytical biotechnology

Biologics such as vaccines, blood products, and recombinant therapeutic protein preparations can contain simple or complex substances. As the amount, combination, and characteristics of these substances affect how the biotherapeutic product will act in the body, evaluating the quality of biologics is important. We use separation sciences and analytical biotechnology to analyse biologics for quality control. We also use them to identify and characterize the substances present and to detect contaminants. Furthermore, we use separation sciences and analytical biotechnology to investigate whether a formulation matches its description and whether active ingredients meet quality standards.

As we develop and improve analytical techniques, we acquire tools for evaluating biologics. New tools help us analyse complex mixtures and structures, detect contaminants, and examine new biomolecules and biologics.

 

How we study biologics using separation sciences and analytical biotechnology

At the Centre for Vaccine Evaluation (CVE), in the Separation Sciences and Analytical Biotechnology Laboratory, we develop and improve methods for separating and analysing substances in biologics. Analysis can be challenging because of the complexity of mixtures and structures. We need to separate small amounts of active ingredients, such as proteins, from samples that contain large amounts of added ingredients (excipients) such as diluents and carrier ingredients.

We use technically advanced instruments and separation methods to investigate and apply high-resolution analytical techniques. For example, we use capillary electrophoresis and high-performance liquid chromatography (HPLC) to study biomolecules and address concerns such as product quality, purity, contaminant detection, and batch consistency.

We apply our expertise and analytical abilities to:

  • Develop and improve techniques in order to analyse sample characteristics such as product quality, purity, and batch consistency;
  • Generate research information that will help establish criteria and standards for quality and purity testing of biologics as well as lot-release testing programs;
  • Develop and improve techniques to study subsequent entry biologics;
  • Analyse the quality of biologics to provide information, such as impurity profiles and contaminant detection, for assessing and responding to adverse reactions;
  • Provide a Canadian perspective for setting international standards and methods for biological substances by participating in international collaborative studies with other regulatory agencies such as the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, World Health Organization, European Pharmacopoeia, and United States Pharmacopeia;
  • Provide support to manufacturers for setting up and optimizing high-resolution separation techniques.

 

Concepts and tools we use in the separation sciences and analytical biotechnology laboratory

Capillary electrophoresis is a powerful approach that we use at the Centre for Vaccine Evaluation (CVE) to separate and characterize charged molecules, large or small, such as DNA and proteins. Samples are run through an electric field in a thin tube, of less than 100 micrometers, called capillary tubing. In the capillary electrophoresis instrument, light sources acting as detectors track and measure how molecules migrate or move.

Since capillary electrophoresis uses small capillary tubing, it has advantages over standard electrophoresis methods, such as:

  • Enabling the use of high voltages without damaging samples;
  • Providing faster processing by using increased voltages, sensitivity or detection;
  • Using light detection measurements;
  • Analysing small amounts of sample;
  • Automating and analysing large sets of samples relatively quickly.

High-performance liquid chromatography (HPLC) is a powerful tool that we use at CVE to separate, identify and measure the amount of a substance in a sample. In general, the sample is prepared by dissolving it in an appropriate solvent and running it through a separation column under high pressure. Compounds from the sample move through the column at different speeds as a result of their affinity to bind to the column material. Different compounds have different affinities and separate from each other. When a compound leaves the column, it goes through a UV light and a UV detector measures the UV light absorbed by the sample. Then, we use the collected and processed data to characterize the compounds in the sample. In addition, we can couple HPLC with mass spectrometry to more completely characterize the sample.

 

Research highlight 1: Development of new approaches to characterizing erythropoietin samples

Erythropoietin (EPO) is a glycoprotein hormone that controls the production of red blood cells in the human body. In humans, it is produced by the kidneys and liver. Since the mid-1980s, manufacturers have been able to generate EPO using recombinant DNA technology. This recombinant human erythropoietin (rhEPO) provided a lifeline to millions of people around the world, who were suffering from anemia or other conditions following adverse events from chemotherapy or AIDS-related therapies.

