Geology

A Career as a Geologist

Question:

Hello, I am currently a grade 12 student interested in studying Geology at University. I would like to know a few questions if you don’t mind, pertaining to a career as a geologist. I realize that many of these questions are very broad and generalized, but really any information that you can provide would be greatly appreciated. What are the typical job duties of Geologists? What are the working conditions like? and finally – What kind of salary can a BSc Geology graduate expect to start at? Thanks for your time.

Answer:

Please visit the following website:
http://www.earthsciencescanada.com/careers/

You will find all the answers to your questions.

- Ann Therriault

 


 

Meteorites

Question:

How do I identify a meteorite?

Answer:

Meteorites vary widely both in appearance and properties, and are consequently divided into three groups: stones or stony meteorites (known scientifically as aerolites), irons or iron meteorites (siderites), and stony-irons (siderolites). All usually contain metallic iron compounds, and the variation in iron content is a major basis for their classification.  Meteorites that have lain on or near the Earth’s surface for long periods after they fell may be rusted almost beyond recognition. Specimens generally possess a fusion crust, which is a dull black to brown colour, and is quite soft.  The crust is more prevalent on stones and stony-irons, and may be partially flaked off. Stones are the most common, and resemble some terrestrial rocks, but are denser.  They contain scattered grains of metallic iron; these are visible on broken or polished surfaces in a light gray matrix composed mainly of siliciate minerals. Irons and stony-irons are very heavy masses of metal with up to equal amounts of silicate minerals. They are strongly magnetic and often irregular in shape.

Question:

Who analyses meteorites in Canada?

Answer:

See:

Astromaterials Discipline Working Group and The Montréal Planetarium

 


 

Gemstones

Question:

What are gemstones?

Answer:

Gemstones are minerals and organic materials with special characteristics that make them desirable for jewellery and ornaments.  They grow through natural processes, unlike an increasing number of imitation or synthetic materials that are produced artificially. Gemstones are set apart from other minerals by their beauty, durability and rarity.  The most important of these characteristics is beauty, which is based on the gemstone’s colour, clarity, brilliance, pattern, and light-reflecting qualities.  The beauty and clarity of a gemstone may be enhanced by procedures such as heating, irradiation, oiling, dyeing, and laser drilling. Some gemstones, such as pearls or natural crystals like quartz, are formed perfectly by nature and require no cutting or polishing.  Others must be cut and polished to reveal their full beauty. To be used in jewellery, gemstones must also be durable, or in other words, sufficiently resistant to abrasion and breakage.

 


 

What is Geology?

Question:

What is geology?

Answer:

The Earth is constantly changing and presenting new challenges to society.  The history of these changes – and the processes which cause them – is geology.  Geology is a wide and varied field of study, incorporating such scientific disciplines as chemistry, physics, biology, and several branches of mathematics.

Despite the diversity of scientific disciplines, most geological research focuses on a single objective: understanding how the Earth works.  Gaining this knowledge is pivotal for future efforts to harmonize economic and social development through a healthy and safe environment.

 


 

Meteorites from Eastern Canada

Question:

In the National Meteorites and Tektites Collection in Ottawa, there are about 60 meteorites from Canada, are there any from Iles de la Madeleine?  What are the percentage of rocks from Eastern Canada (or Atlantic provinces)?

Answer:

No meteorites are known from les Iles de la Madeleine.  Only one meteorite comes from the Atlantic provinces, namely Benton, New Brunswick.  A small iron meteorite named Penouille was found on the shore in Gaspé-Est.

- Ann Therriault

 


 

Meteorites 2

Question:

What is considered as a meteorite?

Answer:

Extraterrestrial rocks that have arrived on earth from outside the atmosphere, from the surfaces of other planets, asteroids, moons or comets.

Question:

What can someone do if they think they have found a meteorite?

Answer:

It must be verified by an expert.  Usually a digital photo is the way this starts and then a piece may need to be examined.  Info on how to identify meteorites can be found on the following sites:

Astromaterials Discipline Working Group and Meteorites and Impacts Advisory Committee

- Ann Therriault

 


 

Pumping Oil

Question:

I am not sure if it is true but I heard that for every barrel of oil that they pump out of the ground they replace it with 3 barrels of water.  Is this true and if so then how does this effect the core of the earth in regards to stability because oil is thicker than water. Would this process also be a reason for the increased activity in volcanoes and earthquakes in the world as it is changing the earth’s original make-up?