Therapeutic formulations of erythropoietin contain large amounts of non-therapeutic ingredients (they are usually called excipients) that stabilize the active ingredient. Human serum albumin (HSA) is a protein frequently used in pharmaceutical products as an excipient. In some instances, products contain 30 times as much HSA as rhEPO. Such large amounts of extra components make it challenging to analyse and characterize erythropoietin formulations.

In our laboratory, we address this concern by investigating the use of capillary electrophoresis to analyse various erythropoietin formulations and batches. We have developed an effective way to resolve and characterize erythropoietin in the untreated formulation. As we do not need to treat the sample before analysis, we do not need to remove, derive or modify components.

We are working to:

  • Develop new methods and approaches to examining final erythropoietin products;
  • Detect and characterize quality and quantity of erythropoietin in samples;
  • Develop new tools for surveillance of marketed products;
  • Develop new tools for distinguishing closely related erythropoietin;
  • Develop new tools for assessing subsequent entry biologics as new erythropoietin preparations are developed and proposed as therapeutic products.

 

Research highlight 2: Characterization of somatropin (Human Growth Hormone) - setting new standards and tools for evaluating subsequent entry biologics and marketed products

Somatropin, also known as human growth hormone, is a protein produced by the pituitary gland of the human body that plays a major role in growth regulation. Recent advances in technology, such as recombinant DNA technology, have enabled the production of biosynthetic human growth hormone for therapeutic applications.

As biologics, somatropin preparations are analysed for quality using a wide range of specific standard tests to characterize the substances present in the sample to maximize their safety. Then, the biologics are compared against a standard to confirm specific biological activity based on protein structure and formulation.

In our laboratory, we use modern technology to characterize the structure of somatropin and develop better ways to analyse new and marketed products. We have used high-performance liquid chromatography (HPLC) combined with other analytical approaches to develop an effective approach to examine somatropin samples. In the course of this work, we have identified impurities that had been unreported previously.

We are working to:

  • Identify and characterize somatropin;
  • Detect and characterize contaminants such as somatropin degradation forms and structural variants;
  • Develop new methods and approaches to examine somatropin samples;
  • Develop new tools for surveillance of marketed products;
  • Develop new tools to assess subsequent entry biologics as new somatropins are developed and proposed as therapeutic products.

 

For information about the lead scientist of this laboratory, please visit their  Directory of Scientists and Professionals profile.

Date modified:

Sciences de la séparation et biotechnologie analytique

Sciences de la séparation et biotechnologie analytique

L'expertise que possède le Centre d'évaluation des vaccins (CEV) en matière de sciences de la séparation et de biotechnologie analytique contribue à élargir l'éventail d'outils servant à caractériser et à analyser les produits biologiques.

 

Pourquoi avoir recours aux sciences de la séparation et à la biotechnologie analytique pour étudier les produits biologiques?

Les produits biologiques, comme les vaccins, les produits sanguins et les préparations protéiques recombinantes à usage thérapeutique, contiennent des substances simples ou complexes. Comme la quantité, la combinaison et les caractéristiques de ces substances influent sur l'effet qu'aura le produit biothérapeutique dans le corps, il est important d'en évaluer la qualité. C'est dans ce contexte que nous avons recours aux sciences de la séparation et à la biotechnologie analytique. Elles servent notamment à identifier et à caractériser les substances présentes et à détecter la présence de contaminants. Outre ces possibilités, les sciences de la séparation et la biotechnologie analytique permettent de vérifier si une préparation correspond à sa description et si les ingrédients actifs respectent les normes de qualité.

À mesure que nous développons et améliorons les techniques analytiques, nous nous dotons de nouveaux outils d'évaluation des produits biologiques, outils qui nous aident à analyser des structures et des mélanges complexes, à détecter la présence de contaminants et à étudier de nouvelles biomolécules et de nouveaux produits biologiques.

 

Comment nous utilisons les sciences de la séparation et la biotechnologie analytique pour étudier les produits biologiques

Au laboratoire des sciences de la séparation et de la biotechnologie analytique du Centre d'évaluation des vaccins (CEV), nous élaborons et améliorons des méthodes permettant de séparer et d'analyser les substances que renferment les produits biologiques. L'analyse est une opération délicate, en raison de la complexité des mélanges et des structures. Il faut prélever de petites quantités d'ingrédients actifs, comme des protéines, dans des échantillons renfermant de grandes quantités d'ingrédients ajoutés (excipients), comme des diluants et des vecteurs de produits.