Answer:

In today’s technology world, all oil or gas extraction requires the use of water to a greater or lesser extent.  For example, in conventional oil extraction, as they are drilling they grind up the rock to make a hole through which the oil and gas will flow out.  This rock material is removed from the hole as they drill by injecting water and mud to push the material out of the ground.  For certain unconventional oil production, they put steam down a drilled hole to heat up the rock and the oil to allow the oil to flow out.  The former is less dependent on water whereas the latter is very water-use dependent and can be as much as 10 barrels of water for each barrel of oil obtained.  Neither process actually uses water to replace the oil in the ground.

The core of the Earth is not affected by oil and gas extraction.  Nor does oil and gas extraction effect volcanic activity or other natural earth processes.

- Ann Therriault

Date modified:

Géologie

La carrière de géologue

Question :

Bonjour, je suis en étudiant en 12e année qui s’intéresse au programme de géologie à l’université. Si cela ne vous dérange pas, j’aimerais vous poser quelques questions sur la carrière de géologue. Je sais que plusieurs de mes questions sont très générales et que leur portée est très vaste, mais toute information que vous pourriez me donner m’aidera beaucoup. Quelles sont les principales fonctions du poste d’un géologue? Quelles sont les conditions de travail? Finalement, à quel salaire peut aspirer un récent diplômé du baccalauréat en géologie? Merci du temps que vous m’accordez. Sincères salutations, Brad Harrison

Réponse :

Veuillez consulter le site Internet suivant :

http://www.earthsciencescanada.com/careers/

Vous y trouverez toutes les réponses à vos questions.

- Ann Therriault

 


 

Météorites

Question :

Comment puis-je identifier un météorite?

Réponse :

L’apparence et les propriétés des météorites varient énormément, ce qui explique pourquoi elles sont divisées en trois groupes : les pierres ou météorites pierreuses (connues dans le milieu scientifique sous le nom d’aérolithes), les fers ou les météorites métalliques (sidérites) et les météorites pierreuses ferrifères (sidérolites). Habituellement, elles renferment toutes des composés de fer métallique, et la variation de la teneur en fer forme la base principale de leur classification. Les météorites qui se trouvent depuis longtemps à la surface de la Terre, ainsi que celles qui y sont légèrement enfouies, peuvent devenir presque méconnaissables à cause de la rouille. Les spécimens possèdent en général une croûte de fusion noir mat ou brune qui est très molle. La présence d’une croûte est plus prononcée sur les pierres et les météorites pierreuses ferrifères, et il se peut que la croûte soit partiellement écaillée. Les météorites pierreuses sont les plus nombreuses et ressemblent à des roches terrestres, mais elles sont plus denses. Les grains de fer métallique qui parsèment les météorites pierreuses, visibles sur les surfaces irrégulières ou polies, sont entourés d’une matrice gris pâle composée surtout de minéraux silicatés. Les météorites métalliques et pierreuses ferrifères sont de lourdes masses formées de métal. Elles peuvent avoir la même quantité de minéraux silicatés que de métal. De plus, elles sont fortement magnétiques et leur forme est souvent irrégulière.

Question :

Qui analyse les météorites au Canada ?

Réponse :

Voir :

Astromaterials Discipline Working Group et Planétarium de Montréal

 


 

Les gemmes

Question :

Qu’est-ce que les gemmes?

Réponse :

Les gemmes sont des minéraux et des matières organiques dotées de caractéristiques spéciales qui les rendent intéressantes pour fabriquer des bijoux et des ornements. Des processus naturels sont à l’origine de leur formation, contrairement au nombre croissant d’imitations ou de matières synthétiques produites artificiellement. Les gemmes se distinguent des autres minéraux par leur beauté, leur durabilité et leur rareté, mais la caractéristique la plus importante demeure la beauté, qui est jugée en fonction de la couleur, de la clarté, de la brillance, de la composition et de la réfringence. La beauté et la clarté des gemmes peuvent être améliorées à l’aide de procédés comme le chauffage, l’irradiation, l’huilage, la teinture et le forage au laser. Certaines gemmes, notamment les perles ou les cristaux naturels comme le quartz, existent dans la nature en état de perfection et il n’est pas nécessaire de les couper ou de les polir, tandis que d’autres ont besoin d’être coupées et polies pour révéler toute leur beauté. Les gemmes utilisées dans les bijoux doivent être aussi durables que belles, c’est-à-dire qu’elles doivent résister aux égratignures et aux bris.

 


 

Qu’est-ce que la géologie?

Question :

Qu’est-ce que la géologie?

Réponse :

La Terre est en constante évolution et ne cesse de présenter de nouveaux défis à la société. L’histoire de ces changements et les processus qui en sont responsables représentent les centres d’intérêt de la géologie. Il s’agit d’un domaine d’études vaste et varié qui intègre les connaissances de disciplines scientifiques comme la chimie, la physique, la biologie et plusieurs branches des mathématiques.

Malgré la pluralité des disciplines scientifiques, les recherches géologiques sont axées en grande partie sur un seul objectif : comprendre le fonctionnement de la Terre. L’acquisition de ce savoir est essentielle à tout effort visant à harmoniser le développement économique et social dans le cadre d’un environnement sain et sécuritaire.

 


 

Météorites qui proviennent de l’est du Canada

Question :

Parmi la Collection nationale des météorites et des tectites que l’on retrouve à Ottawa, il y en a une 60aine qui proviennent du Canada, est-ce qu’il y en a qui proviennent des Îles de la Madeleine ? Quel est le pourcentage des roches qui proviennent de l’est du Canada (ou des provinces maritimes) ?

Réponse :

Aucune météorite n’a été répertoriée des Iles de la Madeleine.  Seulement une météorite provient des maritimes, c’est à dire celle de Benton au Nouveau-Brunswick.  Une petite météorite de fer, Penouille, a été trouvée sur la côte de Gaspé-Est.

- Ann Therriault

 


 

Météorites 2

Question :

Qu’est-ce que l’on considère comme une météorite ?

Réponse :

Une roche extraterrestre qui arrive sur la Terre de l’extérieur de l’atmosphère et qui provient de la surface d’une autre planète, d’astéroïdes, de satellites ou de comètes.

Question :

Quelle est la procédure si l’on croit détenir une roche météorite ?

Réponse :

La roche doit être identifiée par un expert.  Souvent, une photo numérique suffit pour commencer.  Si nécessaire, un morceau devra être examiné.  Vous pouvez aussi obtenir de l’info sur comment identifier les météorites par l’entremise des sites suivants :

Comité consultatif sur les météorites et les impacts

Astromaterials Discipline Working Group. Un site anglais qui donne de l’info sur comment identifier les météorites.

- Ann Therriault

 


 

Baril de pétrole

Question :

Je ne sais pas si c’est vrai, mais j’ai entendu dire que chaque baril de pétrole qui est pompé hors du sol est remplacé par trois barils d’eau. Est-ce que c’est vrai et, si c’est le cas, en quoi cela influe-t-il sur la stabilité du cœur de la Terre, le pétrole étant plus épais que l’eau? Est-ce que ce procédé serait l’une des causes de l’augmentation de l’activité des volcans et du nombre de tremblements de terre dans le monde, vu qu’il entraîne une modification de la structure naturelle de la Terre?

Réponse :

Dans l’état actuel de la technologie, toute extraction pétrolière ou gazière nécessite l’utilisation d’eau en plus ou moins grande quantité. Par exemple, pour ce qui est de l’extraction de pétrole classique, le forage consiste à broyer la roche pour creuser un trou par lequel le pétrole et le gaz pourront s’écouler vers l’extérieur. Pendant le forage, on injecte de l’eau et de la boue dans le trou afin de pousser les morceaux de roche vers l’extérieur. Dans certains cas de production de pétrole non classique, on injecte de la vapeur dans le trou de forage pour chauffer la roche et le pétrole afin de permettre au pétrole de s’écouler vers l’extérieur. La première méthode nécessite une quantité réduite d’eau, alors que la deuxième nécessite beaucoup d’eau, jusqu’à dix barils d’eau pour chaque baril de pétrole extrait. Aucune des deux méthodes ne remplace le pétrole extrait du sol par de l’eau.

L’extraction pétrolière et gazière n’influe pas sur le cœur de la Terre et n’a pas non plus d’effet sur l’activité volcanique ou sur tout autre processus terrestre naturel.

- Ann Therriault

Date de modification :