Les méthodes de séparation et les instruments que nous utilisons sont très évolués sur le plan technique, ce qui nous permet d'étudier et d'appliquer des techniques d'analyse haute résolution. Mentionnons, à titre d'exemple, le recours à l'électrophorèse capillaire et à la chromatographie liquide à haute performance pour étudier les biomolécules, détecter les contaminants, examiner la qualité et la pureté des produits et vérifier l'uniformité entre les lots.

Nous mettons à profit notre expertise et nos compétences analytiques pour :

  • élaborer et améliorer les techniques d'analyse relativement à certaines caractéristiques des échantillons, comme la qualité, la pureté et l'uniformité entre les lots;
  • générer des données scientifiques pour établir les critères et les normes qui s'appliqueront aux essais de pureté et de qualité des produits biologiques et aux programmes d'analyse relatifs à la mise en circulation des lots;
  • élaborer et améliorer les techniques pour l'étude des produits biologiques ultérieurs;
  • analyser la qualité des produits biologiques afin de fournir certains renseignements -profils d'impuretés, détection de contaminants - utiles pour évaluer les effets indésirables et y remédier;
  • offrir un point de vue canadien pour l'élaboration de normes et de procédés internationaux relativement aux substances biologiques, en participant à des études collectives avec des organismes de réglementation étrangers comme la Food and Drug Administration des États-Unis, l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé, la Commission européenne de la pharmacopée et la Pharmacopée des États-Unis;
  • aider les fabricants à adopter et à maximiser les techniques de séparation haute résolution.

 

Concepts et outils utilisés au laboratoire des sciences de la séparation et de la biotechnologie analytique

L'électrophorèse capillaire est une excellente méthode, utilisée au Centre d'évaluation des vaccins (CEV), pour séparer et caractériser des molécules chargées, petites ou grosses, comme l'ADN ou les protéines. Une fois placés dans un mince tube de moins de 100 micromètres, appelé tube capillaire, les échantillons sont soumis à un champ électrique. Dans l'appareil d'électrophorèse capillaire, les sources de lumière, qui agissent comme des détecteurs, suivent et mesurent le mouvement des molécules.

Le recours à de petits tubes capillaires présente de nombreux avantages par rapport aux méthodes d'électrophorèse standard, notamment :

  • la possibilité d'utiliser une haute tension sans endommager les échantillons;
  • la rapidité du traitement grâce à l'utilisation d'une haute tension, d'une sensibilité accrue ou d'un haut pouvoir de détection;
  • l'utilisation de mesures de détection par ondes lumineuses;
  • la possibilité d'analyser de petits échantillons;
  • l'automation et l'analyse de grands ensembles d'échantillons en relativement peu de temps.

La chromatographie liquide à haute performance (CLHP) est un excellent outil, que nous utilisons au CEV pour séparer et identifier les substances que renferme un échantillon et en mesurer les quantités. En général, on prépare l'échantillon en le dissolvant dans un solvant et en le faisant passer dans une colonne chromatographique sous haute pression. Les composés de l'échantillon passent dans la colonne à des vitesses différentes, selon l'affinité qu'il y a entre eux et la matière dont la colonne est constituée. En effet, il existe une affinité distincte entre cette matière et chacun des composés, ce qui entraîne la séparation de ces derniers. À sa sortie de la colonne, chaque composé est soumis à la lumière ultraviolette, et la quantité de lumière absorbée par l'échantillon est mesurée à l'aide d'un détecteur ultra-violet. Une fois recueillies et traitées, les données nous permettent de caractériser les composés que renferme l'échantillon. Pour procéder à une caractérisation encore plus exhaustive, il est possible de combiner la CLHP à la spectrométrie de masse.

 

Point saillant de la recherche 1: Élaboration de nouvelles approches pour caractériser les échantillons d'érythropoïétine

L'érythropoïétine (EPO) est une hormone glycoprotéique qui régule la production de globules rouges dans le corps. Chez l'humain, elle est produite dans les reins et le foie. Depuis le milieu des années 1980, les fabricants sont en mesure d'en produire grâce à la technologie de l'ADN recombinant. L'érythropoïétine humaine recombinante (rhEPO) a assuré la survie de millions de personnes dans le monde qui souffraient d'anémie, d'autres affections ou d'effets indésirables de traitements de chimiothérapie ou contre le SIDA.

Les préparations thérapeutiques d'érythropoïétine renferment de grandes quantités d'ingrédients non thérapeutiques (généralement appelés excipients) qui servent à stabiliser le principe actif. La sérumalbumine humaine est une protéine fréquemment utilisée dans les produits pharmaceutiques à cet effet. Certains produits contiennent 30 fois plus de sérumalbumine que de rhEPO. De telles quantités de constituants ajoutés compliquent l'analyse et la caractérisation des préparations d'érythropoïétine.

Dans notre laboratoire, nous tentons de régler ce problème en étudiant l'utilisation de l'électrophorèse capillaire pour l'analyse de différents lots et de différentes préparations d'érythropoïétine. Nous avons élaboré un procédé efficace pour recueillir des données sur l'érythropoïétine et caractériser cette dernière dans une préparation brute. Comme il n'est pas nécessaire de traiter l'échantillon avant son analyse, nous n'avons pas à procéder au retrait, à la dérivatisation ou à la modification de ses constituants.

Nous nous employons :

  • à élaborer de nouvelles méthodes et approches pour examiner les produits finaux d'érythropoïétine;
  • à déceler et à caractériser la quantité et la qualité de l'érythropoïétine dans des échantillons;
  • à élaborer de nouveaux outils de surveillance des produits commercialisés;
  • à mettre au point de nouveaux outils permettant de distinguer différents types d'érythropoïétines très proches;
  • à mettre au point de nouveaux outils permettant d'évaluer les produits biologiques ultérieurs, au moment où de nouvelles préparations d'érythropoïétine sont développées et offertes comme produits thérapeutiques.

 

Point saillant de la recherche 2: Caractérisation de la somatropine (hormone de croissance) - établir de nouvelles normes et de nouveaux outils pour l'évaluation des produits biologiques ultérieurs et des produits commercialisés

La somatropine, mieux connue sous le nom d'hormone de croissance, est une protéine produite dans l'hypophyse, une glande du corps humain qui joue un rôle important dans la régulation de la croissance. Des percées technologiques récentes, comme la technologie de l'ADN recombinant, ont permis la production d'une hormone de croissance humaine biosynthétique à des fins thérapeutiques.

Les préparations d'hormone de croissance sont des produits biologiques. Pour assurer leur qualité et leur innocuité, elles sont soumises à une vaste gamme d'essais normalisés précis visant à caractériser les substances que renferme un échantillon. Les produits biologiques sont ensuite comparés à un produit de référence afin de confirmer l'activité biologique sur la base de la formulation et de la structure des protéines.

Dans notre laboratoire, nous mettons à profit la technologie moderne pour caractériser la structure de l'hormone de croissance et trouver de meilleures méthodes pour analyser les nouveaux produits et les produits commercialisés. En combinant la chromatographie liquide à haute performance à d'autres méthodes analytiques, nous avons mis au point un procédé efficace pour analyser les échantillons d'hormone de croissance. Dans le cadre de ces travaux, nous avons réussi à identifier des impuretés qui n'avaient jamais été signalées auparavant.

Nous nous employons :

  • à identifier et à caractériser l'hormone de croissance;
  • à déceler et à caractériser les contaminants comme les formes dégradées ou les variantes structurelles de cette hormone de croissance;
  • à élaborer de nouvelles méthodes et approches pour examiner les échantillons d'hormone de croissance;
  • à mettre au point de nouveaux outils de surveillance des produits commercialisés;
  • à mettre au point de nouveaux outils permettant d'évaluer les produits biologiques ultérieurs, au moment où de nouvelles hormones de croissance sont développées et offertes comme produits thérapeutiques.

 

Pour des renseignements au sujet du chercheur scientifique responsable de ce laboratoire, veuillez visiter son  profil dans le Répertoire des scientifiques et des professionnels.  

Date de modification :